Hexinverter - Galilean Moons

Overview

The Galilean Moons module consists of two identical function generator and VCA units. As the function generators are normalized to the VCAs, you can easily create an synth voice by inserting an audio signal. Due to the envelope generators' behaviour the voice is great for percussive sounds but it's not limited to it.
Besides of this the module is intended to be an expander for the Hexinverter module Jupiter Storm.

Views

Details

The digital function generators can work as a attack/decay or a attack/sustain/release envelope generators or also as LFOs. The attack and decay parameters range from 0.5ms to 10s and are voltage controllable. The CV inputs are non-linear for the sake of musicality and they expect slow CVs. Fast control voltages will cause the attack time to freak out and to generate experimental chaos ;)
The function generators' characteristics are separately switchable from linear to exponential.

The VCAs have a linear characteristic, can be modulated via the CV input and their level can be regulated manually with the Bias control. But there are also internal normalizations from function generators' outputs to the VCAs' CV inputs, of course only as long as nothing's inserted into the CV input.
To sum up: Both the VCAs and the function generators can be used independently or as one unit.

The module can act as an expander for the Jupiter Storm. In this case the XOR audio output is normalized to VCA 1's CV input and the first noise output of the Jupiter Storm to the second VCA and also the envelope signals are normalized to the VCA CV inputs.
The XOR output is the only function of the Galilean Moons that requires the Jupiter Storm to operate. XOR is an additional noise output and it's sound very much resembles what the JS would produce in "noise disrupt" mode. This way you can use both the clean and nasty noise of the JS simultaneously.

miscellaneous

Do NOT try to connect internally a commercially built JS module with a DIY (do it yourself) home built GM module, or vice-versa. The expansion cable pinout is not the same.
Only connect DIY modules to DIY modules, and commercial modules to commercial modules!

connectors

Outputs 1 & 2, XOR output

per sub-unit: Attack CV in, Decay CV in, Trigger in, Envelope out, VCA signal in, VCA CV in

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18HP wide, 30mm deep
current draw: 88mA @ +12V and 65mA @ -12V

Weight
0.3 kg
Article Number
HEXgm
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €281.51 € 19% VAT incl. €335.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Hexinverter - Galilean Moons

Überblick

Das Galilean Moons besteht aus zwei identischen Funktionsgenerator- und VCA-Einheiten. Da die Funktionsgeneratoren auf die VCAs normalisiert sind, kann man ganz einfach durch Einspeisen eines Audiosignals eine Synthesizerstimme bauen, die durch das Hüllkurvenerhalten speziell für Perkussives geeignet, aber nicht nur darauf beschränkt ist.
Darüberhinaus ist das Modul auch als Expander für Hexinverters Jupiter Storm gedacht.

Ansichten

Details

Die digtalen Funktionsgeneratoren können als Attack/Decay- oder Attack/Sustain/Release-Hüllkurve oder auch als LFO arbeiten. Der Attack- und Decayparameter reichen von 0,5ms bis 10s und sind spannungssteuerbar. Die CV-Eingänge sind für bessere Musikalität nicht linear und sie erwarten langsame CVs. Schnelle Steuerspanungen am Attack verursachen experimentelles Chaos ;)
Die Charakteristik der Funktionsgeneratoren ist jeweils von linear zu exponentiell umschaltbar.

Die VCAs haben eine lineare Charakteristik, können über den CV-Eingang moduliert werden und durch den Bias-Regler manuell im Pegel werden. Es gibt aber auch interne Normalisierungen vom Ausgang des Funktionsgenerators auf den CV-Eingang des jeweiligen VCA, natürlich nur so lange wie kein Kabel am CV-In steckt.
Sowohl die VCAs wie auch die Funktionsgeenratoren können also unabhängig genutzt werden oder als eine Einheit.

Das Modul kann als Expander für den Jupiter Storm verwendet werden. In diesem Fall ist der XOR-Audioausgang auf den Audioeingang des ersten VCA normalisiert, der erste Noise-Ausgang des Jupiter Storm auf den zweiten VCA und die Ausgangssignale der Hüllkurven auf die CV-Eingänge der VCAs.
Der XOR-Ausgang ist die einzige Funktion des Galilean Moons, das einen Jupiter Storm benötigt. XOR ist ein zusätzlicher Noise-Ausgang, der klanglich stark an die klänge im "noise disrupt"-Modus erinnert, ohne daß dieser aktiviert sein muss. So stehen dir gleichzeitig zwei verschiedene Klangfarben zur Verfügung.

Sonstiges

Versuche NICHT, ein kommerziell gebautes JS-Modul intern an ein DIY (selbstgebautes) GM-Modul anzuschließen oder umgekehrt! Das Expanderkabel hat eine andere Pinbelegung.
Schließe DIY-Module nur an DIY-Module an (und dementsprechend kommerzielle Module nur an kommerzielle Module)!

Anschlüsse

Ausgänge 1 & 2, XOR-Ausgang

Pro Untereinheit: Attack CV-Eingang, Decay CV-Eingang, Triggereingang, Hüllkurvenausgang, VCA Signaleingang, VCA CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 18TE breit, 30mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 88mA auf +12V und 65mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.3 kg
artikelnr
HEXgm
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 281,51 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 335,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1