Mutable Instruments - Tides


Problem of analog function generators: if you change the curve characteristic while in loop mode the frequency will change as well. This sucks when you use it as a VCO. Tides by Mutable Instuments solves this issue and we get a VC digital looping AR/AD envelope or LFO or a fancy dynamically waveshaped synth voice, depending on your point of view.



Three modes: one shot AD envelope (green LED), Loop mode (LED off), one shot AR envelope (red LED). In envelope modes the module requires a trigger signal.
Three frequency ranges: low (20min-5Hz, green LED), medium (0.05Hz-300Hz, LED off), high (8Hz-10kHz, red LED). The high range is optimized for audio and the shape/slope parameters have different characteristics. In addition to the range switches the frequency is controlled with the frequency control in arange of +/-4 octaves. There's a 1V/octave input and a FM input with polarizer. When the FM socket is unused the polarizer will act as fine tune control.

Three voltage controlled parameters control the wave form; Shape determines the characteristic of the wav, provoding different combinations of linear, exponantial and logarithmic for the rising and falling segments of the wave. Slope controls the balance between rising and falling wave. Fully counterclockwise the attack is null and the release has the length of one cycle (vice versa in fully clockwise position). In center position both segments have same length. Smoothness has two functions: in center position nothing happens, left of center it acts as a 12dB lowpass filter's cutoff control; right of center position it's a wave multiplier.

In loop mode a gate or trigger at the trigger input will reset the phase of the wave, in envelope mode it will fire the envelope.
A "high" signal at the freeze input will hold the wave form at it's current position.
Clock: the AD/AR cycle's frequency can be synchronized by clock. If you pressed the range button for one second you will enter PLL mode in which the tides will follow the clock frequency and the frequency control will determine the divisor. Both clock division and multilication is possible.
Level input acts as VCA for uni- and bipolar outputs when a cable is connected.
High-tide is an end-of-attack output, generating a pulse till the start of a new attack. Low-tide is an end-of.decay/release output providing a gate signal with the duration till the start of next decay phase.
Unipolar output generates voltages from 0-8V, bipolar output +/-5V, both waves are way different, even acoustically. Especially the bipolar output is cool for crazy envelopes.


inputs: trigger, freeze, 1V/octave, FM, level and clock
outputs: high tide, low tide, unipolar, bipolar


3U Eurorack module, 14HP wide, 26mm deep.
power consumption: 55mA @ +12V and 5mA @ -12V

0.15 kg
Article Number
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €192.44 € 19% VAT incl. €229.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Mutable Instruments - Tides

Überblick

Das Problem analoger Funktionsgeneratoren: ändet man im Cycle-Modus die Kurvencharakteristik, so ändert sich auch die Frequenz. Das nervt beim VCO-Einsatz. Das Tides von Mutable Instruments löst das Problem und wir erhalten eine digitale, spannungssteuerbare und loopbare AD/AD-Hüllkurve bzw. LFO mit flexibel einstellbaren Kurven beziehungsweise eine tolle Synthesizerstimme mit dynamischen Waveshaping-Möglichkeiten, je nach deiner Sichtweise.

Ansichten

Details

Drei Modi: one shot AD-Hüllkurve (grüne LED), Loop-Modus (LED aus), one-shot AR-Hüllkurve (rote LED). In den Hüllkurvenmodi benötigt das Modul einen Trigger.
Drei Frequenzbereiche: low (20min-5Hz, grüne LED), medium (0,05Hz-300Hz, LED aus), high (8Hz-10kHz, rote LED). Der High-Bereich ist für Audio optimiert und der shape/slope-Parameter hat eine leicht andere Charakteristik. Die Frequenz wird zusätzlich mit dem Regler im Bereich von +/- 4 Oktaven eingestellt. Es gibt einen 1V/Oktave-Eingang und einen FM-Eingang mit Polarizer. Der Polarizer dient, wenn nichts in den FM-Eingang gepatcht ist, als Feinstimmungsregler.

Drei spannungssteuerbare Parameter bestimmen die Wellenform: Shape bestimmt die Charakteristik der Welle in Form verschiedener Kombinationen von linear, exponentiell und logarithmisch für die steigenden und fallenden Segmente der Welle. Slope ist für die Balance zwischen steigender und fallender Zeit zuständig. Auf Linksanschlag ist der Attack Null und das Abklingen so lange wie ein Zyklus (vice versa auf Rechtsanschlag.) In Mittelstellung sind beide Segmente gleich lang. Smoothness hat zwei Funktionen. In Mittelstellung passiert nichts, links davon ist es die Cutoff eines 12dB Tiefpassfilers, rechts davon ein Wavefolder.

Im Loopmodus resettet ein Gate oder Trigger am Triggereinang die Phase der Welle, im Hüllkurvenmodus wird die Hüllkurve gestartet.
Ein "high"-Signal am Freeze-Eingang friert die Wellenform ein.
Clock: die Frequenz des AD/AR-Zyklus kann über Clock synchronisiert werden. Drückt man den Range-Taster eine Sekunde, so betritt man den PLL-Modus, wo das Tides der Clockfrequenz folgt und der Frequenzregler den Teilerfaktor zwischen Eingangs- und Ausgangsfrequenz regelt. Clockteilung und -Multiplikation sind möglich,
Der Level-Eingang funktioniert als VCA für die uni- und bipolaren Ausgänge, sofern ein Kabel gestect ist.
High-Tide ist ein end-of attack-Ausgang, der einen Puls bis zum Anfang des nächsten Attacks generiert. Low-tide ist analog ein end-of-decay/release-Ausgang und generiert analog ein gate bis zum Beginn der nächsten Decay-Phase.
Unipolarer Ausgang generiert Spannungen von 0-8V, bipolarer Ausgang +/-5V; die ausgegebenen Wellen unterscheiden sich deutlich, auch akustisch! Speziell der bipolare Ausgang ist toll für schräge Hüllkurven.

Anschlüsse

Eingänge: Trigger, Freeze, 1V/Oktave, FM, Level und Clock
Ausgänge: high tide, low tide, unipolar und bipolar

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 14 TE breit, 26 mm tief.
Stromverbrauch: 55 mA auf +12 V und 5 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.15 kg
artikelnr
MUTtid
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 192,44 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 229,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1