Hexinverter - Jupiter Storm

Overview

The Jupiter Storm is a noise core oscillator that, unlike pure noise generators, can be very tonal as well, as it is build around three square wave VCOs. The "noise core disruptor" switch changes the algorithm and creates very wild sounds. Seven outputs are available and they give you lots of different sounds!

Views

Details

The core of the circuitry consists of three analog square oscillators from which noise-like material is derived. The VCOs' frequencies can be set by potentiometers and voltage controlled indiviually or common via the CV All socket. The voltge characteristic is close to 1V/oct so you can play the VCOs. Each oscillator has an individual output, in addition there are four outputs (I, IV, VIII and IX) emitting different flavors of noise.

The bandwith of the harmonically rich sounds is tremendous and covers pulsating drones, very tonal noise and sounds reminiscing of ring modulations, extreme FM or shortwave radio interferences ("the sound of a broken radio being blasted with noise from the cosmos" as the manufacturer says).
When the Noise Core Disruptor is activated, the algorithm is being abused in a creative way, generating crazy and brutal sounds. The result resembles digital noise, similar to a Zorlon Cannon's sound. Or like a noise that is being bit crushed or passed throgh a wave guide.

The material generated by the Jupiter Storm is great for electronic drums, especially snares and hihats (see video)
The module is based entirely around analogue opamps and discrete logic gates. No microcontrollers are used in the design of this module.

connectors

3 individual oscillator outputs
frequency CV inputs: CV all (common input), CV 1- 3 (individual inputs)
noise outputs: I, IV, VIII, XI

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 14HP wide, 25mm deep
power consumption: 30mA @ +12V and 30mA @ -12V

Weight
0.114 kg
Article Number
HEXjs
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €234.45 € 19% VAT incl. €279.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Hexinverter - Jupiter Storm

Überblick

Der Jupiter Storm ist ein rauschhafter Oszillator, der im Gegensatz zu reinen Rauschgeneratoren auch sehr tonal sein kann, da er auf drei spannungssteuerbaren Rechteck-VCOs aufgebaut ist. Der "noise core disruptor"-Schalter verändert die Verschaltung und garantiert für sehr wilde Klänge. Sieben Ausgänge stehen insgesamt zur Verfügung und ermöglichern dir sehr viele Klänge!

Ansichten

Details

Den Kern der Schaltung bilden drei analoge Rechteckoszillatoren, aus denen rausch-ähnliches Material abgeleitet wird. Die VCOs können einzeln oder über die "CV All"-Buchse in der Frequenz spannungsgesteuert werden, wobei die Kennline nicht ganz 1V/Oktave ist. Jeder Oszillator hat einen Einzelausgang; zusätzlich finden wir mit den Buchsen I, IV, VIII und XI vier unterschiedlich klingende Noise-Ausgänge.

Die Bandbreite der obertonreichen Klänge ist enorm und umfasst pulsierende Drones, sehr tonales Rauschen und Klänge, die an Ringmodulationen, extreme FM oder an Interferenzen im Kurzwellenradio erinnern, oder wie der Hersteller sagt "kaputtes Radio, das mit kosmischem Rauschen beschossen wird.
Aktiviert man den "Noise Core Disruptor", so wird der "Algorithmus" stark verändert und kreativ mißbraucht, wodurch verrückt-brutale Klänge und Texturen entstehen. Das Ergebnis erinnert an digitales Noise, einem Zorlon Cannon nicht unähnlich; Oder wie ein Rauschen, das von einem Bitcrusher bearbeitet oder durch ein Wave Guide geleitet wird.

Sehr gut eignet sich das vom Jupiter Storm generierte Klangmaterial für Elektro-Drums, vor allem Snares und HiHats (siehe Video).
Das Modul ist gänzlich analog um Operationsverstärker und diskrete Logik-Gates aufgebaut. Keinerlei Mikrokontroller wurden verwendet.

Anschlüsse

3 Einzelausgänge für die Oszillatoren
Frequenz-CV-Eingänge: CV all (gemeinsamer Eingang), CV1-3 (Einzeleingänge)
Noise-Ausgänge: I, IV, VIII, XI

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 14TE breit, 25mm tief
Stromverbrauch 30mA auf +12V und 30mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.114 kg
artikelnr
HEXjs
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 234,45 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 279,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1