Doepfer A-101-6 Opto FET VCF

Overview

Like any module of the 101-X series also Opto VCF resorts to opto-electronic parts but in this case so-called Opto-FETs are used instead Vactrols which have a avery different behaviour. The module consists of six 6dB filter stages arranged in series. Each stage can act individually as lowpass, highpass or as one of two all-pass filters. Plenty of options to experiment with, from usual filtering to phase shifting effects due to all-pass filters.

Views

Details

The components used in the A-101-6 are Opto-FETs, or optical field effect transistors. They are way faster than Vactrols and can be fed with fast CVs and allow for FM modualtions but on the other hand they have a stronger distortion behaviour at higher levels.

The filter type is selected by jumpers on the pc board (factory setting: low pass). The type of filter determined by the jumpers positions can be marked by means of a water-resistant felt pen at the front panel.
The resonance is controlled by the Feedback control up to self oscillation. By means of a trimming potentiometer the maximal feedback can be adjusted. High feedback values can be used mainly in the allpass mode to obtain very extreme self oscillation sounds. Even an external feedback signal can be used instead of the internal feedback connection (FB In socket).
The Mix control is used to pan between the original signal (CCW position) and the effect signal (CW position). In filter mode (LP/HP) this control is usually set fully CW. In the allpass modes one obtains phasing sounds at center position or "pure" allpass sound in fully CW position.

connectors

audio: input and output
feedback loop: input and output
cutoff CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8HP wide, 62mm deep

Weight
0.25 kg
Article Number
A-101-6
External Links
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €92.44 € 19% VAT incl. €110.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Doepfer A-101-6 Opto FET VCF

Überblick

Wie alle Module der 101-X-Serie greift auch der Opto VCF auf optoelektronische Bauteile zurück, doch diesmal kommen statt Vactrols sog. Opto-FETs zum Einsatz, die sich anders verhalten. Das Modul besteht aus 6 seriell geschalteten 6dB-Filterstufen, wobei jede Stufe wahlweise als Tiefpass, Hochpass oder einer von zwei Allpass-Typen arbeiten kann. Allerlei Material zum Herumexperimentieren, vom üblichen Filtern bis zur phasenschiebenden Allpässen.

Ansichten

Details

Die im A-101-6 verwedeten Bauteile, die Opto-FETs, sind optische Feldeffekt-Transistoren. Sie sind zwar viel schneller als Vactrols und können mit schnellen CVs gefüttert werden und machen FM möglich, haben aber ein deutlicheres Verzerr-Verhalten bei höheren Pegeln.

Mit Hilfe von Jumpern wird auf der Leiterplatte bestimmt, welchen Filtertyp das Modul besitzt (ab Werk werden die Jumper für Tiefpass gesetzt). An der Frontplatte kann der mit den Jumpern eingestellte Filtertyp mit einem wasserfesten Filzstift markiert werden.
Die Resonanz kann über den Feedback-Regler bis zu Eigenschwingung eingestellt werden. Mit Hilfe eines Trimmpotentiometers kann dabei die Stärke der maximalen Rückkopplung eingestellt werden. Bei hohen Rückkopplungswerten können - speziell im Allpass-Modus - sehr extreme Eigenresonanz-Klänge erzeugt werden. Das rückgekoppelte Signal kann auch extern eingespeist werden (z.B. über einen externen VCA,der zwischen FB Out und FB In eingeschleift wird).
Mit dem Mix-Regler kann zwischen dem Original-Signal und dem Effekt-Signal umgeblendet werden. Im Filter-Modus wird dieser Regler voll nach rechts gedreht. Im Allpass-Modus erhält man in Mittelstellung Phasing-artige Klänge, bei Vollausschlag reine Allpass-Sounds.

Anschlüsse

Audio: Eingang und Ausgang
Feedbackschleife: Eingang und Ausgang
Cutoff-CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 8TE breit, 62mm tief

Gewicht
0.25 kg
artikelnr
A-101-6
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 92,44 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 110,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1