Intellijel designs Planar

Overview

Intellijel's Planar is much more than just a joystick controller!
Four inputs, vout internal VCAs and the mix output make it possible to use the module as verctor mixer or as four-channel panner.

Views

Details

The Planar was primarily designed for processing audio and it sounds great. It is basically 4 linear VCAs being controlled by special analog logic, driven by the joystick. You can of course use the VCAs to process CV too.

Vector mixing: put up to four sources into inputs A, B, C and D and then use the joystick to create the vector mix. Positioning the joystick in any corner will isolate that particular source. Putting the joystick in the center will create an even blend of all four sources. Resulting mix is taken from the MIX output.

Quad Panning: Plug one source into input A and steer it to outputs A, B, C, D. You can also do stereo panning by just using a pair of outputs. The Planar also takes CV-Y and CV-X inputs to control panning without the use of the joystick.

CV outputs: The joystick produces CVs on either unipolar (0-5V) or bipolar (-5 to 5V) switchable outputs.

CV Inputs: The module accepts X and Y axis inputs. By using out of phase LFO sources (such as outputs from the Dr. Octature) you can create really interesting swirling/circular patterns.  This input is also very useful when coordinated with a CV recorder. You can record the modulation from the X, Y outputs and then turn the joystick off (see switch at top left) and playback the modulation into the X and Y input.  This will allow you to recreate a complex quad panning or vector mixing jam.

It is possible to do stereo panning while using the other axis for controlling something else. The joystick will still output CV even in off position IF the switches are set to /- mode (in unipolar mode nothing).  This can allow you to control external stuff with the joystick without it affecting the internal VCAs.

Fire a gate with the manual gate button. Use the sense output socket to generate a gate whenever the joystick is being moved.

connectors

signal inputs A, B, C and D;  signal outputs A, B, C and D
CV inputs X and Y, CV outputs X and Y
Mix output, Gate output, Sense output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 14HP wide, Skiff-friendly depth

Weight
0.492 kg
Article Number
IJplanar
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €301.68 € 19% VAT incl. €359.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Intellijel Designs - Planar

Überblick

Intellijels Planar ist viel mehr als nur ein Joystick-Controller!
Durch die vier Eingänge, vier eingebauten VCAs und den Mischausgang kann man das Modul als Vektor-Mischer oder als Vierkanal-Panner einsetzen.

Ansichten

Details

Das Planar-Modul wurde primär entwickelt, um Audiosignale zu verarbeiten und es klingt auch gut. Im grunde sind es vier lineare VCAs die mit Hilfe des Joysticks über eine analoge Logik gesteuert werden. Man kann aber natürlich auch CV-Signale steuern.

Vektor-Mischer: schicke bis zu vier Quellen in die Eingänge A, B, C und D und nutze den Joystick, um damit die Vektormischung zu machen. Steht der Joystick in einer Eck-Position, so wird die jeweilige Quelle isoliert. In der Mittelstellung des Joaysticks erhalten wir eine gleichmäßige Mischung aller Signale. Die Mischung greift man am MIX-Ausgang ab.

Vierfach-Panning: Stecke eine Quelle in den Eingang A und leite sie an die Ausgänge A, B, C, D. Wenn man nur ein Ausgangspärchen benutzt ist auch Stereo-Panning möglich. Das Panning kann man auch ohne Joystick über Spannungen steuern, in dem man die CV-X und CV-Y Eingänge nutzt.

CV-Ausgänge: Der Joystick generiert an den Ausgängen eine unipolare (0-5V) oder bipolare (-5V bis +5V) Spannung.

CV-Eingänge: Das Modul verarbeitet X- und Y-Steuersignale zur Spannungssteuerung der Achsen. Bei benutzung eines gegenphasigen LFOs kann man interessante Wirbel- oder Kreis-Pattern erzeugen. Diese Eingänge sind in Kombinaktion mit einem CV-Recorder sehr nützlich: Nehme eine Joystick-Modulation über die X und Y-Ausgänge auf, schalte den Joystick ab und spiele die Modulation wieder über die X- und Y-Eingänge ab. Dies ermöglicht dir, komplexe Joystickbewegungen, Verktormixe oder Pannings wieder abzurufen.

Es ist auch möglich auf einer Achse ein Stereo-Panning zu machen, auf der anderen aber eine Modulation zu erzeugen. Der Joystick gibt auch  im ausgeschateten Zustand Spannungen ausm wenn die Schalter auf +/- stehen (im unipolarem Modus geht das nicht). So kann man mit dem Joystick andere Module steuern, ohne die internen VCAs zu beeinflussen.

Anschlüsse

Signaleingänge A, B, C und D;  Signalausgänge A, B, C und D
CV-Eingänge X und Y, CV-Ausgägne X und Y
Mix-Ausgang, Gate-Ausgang, Sense-Ausgang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 14TE breit, Skiff-kompatible Tiefe

Gewicht
0.492 kg
artikelnr
IJplanar
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 301,68 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 359,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1