CG Products - Delay1022 Mk2

Overview

Very clear sounding bucket-brigade delay with very short delay times. Do not expect classic echos becuase the delay times are just to shoort for this use. But exactly this fact is something great: the module can delay in audio rate and at high feedback setting it provides for nice sound sculpting. The module is perectly suited for Karplus-Strong synthesis.

Views

Details

In order to achieve longer delay times the module uses two BBD devices - with the BBD switch you can select if to use only one or both. One BBD has 512 stages, a delay time of 1.3ms to 25ms and a frequency range of ~20-400Hz when self-oscillating; both BBDs in series have 1024 stages, a delay time of 2.5ms to 50ms and frequency range of ~40-760Hz. The delay time and at the same time the frequency range can be extended with CVs. Two "T CV" inputs are available, one with invertable attenuator and one with a fixed characteristic of 1V/octave.

The mix of original and effect signal is available at the Mix Out; the dry/wet amount is controlled with the 'In1↔ Delay' potentiometer. The pure delay signal is available at an individual socket.
Feedback: the delay's output is fed back to the BBD's input through a VCA. This makes it possible to control feedback amount not only with a potentiometer but with a voltage as well.
Above 2:30h position the delay will start to oscillate.

The BBDs' clock frequency is clearly audible as a high-frequency whistle which can be annoying. For that reason there's a 12dB lowpass filter post-delay.

Karplus Strong synthesis: If fed with a trigger impulse instead of an audio signal the module will create percussive plucked sounds at high feedback settings. The delay time controls the frequency, feedback amount controls decay time. As the Karplus Stromg theorem is a simplified physical modeling you can simulate plucked strings and drums with it.

connectors

2 signal inputs, delay time CV inputs 1 (variable) and 2 (1V/oct), Feedback CV in,
Mix output, Delay output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 12HP wide, 52mm deep
current draw ~90mA

Weight
0.214 kg
Article Number
CGdel1022mk2
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €234.45 € 19% VAT incl. €279.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

CG Products - Delay1022 Mk2

Überblick

Sehr klar klingendes Eimerketten-Delay für die ganz kurzen Delayzeiten. Erwarte keine klassischen Echos, denn dafür sind die Zeiten einfach zu kurz. Aber genau dies erzeugt Delays in Audiogeschwindigkeit, was bei hohem Feedback für sehr schöne Klangfärbungen sorgt. Das Modul ist auch hervorragend geeignet für Karplus-Strong-Synthese.

Ansichten

Details

Um eine größere Delayzeit zu ermöglichen arbeitet das Modul mit zwei BBD-Bausteinen; mit dem BBD-Schalter wählt man aus, ob man nur eins oder beide einsetzt. Ein BBD bietet 512 Stufen, eine Delayzeit von 1,3ms bis 25ms und bei Selbstozillation einen Frequenzumfang von ~20-400 Hz, beide BBDs in Reihe geschaltet haben 1024 Stufen, eine Delayzeit von 2,5 ms bis 5 0ms und erlauben Frequenzen von ~40-760 Hz. Die Delayzeit und somit Frequenzumfang können mit durch CVs erhöht werden, dazu gibt es zwei CV-Eingänge; einer davon ist regelbar, der andere hat eine Kennlinie von 1 V/Oktave.

Am Mix-Out wird die Mischung von Original- und Effektsignal ausgegeben, der Efffektanteil wird mit dem 'In1↔ Delay'-Poti geregelt. Das reine Delaysignal steht an einer separaten Buchse zur Verfügung.
Feedback: der Delay-Ausgang wird in den Eingang gespeist und durch einen VCA geleitet. so kann man den Feedback-Anteil nicht nur per Hand regeln, sondern auch spannungssteuern.
Ab der 2:30 h-Position fängt das Delay an zu oszillieren.

Die Clockfrequenz der BBDs ist als Pfeifen hörbar, was störend sein kann. Deswegen ist ein -12 dB pro Oktave steiles Tiefpassfilter nachgeschaltet.

Karplus-Strong-Synthese: Füttert an das Modul bei hohen Feedback-Einstellung mit einem Trigger-Impuls anstatt eines Audiosignals so kann man leicht perkussive Klänge erzeugen. Die Delayzeit regelt die Frequenz und Feedback die Ausklingzeit. Da das ganze eine simple Form von Physical Modeling ist, lassen sich damit gezupfte Saiten und Drums simulieren.

Anschlüsse

2 Signaleingänge, CV-Eingänge für Delayzeit: 1 (variabel) und 2 (1V/Okt), Feedback CV-Eingang
Mix-Ausgang, Delay-Ausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 12 TE breit, 52 mm tief
Stromverbrauch ~90 mA

Gewicht
0.214 kg
artikelnr
CGdel1022mk2
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 234,45 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 279,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1