Pittsburgh Modular - Lifeforms Double Helix Oscillator

Overview

Pittsburgh’s Double Helix Oscillator is composed of two VCOs plus a sub oscillator, a contour section with mixer, wavefolder and low pass gate as well as a LFO and a noise generator. Furthermore, the module features a routing matrix with two voltage controlled VCAs. Its sound is voluminous and clearly analog.

Details

The first VCO is equipped with outputs for sine, saw, blade and pulse waves. The latter can be varied in shape respectively width via a potentiometer. Additionally, there is a sub oscillator, which emits square waves. For pitch adjustments, the VCO offers coarse and fine tune knobs.
The second oscillator generates sine, saw and square waves. Like with the first VCO, there are two knobs for pitch alterations. Both circuits come with a V/octave input for pitch CV signals.

The Contour section features two audio connectors. Incoming material is summed up via a non-editable mixer. The results are fed into the wavefolder. It can be adjusted using the Timbre potentiometer. Afterwards, signals run through the low pass gate. The circuit is a small version of Pittsburgh’s Dynamic Impulse Filter. It does not employ vactrols to shape sound. Instead, a freshly developed, analog circuit design is utilized, which allows the user to edit the LPG’s decay time. The basic cutoff and level settings can be altered via the Dynamics knob. For excitation, there is an impulse input.

The Double Helix Oscillator's modulation section is comprised of a LFO with sine, square and random outputs as well as a noise generator.

The module‘s routing system offers modulation channels for infuencing the frequencies of both oscillators, blade shape respectively pulse width, the wavefolder’s timbre and the LPG’s dynamics parameter. Each path can be fed directly via a connector. Alternatively, it is possible to make a detour and tie-in one of the router's two VCAs. Switches are used to link the dedicated socket or one of the VCAs with each channel. Attenuator knobs allow the user to damp incoming signals. The VCAs offer signal and modulation inputs plus level potentiometers.

connectors

VCO 1:
V/octave input
Outputs for sine, saw, blade and pulse waveforms plus the sub oscillator

VCO 2:
V/octave input
Outputs for sine, saw and sqaure waveforms

Contour:
Two audio inputs, one output
Impulse input

Modulation:
Outputs for sine, sqaure and random waveforms plus noise

Router:
CV inputs for both VCAs, FM1, blade shape / pulse width, FM2, Timbre, Dynamics
Two signal inputs (VCA 1 and VCA 2)

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 28 HP wide, 37 mm deep
Current draw: 223 mA at +12 V and 205 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.35 kg
Article Number
PITdho

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Pittsburgh Modular - Lifeforms Double Helix Oscillator

Überblick

Der Double Helix Oscillator verfügt nicht nur über zwei VCOs plus Suboszillator, sondern beinhaltet auch einen Contour-Bereich mit Mixer, Wavefolder und Low-Pass-Gate sowie eine aus LFO und Rauschgenerator bestehende Modulationssektion. Obendrauf hat das Modul eine Routing-Matrix mit zwei spannungssteuerbaren VCAs spendiert bekommen. Der Sound ist füllig und eindeutig analog.

Details

Der erste VCO des Double Helix Oscillators besitzt Ausgänge für Sinus-, Sägezahn-, Blade- und Pulse-Wellenformen. Die beiden Letztgenannten lassen sich mit Hilfe eines Potentiometers in ihrer Form beziehungsweise Weite justieren. Ergänzend ist ein Sub-Oszillator vorhanden, der Rechteckschwingungen abgibt. Tonhöhenveränderungen sind mit Hilfe von Grob- und Feinstimmungsreglern machbar.
Der zweite VCO bietet die Wellenformen Sinus, Sägezahn und Rechteck an. Auch hier gibt es zwei Potentiometer für Stimmungsanpassungen. Zur Steuerung bringt jeder Oszillator einen V/Oktave-Eingang mit.

Die Contour-Sektion hält zwei Signaleingänge bereit, sie werden mit Hilfe des nachstehenden, nicht editierbaren Mixers summiert. Anschließend durchläuft das Audiomaterial den per Timbre-Regler justierbaren Wavefolder, danach folgt das Low-Pass-Gate. Bei ihm handelt es sich um eine abgespeckte Version des Dynamic Impulse Filters. Genau wie der große Bruder arbeitet die Schaltung nicht mit Optokopplern, sondern einer neuartigen Analogstufe. Der Vorteil ist, dass sich die Abklang-Zeit per Potentiometer variieren lässt. Via Dynamics-Regler kontrolliert man die grundlegende Grenzfrequenz und Lautstärke. Mittels Impulse-Eingang kann die Schaltung angeregt werden.

Der Modulationsbereich verfügt über einen LFO mit Sinus-, Rechteck- und Zufalls-Wellenausgängen. Ferner ist ein Rauschgenerator anzutreffen.

Das Routing-System des Double Helix Oscillators bietet Modulationswege für die Frequenzen der beiden VCOs, Blade-Form beziehungsweise Pulsweite, den Timbre-Parameter des Wavefolders und die Dynamics-Stellgröße des Low-Pass-Gates. Jeder dieser Kanäle kann per Direkteingang oder mit Hilfe eines der ebenfalls in der Routing-Sektion befindlichen VCAs gespeist werden. Schalter dienen der Verknüpfung. In Oszillator- und Contour-Bereichen finden sich Abschwächer für jeden Modulationsweg. Die VCAs setzen sich aus Signal- und CV-Eingang sowie einem Pegelregler zusammen.

Anschlüsse

VCO 1:
V/Oktave-CV-Eingang
Ausgänge für Sinus-, Sägezahn-, Blade- und Pulsewellen sowie Suboszillator

VCO 2:
1V/Oktave-Eingang
Ausgänge für Sinus-, Sägezahn- und Rechteckwellen

Contour:
Zwei Audioeingänge, ein Ausgang
Impulse-Steuereingang

Modulation:
Ausgänge für Sinus-, Rechteck- und Zufallswellen plus Noise

Router:
CV-Eingänge für die VCAs, FM1, Bladeform / Pulsweite, FM2, Timbre, Dynamics
Zwei Signaleingänge (VCA 1 und VCA 2)

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 28 TE breit, 37 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 223 mA auf +12 V und 205 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.35 kg
artikelnr
PITdho
Verfügbarkeit ? verfügbar auf Anfrage
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 427,73 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 509,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1