Doepfer A-124 Wasp Filter

Overview

A multimode filter is based on a very special filter circuit used in the EPD Wasp, an English synthesizer of the late 1970ies. The sound is full of character, dirty, with an unstable resonance and a trend to distort. Who is in search of a very aggressive, sick filter definitely should take the A-124 into consideration.

Views

Details

The filter abuses digital inverters as operation amplifiers what is very formative to the sound. The filter is equipped with a band pass output and a combined low/notch/high pass output. A control knob defines the relation between low and high pass signal for this output. In the middle position of the mix knob one obtains a notch filter. The volume of the audio signal can be controlled with a knob and even distorted. Of course the filter features resonance but this one can´t self-oscillate (see misc..).

miscellaneous

The module can be modified to allow self-resonance. "Soldering a 10k resistor in parallel to R13 (27k) leads to self-oscillation of the filter at the max. resonance setting of the resonance control. R13 is located in the gap between IC1 (CD4069) and IC2 (i.e. the upper CA3080, close to C4/100pF)".

connectors

audio input, bandpass output, lowpass/notch/highpass output
two cutoff CV inputs: one with 1V/octave and one with attenuator

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8HP wide, 45mm deep
current draw 30mA

Weight
0.17 kg
Article Number
A-124
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €71.43 € 19% VAT incl. €85.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Doepfer A-124 Wasp Filter

Überblick

Ein Multimodefilter, das auf der sehr besonderen Filterschaltung des EDP Wasp basiert, eines englischen Hybridsynthesizers der späten 1970er. Der Klang ist charaktervoll, schmutzig, mit einer instabilen Resonanz und einer Tendenz zum Verzerren. Wer also ein sehr aggressives, krankes Filter sucht, sollte den A-124 definitiv in Betracht ziehen.

Ansichten

Details

Das Filter missbraucht digitale Inverter als Operationsverstärker, was für den Eigenklang sehr prägend ist. Das Filter verfügt über einen Tiefpass, Bandpass und Hochpass, wobei als Besonderheit für Tief- und Hochpass ein Mischausgang zur Verfügung steht. Mittels eines Drehreglers kann dieser Ausgang stufenlos zwischen Tiefpass über Bandsperre (Notch) zu Hochpass umgeblendet werden. Das Audiosignal kann am Eingang im Pegel geregelt und bei Bedarf angezerrt werden. Das Filter bietet natürlich auch Resonanz, diese ermöglicht aber keine Selbstoszillation (siehe aber auch unter sonstiges).

Sonstiges

Die Selbstoszillation lässt sich anscheinend "nachrüsten":
"Einlöten eines 10k-Widerstandes parallel zu R13 (27k) bringt das Filter zur Selbstoszillation bei maximaler Resonanzstellung. R13 befindet sich in der Lücke zwischen IC1 (CD4069) and IC2 (d.h. dem oberen CA83080, neben C4/100pF)."

Anschlüsse

Audio-Eingang, Bandpass-Ausgang, Tiefpass/Notch/Hochpass-Ausgang
Zwei Cutoff-CV-Eingänge: 1x mit 1V/Oktave und 1x mit Abschwächer

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 TE breit, 45 mm tief
30 mA Stromverbrauch

Gewicht
0.17 kg
artikelnr
A-124
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 71,43 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 85,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1