Microbe Modular - Equation Composer

Overview

Inspired by VIznut's "Algorithmic symphonies from one line of code" and the BitWiz Audio Synth, the Equation Composer creates a wide range of gritty, 8-bit sounding melodies, waveforms, and noise. The module is organized into CV selectable "programs", where each program can act like a unique synthesizer.
Digital wavetable VCOs, chord generators, pattern generators, drum voices are included but you can load other programs into the module as well!

Views

Details

The Equation Composer has six parameters: PRG selects the active program, SR is the sampling rate which detemines playback frequency and pitch. MOD selects sounds within a program. Parameters 1-3 have an influence on the sound. All aforementioned parameters have CV inputs; when a cable is inserted the according potentiometer becomes a CV attenuator. Also, there's a gate input for triggering or resetting playback.

The module includes nine programs; it's possible to load other programs via USB. Following programs can be chosen from:

  • 3 banks of different Equation Playback modes: These generate audio based on equations, ranging from self-modifying random melodies over drones to totally atonal digital noise. MOD selects between one of 40 equations, potentiometers 1-3 affect equation parameters p1-3
  • Drum Selector is a prefect soure for warp-ish digital, rough drum sounds. MOD selelects the sound, Gate plays it, P1 activates freeze effect and P2 controls the wave folder.
  • Wavetable & WaveFolder: Simple Wavetable VCO followed by a wave folder and a resonant low pass filter.
  • Patterns plays melodies. This program combines two independent pattern generators for CVs and gates with a wave table synth. The CV pattern can be selected independent of the gate pattern and the controllable gate density allows for beautiful rhythmical variations. Sound pretty rough, cold and digital, like a 8Bit synth fro mthe early 80s.
  • Chords is a wavetable based chord generator. Scale, chord and base note can be set and there are two wavetable parameters.
  • 3 Oscillator contains two main oscillators detunable ± a quartertone, a sub-oscillator and a resonant low pass filter. MOD selects the waveforms from 16 oscillator configurations. Filter cutoff and resonance are controllable, too.
  • Drum Player combines a drum machine and a sample player with variable sample rate. Select between different drum kits and individual patterns for bassdrum, snare and hihats.

Some more programs can be downloaded from the manufacturer's page and loaded into the module via USB, e.g. a variation of the Equation Player (but with controllable playback position and loop length), a rhythmical bouncing-ball synthesizer, a formant synthesizer and a wavetable synth with delay.

As the Equation Composer is based on the powerful arduino Due chip, you can write your own programs or modify existing ones. The software is open source. On the rear of the module there's a 14-pin expansion port.

miscellaneous

The module sucks 165mA from the +5V like a vampire sucks blood so make sure to have a powerful +5V adaptor installed. Mutable Volts and Make Noise 5V will do the job.

connectors

CV inputs: program, sample rate and modification. sound parameter CV inputs 1-3
gate input, signal output
USB socket (type B)

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 12HP wide, <40mm deep, current draw: 17mA @ +12V, 17mA @ -12V and 165mA @ +5V

Weight
0.35 kg
Article Number
MICeq
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €210.08 € 19% VAT incl. €250.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Microbe Modular - Equation Composer

Überblick

Inspiriert von VIznuts "Algorithmic symphonies from one line of code" und dem BitWiz Audio Synth erschafft der Equation Composer eine große Bandbreite rauher, nach 8-Bit klingender Melodien, Wellenformen und Rauschen. Das Modul ist in "Programme" organisiert, die wie einzigartige Synthesizer funktionieren und über Steuerspannungen ausgewählt werden können.
Digitale Wavetable-Oszillatoren, Akkord-Oszillatoren, Patterngeneratoren und Drum-Stimmen sind zu finden, doch du kannst auch andere Programme in das Modul laden!

Ansichten

Details

Der Equation Composer hat sechs Parameter: PRG wählt das aktive Programm aus, SR ist die Samplingrate, die die Abspielgeschwindigketi und die Tonhöhe bestimmt. MOD wählt klänge innerhalb eines Programms aus. Die Parameter 1-3 beeinflussen den Klang des aktiven Programms. Alle obengenannten Parameter haben CV-Eingänge; wird ein Kabel in die Buchse gesteckt, so witd der entsprechende Poti zum Abschwächer für die CV. Es gibt auch einen Gate-Eingang, welcher die Wiedergabe des Klangs startet oder resettet.

Das Modul wird mit neun Programmen ausgeliefert; man kann aber über USB neue Programme laden. Folgende stehen zur Verfügung:

  • 3 Bänke mit unterschiedlichen Equation Playback-Modi: Diese generieren auf Gleichungen basierendes Audiomaterial, das von selbstmodulierenden Zufallsmelodien über Drones bis zu kompett atonalen digitalen Rauschen reicht. MOD wählt eine der über 40 Gleichungen aus. Potis 1-3 beeinflussen die Parameter p1-3 der Gleichung.
  • Drum Selector ist eine perfekte Quelle für Warp-mäßige digitale, harsche Drumklänge. Gate triggert den Klang, MOD wählt den Drumsound aus, 1 aktiviert den Freeze-Effekt, 2 regelt den Wavefolder.
  • Wavetable & WaveFolder: Einfacher Wavetable-VCO mit nachgeschaltetem Wavefolder und resonantem Tiefpassfilter.
  • Patterns spielt Melodien. Dieses Programm kombiniert zwei eigenständige Patterngeneratoren für CVs und Gates miteinem Wavetablesynthie. Das CV-Pattern kann unabhängig vom Gate-Pattern ausgewählt werden und die Gate-Häufigkeit ermöglicht schöne rhythmische Variationen. Klingt schön kalt-digital, wie ein 8-Bit Synthie aus den frühen 80ern
  • Chords ist ein Wavetable-basierter Akkordgenerator. Tonleiter, Akkord und Grundnote können eingestellt werden und es gibt zwei Wavetableparameter.
  • 3 Oscillator beherbergt 2 Hauptoszillatoren die man um ± einen Viertelton verstimmen kann, einen Suboszillator und ein resonantes Tiefpassfilter. MOD wählt aus 16 Oszillatorkonfigurationen deren Wählenformen aus, Resonanz und Filtercutoff sind ooch regelbar.
  • Drum Player ist eine Drummachine kombiniert mit einem Sampleplayer mit variabler Samplerate. Wähle zwischen verschiedenen Drumkits und individuellen Patterns für Bass, Snare und HiHat aus.

Einige weitere Programme kannst du auf der Herstellerseite runterladen und sie einfach über USB ins Modul laden, z.B. eine Variation des Equation Players (aber mit regelbarer Playbackposition und Looplänge), einen rhythmischen hüpfender-Ball-Synthesizer, einen Formantsynthesizer und einen Wavetable-Synth mit Delay,

Da der Equation Composer auf dem leistungsfähigen Arduino Due-Chip basiert, kannst du auch eigene Programme schreiben oder bestehende moifizieren. Die Software ist Open Source. Auf der Rückseite des Moduls gibt es einen 14-poligen Expansionsanschluss

Sonstiges
Vampirgleich saugt das Modul 165mA auf der +5V-Leitung. Siehe zu, daß dein +5V-Adapter stark genug ist. Mutable Volts und Make Noise 5V sind es.
Anschlüsse

CV-Eingänge für Programm, Samplerate und Modifikation. Klangparameter-CV-Eingänge 1-3
Gate-Eingang, Signalausgang
USB-Buchse (Typ B)

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 12TE breit, <40mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 17mA auf +12V, 17mA auf -12V und 165mA auf +5V

Gewicht
0.35 kg
artikelnr
MICeq
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 210,08 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 250,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1