Modcan - Triple Osc


The Triple Osc module combines three high-resolution digital oscillators running in parallel for creating wide multi-oscillator sounds. The sterility of digital oscillators due to the high stability, very accurate tracking and no drifting is criticised by some people. For that reason Modcan incorporated an intelligent circuitry which adds a little randomness and gives pleasant animation and life when you turn off the integrated quantizer.



Three digital oscillators with a wide frequency range and a resolution of 100kHz/16Bit. Waveform pairs are available: either sine and sawtootch or pulse and triangle. The oscillators are mixed by a single control or a CV and the level is always constant, no matter how many oscillators are audible.

The aim of today´s circuit designers is to build precise and very stable oscillators which track over many octaves and do not drift. Unfortunately this makes the oscillators sound too clean and too sterile  as the phase differences due to beating are missing. The Triple Osc simulates this "warmth" through imperfection: some linear detuning is added to exponential frequency control of oscillators 2 and 3 as long as the quantizer is in the OFF or OSC1 setting. If the quantizer is OFF, the inaccuracy effect is deactivated

A small amount of random modulation applied to the phase of VCOs two and three, if pitched higher than the fundamental VCO, can add color to the sound without adversely affecting the perceived fundamental pitch and precise tracking of the main VCO. The Triple Osc adds a smooth cosign interpolated random noise modulation to simulate this effect.

The internal semitone quantizer has three modes: 1.Off, 2.VCO1 only, 3.All 3 VCOs. Modes 1 and 2 add the tuning effects discussed above. Unique Hard Sync function allows VCOs to sound even when master frequency is greater than slave.

  • Crystal tuning stability with /-0.005% pitch tracking accuracy over 10 octaves
  • Frequency Range: 10 Octaves: 10Hz-10kHz
  • Output level: /-5V or 10Vpk-pk at 1Kohms
  • Input CV level: 0-10V at 100Kohms
  • Sync input
  • frequency CV inputs: 1V/octave, exponential input ,detune inputs for oscillators 2 and 3
  • CV inputs for Mix, PWM/level
  • audio outputs for sawtooth/sine and pulse/triangle

3U Eurorack module, 12 HP wide, 25mm deep.
Power consumption: 80mA @ +12V and 10mA @ -12V

0.145 kg
Article Number
availability ? will be ordered on request
€ 19% VAT excl. €377.31 € 19% VAT incl. €449.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Modcan - Triple Osc

Überblick

Der Triple Osc vereint in einem Modul drei hochaufgelöste digitale Oszillatoren, die paralell geschaltet sind, um  breite Multioszillator-Klänge zu erzeugen. Um die Sterilität der modernen Oszillatoren durch zu perfektes Tracking zu vermeiden, entwickelte Modcan ein intelligentes Schaltungsdesign, das ein wenig Zufall und Ungenauigkeiten hinzufügt. So man kann bei Bedarf den integrierten Quantizer ausschalten und ein wenig Leben in die Oszillatoren bringen!

Ansichten

Details

Drei Oszillatoren mit sehr weitem Frequenzbereich und einer Auflösung von 100kHz/16Bit.  Es stehen Wellenformpaare zur Verfügung; entweder Sinus und Sägezahn oder Rechteck und Dreieck. Der Oszillatormix geschieht über einen einzigen Regler bzw. über Steuerspannung und  der Pegel bleibt immer gleich, egal wieviele Oszillatoren zu hören sind.

Der Wunsch heutiger Schaltungsdesigner ist es, präzise und sehr stabile Oszillatoren zu bauen, die über viele Oktaven sauber tracken und nicht driften. Leider führt dies dazu, daß die Oszillatoren zu sauber und zu steril klingen, da Phasendifferenzen durch Schwebungen fehlen. Diese Wärme durch Ungenauigkeit wird beim Triple Osc simuliert: der exponentiellen Frequenzsteuerung der Oszillatoren 2 und 3 ein wenig lineare Verstimmung hinzugefügt, wenn der der Quantizer in der Schalterstellung OFF oder OSC1 sich befindet. Steht der Quantisierer auf ALL, so ist der Effekt der Ungenauigkeit deaktiviert.

Der interne Halbtonquantiierer hat drei Modi: 1) Aus, 2) nur VCO1, 3) Alle 3 VCOs. Modi 1 und 2 fügen Verstimmeffekte (s.o.) zu.

Der einzigartige HardSync klingt auch dann, wenn der Master-VCO höher ist als der Slave.

  • Kristallgenaue Stimmstabilität mit /- 0,005% Trackinggenauigkeit über 10 Oktaven
  • Frequenzbereich: 10 Oktaven: 10Hz-10kHz
  • Ausgangspegel /-5V or 10Vpk-pk bei 1kOhm
  • Eingangspegel der CVs: 0-10V bei 100 kOhm
Anschlüsse
  • Sync-Eingang
  • CV-Eingänge für Frequenz: 1V/Oktave, exponentieller Eingang, Detune-Eingänge für Osc 2 und 3
  • CV-Eingänge für Mix, PWM/Level
  • Audioausgänge für Sägezahn/Sinus und Rechteck/Dreieck
Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 12TE breit, ca. 25mm tief.
Stromverbrauch: 80mA auf +12V und 10mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.145 kg
artikelnr
MCto
Verfügbarkeit ? verfügbar auf Anfrage
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 377,31 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 449,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1