Grendel - Formant Filter

Overview

Four analog bandpass filters in parallel which stamp a strongle vocal character to your audio. The filters can't be controlled individually, in fact a special CV processor is used to determine first the size of the "mouth" and second to select the vocals.
A very stunning module with a special character and an awesome, liquid, organic sound.

Views

Details

If you get involved in phonetic vocal trapezoid and how vovels are generated in the mouth the principle of the Grendel Formant Filter becomes clear:
The Size parameter influences the size of the virtual mouth by shifting all filter cutoff frequencies parallelly. The parameters Articulator X and Y refer to the international phonetic vovel diagram (see links) and select the desired vovel. All three parameters can be voltage controlled and are optimized to -/+5V voltages (but can handle up to -/+10V), yet the articulators work best either in the range of 0...5V or -2.5V...+2.5V

Frequency-rich signals like sawtooth and noise is recommended. Great for close simulation of human vocals are asymetrical triangles with leading edge shorter than the trailing edge. This can be achieved with function generators like Maths and Function or the RS-95e VCO.

connectors

audio: input and output
CV inputs: Size, Articulator X and Articulator Y

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 12HP wide, 30mm deep
power consumption: each 65mA @ positive and negative rail

Weight
0.3 kg
Article Number
GRff
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €217.65 € 19% VAT incl. €259.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Grendel - Formant Filter

Überblick

Vier analoge, parallel geschaltete Bandpassfilter, die deinem Audiosignal einen stark vokalen Charakter aufprägen. Die Filter sind nicht individuell steuerbar, vielmehr wird mit einem speziellen CV-Prozessor einerseits die Größe des "Mundes" und andererseits die Vokale ausgewählt.
Ein sehr toll klingendes Modul mit einem sehr eigenen Charakter und einem flüssig-organischen Klang.

Ansichten

Details

Befasst man sich mit dem phonetischen Vokaltrapez und der Bildung von Vokalen in der Mundhöhle, so wird das Grundprinzip des Grendel Formant Filters klar:
Der Size-Parameter beeinflußt die Größe des virtuellen Mundes durch parallele Verschiebung der Filterfrequenzen. Die Parameter Articulator X und Y beziehen sich auf die internationala phonetische Vokaltabelle (siehe Links) und wählen anhand dieser die gewünschten Vokale aus. Alle Parameter sind spannungssteuerbar, sind auf +/-5V optimiert (können aber bis zu +/-10V vertragen), jedoch funktionieren die Artukulatoren am besten entweder mit 0...5V oder mit -2,5V...+2,5V.

Als Audiomaterial empfehlen sich obertonreiche Wellenformen und Rauschen. Super für möglichst natürliche Simulation von Vokalen sind asymetrische Dreiecke, bei denen die steigende Flanke steiler ist als die fallende. Das geht gut mit Funktionsgeneratoren wie Maths und Function oder dem RS-95e-VCO.

Anschlüsse

Audio: Eingang und Ausgang
CV-Eingänge: Size, Articulator X and Articulator Y

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 12TE breit, 30mm tief
Stromverbrauch: je 65mA auf +12V und -12V

Gewicht
0.3 kg
artikelnr
GRff
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 217,65 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 259,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1