Make Noise - Phonogene (v.372)


The Phonogene is a digital re-visioning and elaboration of the tape recorder as musical instrument, similar to a homonymous instrument by Pierre Schaeffer. although it´s not an emulation of this instrument it bases on the main ideas. It is informed by the worlds of Musique Concrète (where speed and direction variation were combined with creative tape splicing to pioneer new sounds) and Microsound (where computers allow for sound to be divided into pieces smaller then 1/10 of a second, and manipulated like sub-atomic particles). Having voltage control over every parameter, it is most successful as a digital audio buffer for the modular synthesist.



Tape Music Tools:
sounds to be recorded on the fly, layered using the internal Sound On Sound function, manually cut into pieces using the SPLICE function, and re-organized with the ORGANIZE control. Once it is Spliced up, it is possible to create nearly infinite variations of the original loop by modulating the ORGANIZE parameter, and VARI-SPEED allows for the speed and direction of playback to be controlled continuously with one control signal.

Recording and splicing happens manually with a button or with a gate signal. Also the playback can be forced by fireing a gate signal to the play input.

Microsound tools:
GENE-SIZE divides the audio buffer into progressively smaller pieces called Genes (aka particles, grains, granules). A clock signal applied to GENE-SHIFT will step through those pieces in chronological order, while a control signal applied to SLIDE, moves through those pieces in a nonlinear fashion. Using SLIDE, random access of the audio buffer is possible. Of course parameters Vari-Speed and Organize also have effects on the Microsound secion.

With all those functions Phonogene is a sampler, looper and audio buffer with plenty intuitive manual control. Those who need a perfect, clean sampler that creates no clicks when slicing should look elsewhere. Who is looking for an intiutive tool for editing, playing with and affecting audio material in realtime might like the Phonogene a lot.


audio input wit wet/dry control. audio output.
CV inputs for vari speed (bipolar), slide (biploar), organize and gene size. CV input for mix onf sound on sound recording (dry or loop)
Pulse inputs for record, playback and slice. Gate output for end of sample. Clock input for gene shift.


3U Eurorack module, 20HP wide, 43mm deep. Current draw 70mA @+12V and 40mA @ -12V

0.187 kg
Article Number
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €469.75 € 19% VAT incl. €559.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Make Noise Phonogene

Überblick

Das Phonogene ist eine digitale Ausarbeitung und Revision der Idee einer Bandmaschine als Musikinstrument, ähnlich wie bei dem gleichnamigen Instrument von Pierre Schaeffer, auch wenn es keine Emulation dessen ist, sondern nur auf dessen Grundkonzept basiert. Es ist geprägt von den Ideen der Musique Concrète (Änderung der Richtung und Geschwindigkeit des Tonbands sowie das Kleben einzelner Tonbandschnipsel) wie auch von Microsound (Computer erlauben das Zerhacken des Signals in Teile, kleiner als 1/10 Sekunde und die Manipulation derer wie kleine sub-atomare Partikel).

Ansichten

Details

"Bandmaschinen"-Sektion:
Klänge können auf die Schnelle aufgenommen werden und mit der "Sound-on-sound"-Funktion aufeinander geschichtet werden. Mit der SPLICE-Funktion wird der Sound manuell in kleine Stückchen zerhackt und mit ORGANIZE neu angeordnet. Ist ein Klang erstmal ge-spliced, so kann man durch die CV-Steuerung des Organize-Parameters unendliche Variationen des Original-Loops erzeugen. VARI-SPEED kann mittels CV und bipolarem Regler die Geschwindigkeit und die Ablaufrichtung des Samples steuern.

Die Aufnahme sowie das Splicing geschieht manuell mittels Taster oder mit einem Gate-Signal. Auch das Abspielen des Samples kann man durch ein Gatesignal forcieren.

Microsound-Sektion:
GENE-SIZE zerhackt das Signal im Speicher in immer winzigere Teilchen, genannt Genes, Grains oder Körnchen. Ein Clock-Signal am GENE-SHIFT-Eingang "steppt" chronologisch durch diese Grains, während der Slide-Parameter manuell oder per CV nichtlinear sich irgendwo im Sample bewegt. So wird zufälliges Anspielen des Samples ermöllicht.

Natürlich wirken die Parameter Vari-Speed und Organize sich auch auf die Microsound-Sektion aus.  Mit all diesen Funktionen erhält man mit dem Phonogene einen Sampler, Looper und Audio-Puffer mit viel intuitiver manueller Steuerung.

Wer einen perfekten, sauberen Sampler und Looper sucht, der Slices ohne Knackser setzt etc., sollte sich woanders umsehen. Wer allerdings ein intuitives Werkzeug zum Rumspielen und heftigem beeinflußen von Audio in echtzeit sucht, wird am Phonogene Gefallen finden.

Anschlüsse

Audio- Eingang mit dry/wet-Regler. Audio-Ausgang.
CV-Eingänge für Vari-Speed (bipolar), Slide (bi-polar), Organize und Gene-Size. CV-Eingang für die Mischung der Sound-on-sound-Aufnahmne (trocken oder Loop).
Pulseingänge für Aufnahme, Abspielen und Slice. Gate-Ausgang für Ende des Samples. Clockeingang für Gene shift.

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul. 20 TE breit, 43 mm tief
Stromverbrauch 70 mA auf +12 V und 40 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.187 kg
artikelnr
MNPH
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 469,75 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 559,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1