Analogue Systems RS-440 BBD Analogue Delay

Overview

Analog Delay with bucket brigade device (BBD) technology, feedback and voltage control of delay time and dry/wet mix.

Unlike digital delays, even the simple ones, a BBD delay has a considerably ssmaller bandwidth and the maximum delay time shorter. The longer the delay the more drastic the artifacts get. Despite those facts analogue Delays have their very own charme and can be used for several effects as you can create not only echos, chorus and flanger effects but even short reverbs and "spacy" sounds.

Views

Details

Delay time can be set with the according control between 75ms and 200 ms, with control voltages even from 50ms to 2000 ms. Beyond a delay time of 300 ms the internal clock frequency becomes audible as a explicit whistling. You can eliminate this with a low pass filter but it will also cut down the high frequencies. The sound of an analog delay above 500ms should be considered a special effect regarding the reduced audio quality at long delay times.

The RS440 features two modulation inputs for controlling delay time through voltages (±10V); one is equipped with an attenautor. The resonance parameter sets the number of repeats and can be considered as the fedback parameter. The resonance goes up to self-oscillation which will work even without an input signal.

Voltage and manual control of the dry/wet mix ist available as well.

miscellaneous

Usage with Eurorack:
Analogue Systems' modules are designed solely for use in cases and cabinets made by Analogue Systems. Through the use of adaptors or adaptor cables, however, it is possible to connect them to Eurorack cases.
Should you chose to use an Analogue Systems module in an Eurorack case, please note that the warranties are thus void and the use occurs at your own risk! If the module is plugged in incorrectly and therefore damaged the customer has to bear any costs for repair and shipping!

Because of the different position of the mounting holes there will be a gap of 0.5HP (= 2.5 mm) when mounting an Analogue Systems module next to a Eurorack module. Take this into consideration when planning your system. Gaps can be covered with 1.5HP wide blank panels by Doepfer.

connectors

CV inputs for delay time (one with and one without attenuator) and dry/wet mix
One audio input with level control and one audio output

dimensions

3 U Analogue Systems module, 12 HP wide, 66 mm deep

The module most probably requires +5V

Weight
0.161 kg
Article Number
AORS440
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €234.45 € 19% VAT incl. €279.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Analogue Systems RS-440 BBD Analogue Delay

Überblick

Analoges Delay mit Eimerkettenspeichertechnologie (BBD), Feedback sowie Spannungssteuerung der Delayzeit und des Effektanteils.

Im Gegensatz zu digitalen Delays, sogar den einfachen, ist bei einem BBD-basierten Delay die Bandbreite viel kleiner und die Delayzeit kürzer. Je länger das Delay, desto drastischer die Nebengeräusche. Und dennoch haben analoge Delays ihren unverwechselbaren Charme und lassen sich vielfältig einsetzen, denn neben Echos sind Chorus- und Flanger-Effekte möglich und sogar kurze Hallfahnen und spaceige Effektklänge.

Ansichten

Details

Die Delayzeit beim RS440 läßt sich mit dem Delay-Time-Regler im Bereich von 75 ms bis 200 ms einstellen, mit Steuerspannungen sogar von 50 ms bis 2000 ms. Ab einer Delezeit von 300ms hört man deutlich die interne Clock als Pfeifen durch, das man mit einem nachgeschalteten Tiefpassfilter entfernen kann, was aber weiter den Frequenzgang bescheidet. Delays über 500ms sind bei einem analogen Delay eher als interessanter Spezialeffekt zu betrachten, wenn man bedenkt, wie sehr die Audioqualität vermindert wird.

Das RS440 verfügt über zwei Modulationseingänge zur Steuerung der Delayzeit durch Spannungen (±10V), einer davon mit Abschwächer. Der Resonanz-Parameter regelt die Anzahl der Wiederholungen, hat also die Funktion eines Feedback-Reglers. Die Resonanz reicht bis zur Selbstoszillation, sogar wenn am Eingang kein Signal anliegt.

Ebenfalls spannungssteuerbar ist das Verhältnis von Original- und Effektsignal, das man auch mit einem Regler einstellen kann.

Sonstiges

Betrieb im Eurorack:
Analogue Systems-Module sind nur für den Einsatz in Gehäusen von Analogue Systems ausgelegt. Mittels Adapter oder Adapterkabel kann man sie jedoch mit Einschränkungen auch in Eurorack-Gehäusen betrieben.
Sollten sie sich dazu entscheiden, dies zu tun, so erlischt jedoch die Garantie des Moduls und der Betrieb geschieht auf eigene Gefahr. Sollte das Modul falsch angeschlosen werden und dabei einen Schaden davontragen, so trägt der Kunde sämtliche Kosten für Reparatur und Versand!

Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Position der Montagelöcher ergibt sich bei der Montage eines Analogue Systems-Moduls neben einem normalen Eurorack-Modul eine Lücke von 0,5 TE (= 2,5mm). Die Lücken können mit den 1,5TE breiten Doepfer-Blindplatten geschlossen werden.

Anschlüsse

CV-Eingänge zur Steuerung der Delayzeit (je 1x ohne und 1x mit Abschwächer) und des Mischungsverhältnisses.
Ein Audioeingang mit Pegelregler, ein Audioausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Analogue Systems Modul, 12 TE breit (siehe oben), 66 mm tief.

Höchstwahrscheinlich benötigt dieses Modul +5V

Gewicht
0.161 kg
artikelnr
AORS440
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 234,45 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 279,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1