Mutable Instruments - Clouds

Overview

Granular audio processor focusing on instinctive real-time processing of audio sources from your modular, instead processing recorded samples like with other modules. Clouds fragments the audio into tiny particles (grains) and generates textures and sound clouds by combining up to 16 several overlapping, delayed and transposed grains which can even be frozen and diffused. Grain length, pitch, time distribution (density) and overlapping with other grains can be adjusted. Four different signal paths can be selected from.

Views

Details

The sound-relevant parameters Position, Size, Pitch, Desity and Texture can be voltage controlled ."Position" selects from which part of the audio buffer the grains are picked. "Density" controls how many grains are generated: in 12h position no grains, clockwise random grains will be seeded and counterclockwise grains with constant rate but increasing overlap. "Texture" morphs through different grain envelopes and beyond 3h-position a diffusor smears transients.
In extreme settings of the density and texture parameters four variations of granular processing algorithms are activated, see quickstart manual.

The voltage controlled blend parameter has four selectable mods:

  • dry/wet: bland between original audio material and processes signal.
  • crossfade/rotation: continously swaps panorama position of the L+R signals. Left channel is crossfaded to right output and vice versa.
  • feedback: parameter controls amount of feedback
  • reverb: the parameter adjusts reverb amount
The same button also selects audio quality (press and hold it for a second): 16kHz samoing rate with 8Bit resolution or 32kHz/16Bit, each either stereo or mono. The delay memory varies from 1s to 8s, depending on the mode. Attention: changing audio quality will erase audio buffer!

A trigger at the trigger input seeds exactly one grain, which allows for synchronizing the module's behaviour with LFOs or clocks.
Up to four "frozen" snapshots of the audio buffer can be saved and recalled.

connectors

Audio: inputs L+R (left normalled to right), outputs L+R
CV inputs for position, density, size, texture, 1V/oct and blend
freeze gate input, trigger input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18HP wide, 25mm deep
power consumption: 120mA @ +12V and 10mA @ -12V

Weight
0.175 kg
Article Number
MUTclo
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €251.26 € 19% VAT incl. €299.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Mutable Instruments - Clouds

Überblick

Granularer Audioprozessor, dessen Augenmerk darauf liegt, Klänge aus deinem Modularsystem instinktiv in Echtzeit zu bearbeiten anstatt Samples im nachhinein wie bei anderen Modulen. Clouds zerteilt das Audiomaterial in bis zu 16 kleinste Partikel (Grains), erzeugt daraus Texturen und Klangschichtungen durch die Kombination mehrerer überlappender, verzögerter und transponierter Grains, die auch eingefroren und verstreut werden können. Länge, Tonhöhe, zeitlicher Verteilung (Dichte) der Grains sowie der Grad der Überlappung mit anderen Grains können eingestellt. Vier verschiedene Signalpfade stehen zur Auswahl.

Ansichten

Details

Die klangentscheidenden Grain-Parameter Position, Größe, Tonhöhe, Dichte und Textur können spannungsgesteuert werden. "Position" wählt aus, aus welchem Teil des Audiosignals die Grains entnommen werden. "Density" regelt die dichte des Grains: in 12h-Stellung werden keine generiert, rechts davon werden Grains zufällig eingestreut und links der Mitte mit konstanter Geschwindigkeit und steigender Überlappung zwischen den Grains. "Texture" morpht durch verschiedene Grain-Hüllkurven und über der 3h-Stellung verschmiert ein Diffusor die Transienten.
In Extremstellungen der Regler Density und Texture werden vier verschiedene Variationen der Granularbearbeitungs-Algorithmen aktiviert, siehe Kurzanleitung.

Der spannungsgesteuerte Blend-Parameter hat vier mittels Taster wählbare Modi:

  • dry/wet, blendet zwischen Oriignal und granuliertem Signal um
  • Crossfade / Rotation: tausch kontinuierlich die Position der Signale im Panorama um. Der linke Kanal wird allmählich auf den rechten Ausgang geblendet und umgekehrt.
  • Feedback: Parameter regelt den Feedback-Anteil
  • Reverb: Parameter regelt den Hallanteil.
Der selbe Taster wählt die Audioqualität (drücke und halte den Taster eine Sekunde): 16kHz Samplingrate und 8Bit Auflösung oder 32kHz/16Bit, jeweils mono oder stereo. Der Delayspeicher variiert je nach Modus von 1s bis 8s. Achtung: bei Änderung der Audioqualität wird der Audiospeicher gelöscht!

Ein Trigger am gleichnamigen Eingang streut einen einzelnen Grain, dadurch kann man das Geschehen mit LFOs oder Clocks synchronisieren.
Bis zu vier "eingefrorene" Snapshots des audiospeichers können abgespeichert und geladen werden.

Anschlüsse

Audio: Eingänge L+R (L normalisert auf R), Ausgänge L+R
CV-Eingänge für Position, Dichte, Größe, Textur, 1V/Oktave und Blend-Parameter
Freeze-Gateeingang, Triggereingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 18 TE breit, 25 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 120 mA auf +12V und 10 mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.175 kg
artikelnr
MUTclo
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 251,26 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 299,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1