Mutable Instruments - Streams

Overview

Streams contains two identical channels for dynamic processing of audio- and CV signals. Int4ernally it consists of an analog VCA, follwed by an analog VCF which both are controlled by a digital CV generator. This one emulates the behaviour of an AD envelope, of a Vactrol, an envelope follower or the of a compressor.

Views

Details

Each channel has a shape regler, determining the behavoiur of each mode. The MOD potentiometer sets the modulation amount. Level-Mod is the attenuator for the level Cv input. The VCA's characteristic is blended from exponential to linear. The Excite input fires the digital CV generator and has a different function in each mode. Selecting the modes is done with a small button.

  • Envelope mode: AD envelope that modulates VCA and VCF. Shape blends in longer decay time, then a longer attack time and finally shortens both. Excite input acts as a trigger input.
  • Vactrol mode: the CV generator simulates the behaviour of a vactrol. Shape controls it's slowness - till the center position the decay gets significantly longer but the attack only a little bit. in the second half of the potentiometer the "vactrol" acts in a strange way and even "backwards". MOD determines the timbre of the filter by dampening the highs. Vactol mode works best when VCA characteristic is set to linear.
  • Envelope Follower: The amlitude of the signal at the Excite input is being analyzed and the CV which follows it modualte the channel. Shape sets the reaction time, MOD how strong the cutoff frequency will follow the amplitude. Gating and expander effecs can occur when you play with the level and the lin/exp potentiometer or if you use the same signal at IN and excite.
  • Compressor: works only properly in exponential VCA mode and when level-mod is in it's minimum position. The excite input works as a sidechain for the Input signal and the excite level determines gain reduction. If only IN is used, the module works as a normal compressor. Attack time is fixed to 0.2ms and decay to 150ms. MOD: in 12h-position no compression happens; counterclockwise signals are tamed and clockwise low signals are boosted.

Press the function button and access five alternate modes like AR envelope, pinging the vactrol, envelope follower for cutoff frequency only, a softer compressor and a direct VCF mode. Press both buttons and access twin mode where both channels work in the same modes and their controls are used to set separate parameters like attack and decay.

connectors

per channel: signal input and output, excite input, level CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 12HP wide, 26mm deep
power consumption: 100mA @ +12V and 30mA @ -12V

Weight
0.137 kg
Article Number
MUTstr
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €192.44 € 19% VAT incl. €229.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Mutable Instruments - Streams

Überblick

Streams enthält zwei gleiche Kanäle zur dynamischen Bearbeitung von Audio wie CV-Signalen. Intern besteht er aus einem analogem VCA, gefolgt von einem analogen VCF, die beiden von einem digitalen CV-Generator moduliert werden. Dieser emuliert das Verhalten einer AD-Hüllkurve, eines Vactrols, einers Envelope-Followers oder das eines Kompressors.

Ansichten

Details

Jeder Kanal hat einen Shape-Regler, der das Verhalten des jeweiligen Modus bestimmt. Der MOD-Regler bestimmt die Stärke der Modulation. Level-Mod ist der Abschwächer für den Level-Eingang. Die Charakteristik des VCAs wird mit einem kleinen Poti von exponentiell zu linear umgeblendet. Der Excite-Eingang regt den digitalen CV-Generator an und hat je nach Modus eine unterschiedliche Funktion. Das Umschalten der Modi geschieht über einen Taster.

  • Hüllkurvenmodus: AD-Hüllkurve, die VCA und VCF moduliert. Shape blendet längere Decay-Zeit ein, dann eine längere Attack und verkürzt zum Schluss beide. Excite-Eingang funktioniert hier wie ein Triggereingang.
  • Vactrolmodus: der CV-Generator simuliert das Verhalten eines Vactrols. Shape regelt seine Trägheit - bis zur Hälfte wird das Decay spürbar länger, das Attack nur minimal; in der zweiten Regelhälfte reagiert der "Vactrol" seltsam bis rückwärts. MOD regelt die Klangfarbe des Filters durch Höhendämpfung. Vactrolmodus funktioniert am besten bei linearen VCA-Charakteristik.
  • Envelope Follower: Die Amplitude des Signals am Excite-Eingang wird analysiert und als CV ausgegeben, die wiederum den Kanal moduliert. Shape bestimmt die reaktionszeit, MOD wie stark die Cutoff des Tiefpassfilters dem Follower folgt. Gating- und Expander-Effekte können auftreten, wenn man mit dem Pegel und dem lin/exp-Regler spielt oder das gleiche Signal an IN und EXCITE sendet.
  • Kompressor: Arbeitet nur richtig im exponentiellen VCA-Modus und wenn Level-Mod in Minimalposition ist. Der Excite-Eingang wirkt als Sidechain für den IN und der Excite-Pegel bestimmt die Gain-Reduktion. Nutzt man nur den IN, so arbeitet das Modul wie ein normaler Kompressor. Attack ist fest bei 0,2ms und Decay bei 150ms. MOD: in 12h-Stellung gibts keine Kompression. Links davon werden die leuten Signale abgeschwächt, rechts davon die leisen Signale lauter gemacht.

Halte den Funktionstaster gedrückt und komme an fünf Alternativmodi wie AR-Hüllkurve, Anpingen des Vactrols, Envelope Folower nur für Cutoff-Frequenz, weicherer kopressor und direkter VCF-Modus. Halte beide Taster gedrückt und komme in den Zwillingsmodus: hier arbeiten beide Kanäle im gleichen Modus und ihre Regler dienen der Einstellung separater Parameter wie Attack und Decay.

Anschlüsse

Pro Kanal: Signaleingang und -Ausgang, Excite-Eingang, Level-CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 12 TE breit, 26 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 100 mA auf +12 V und 30 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.137 kg
artikelnr
MUTstr
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 192,44 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 229,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1