Analogue Systems RS-360 Phase Filterbank

Overview

The RS360 Vocal / Phase Filter contains three voltage controlled resonant multimode filters that are summed at the outputs. The low pass and high pass filters with a slope of -24db/octave whilst the band pass and notch filters work with -12dB slope. The module is suited for creating vocal-like sounds and formants.

Views

Details

Formants are important ingredients of miscellaneous sounds known to us like speech and music instruments. To synthetise these formants you need at least three resonant band pass filters with individual control. For that reason each of the multimoder filters contained in the RS360 has it´s own 1V/octave cutoff control input and an attenuator for the input signal. In addition there´s a global control input with attenuator and a Master Cutoff control that control the cutoff frequencies of all three filters simultaneously.

With this module you can realize not only formanst but also interesting stereo effects when the notch and bandpass ouputs are placed left and right in the stereo field. Generating sounds is another speciality of this module as all three filters can self-oscillate; at a high resonance setting, shortly before self-oscillation, a pulse signal or a trigger from a sequencer or a LFO will "ring" the fiter and produce a decaying sinusoid wave; great for percussions. Furthermode, connecting the module´s audio output(s) with the CV input(s) creates very complex timbres.

The filters in the RS-360 are related to these from vintage Roland synths SH-3 and SH-2000.

miscellaneous

Usage with Eurorack:
Analogue Systems' modules are designed solely for use in cases and cabinets made by Analogue Systems. Through the use of adaptors or adaptor cables, however, it is possible to connect them to Eurorack cases.
Should you chose to use an Analogue Systems module in an Eurorack case, please note that the warranties are thus void and the use occurs at your own risk! If the module is plugged in incorrectly and therefore damaged the customer has to bear any costs for repair and shipping!

Analogue Systems modules have a power cable with a different connector so an adaptor is needed for the use in an Eurorack case. Under "modular accessory" you'll find the Synovatron ASm2Db adaptor. An adaptor cable can't be fabricated for this module.

Because of the different position of the mounting holes there will be a gap of 0.5HP (= 2.5 mm) when mounting an Analogue Systems module next to a Eurorack module. Take this into consideration when planning your system. Gaps can be covered with 1.5HP wide blank panels by Doepfer.

connectors

Audio: one signal input, separate summed filter outputs for lowpass, highpass, bandpass and notch

CV: variable Master-CV input; separate cutoff CV input with 1V/octave per filter

dimensions

3U Analogue Systems module, 18 HP wide, 70 mm deep

Power consumption: 150mA typical, 200mA when powering up

Weight
0.083 kg
Article Number
AORS360
availability ? shortly avaliable
€ 19% VAT excl. €357.14 € 19% VAT incl. €425.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Analogue Systems RS-360 Phase Filterbank

Überblick

Im RS360 Vocal / Phase Filter sind drei spannungssteuerbare resonante Multimode-Filter enthalten, welche ausgangsseitig summiert werden. Die Low- bzw. Highpassfilter arbeiten mit einer Flankensteilheit von 24dB während Bandpass und Notch mit 12dB Flankensteilheit arbeiten. Das Modul eignet sich hervorragend zur Erzeugung von vokalähnlichen Klängen sowie Formanten.

Ansichten

Details

Formanten sind wichtige Bestandteile von verschiedensten uns bekannten Klängen wie beispielsweise von Sprache und Musikinstrumenten. Um sie zu synthetisieren sind allermindestens drei resonante Bandpässe mit unabhängiger Steuerung nötig. Daher verfügt jedes der im RS360 enthaltenen Multimode-Filter über einen eigenen auf 1 Volt/Oktave skalierten Steuereingang sowie einen Abschwächer für das Signal am Filtereingang.  Außerdem stehen ein globaler Steuereingang mit Abschwächer und ein Master Cutoff-Regler zur Verfügung, welche die Cutoff-Frequenzen aller drei Filter simultan steuern.

Mit diesem Modul lassen sich neben Formanteffekten auch interessante Stereoeffekte realisieren, wenn der Notch- und der  Bandpass-Ausgang links und rechts im Stereofeld plaziert werden. Auch als Klanggenerator besitzt dieses Modul zweifellos seine Stärken. Alle drei Filter können selbst oszillieren ober bei hoher, aber nicht bis zur Eigenresonanz reichenden Resonanz lässt sich das Filter mit einem Pulssignal, etwa von einem LFO oder Sequencer, anregen und produziert einen notorisch ausklingenden Sinuston. Verbindet man weiters einen oder mehrere Audioausgänge mit den CV-Eingängen des Modules lassen sich sehr vielfältige Timbres realisieren.

Die Multimode-Filter des RS-360 sind durchaus verwandt mit denen der roland-Synthesizer SH-3 und SH-2000.

Sonstiges

Betrieb im Eurorack:
Analogue Systems-Module sind nur für den Einsatz in Gehäusen von Analogue Systems ausgelegt. Mittels Adapter oder Adapterkabel kann man sie jedoch mit Einschränkungen auch in Eurorack-Gehäusen betrieben.
Sollten sie sich dazu entscheiden, dies zu tun, so erlischt jedoch die Garantie des Moduls und der Betrieb geschieht auf eigene Gefahr. Sollte das Modul falsch angeschlosen werden und dabei einen Schaden davontragen, so trägt der Kunde sämtliche Kosten für Reparatur und Versand!

Analogue Systems-Module haben einen anderen Stromanschluss und so wird für den Betrieb im Eurorack deshalb ein Adapter benötigt. Unter "modular accessory" findest du den Synovatron ASm2Db-Adapter. Ein Adapterkabel kann für dieses Modul nicht angefertigt werden

Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Position der Montagelöcher ergibt sich bei der Montage eines Analogue Systems-Moduls neben einem normalen Eurorack-Modul eine Lücke von 0,5 TE (= 2,5mm). Die Lücken können mit den 1,5TE breiten Doepfer-Blindplatten geschlossen werden.

Anschlüsse

Audio: ein Signaleingang, separate Filterausgänge für Tiefpass, Hochpass, Bandpass und Notch.

CV: variabler Master-CV-Eingang, pro Filter eigener Cutoff-CV-Eingang mit 1V/Oktave

Abmessungen

3 HE Analogue Systems Modul, 18 TE breit, 70 mm tief

Stromverbauch: 150 mA im Durchschnitt, 200 mA beim Einschalten

Gewicht
0.083 kg
artikelnr
AORS360
Verfügbarkeit ? kurzfristig verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 357,14 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 425,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1