Pittsburgh Modular - Lifeforms SV-1 Blackbox

Overview

Compared to many semi-modular budget- and starter-systems the SV-1 Balckbox really shines with its second audio oscillator containing a dual sub-oscillator as well. The MIDI implementation of this unit is pretty good either due to a flexible MIDI/CV converter. Pittsburgh Modular's popular state-variable multi mode filter has been used and a variety of handy tools completes this fine desktop synthesizer.

Details

Blackbox SV-1 has plenty normalizations, making it possible to use the system quickly without any patch cords. For instance the MIDI/CV converter is pre-patched to the VCOs and other sections, VCO 2 modulates internally VCO 1, the the mixer's inputs and outputs are normalized to oscillators and filter, likewise the modulation routing is pre-patched. All normalizations can be deactivated with patch cords.

The MIDI/CV interface is equipped with a lot of outputs: 1V/octave CV, gate, MIDI Clock, velocity and one programmable CC output. In addition there are two outputs of a digital, MIDI clock synchronized LFOs. Alternatively you can patch an external clock into the bi-directional clock socket which overrides the MIDI Clock. This way the LFOs can be synchronized to the other clock.
The MIDI input is a 3.5mm stereo socket - a suitable adaptor cable for connecting a standard MIDI cable with a five-pin plug is supplied.
The MIDI interface also contains an arpeggiatior with various modes.

The SV-1 Blackbox provides two fully-fledged analog oscillators. The first one has five waveforms (blade, pulse, sine, triangle and sawtooth), PWM and sync. Blade is an unique waveform thats shape is modulated via the PWM input. VCO 2 generates four waves and just like the first oscillator it has a 1V/octave input and a FM input.
Besides that two sub-octaves are generated from VCO 1's signal.

The four-channel mixer internally mixes the oscillator signals but you can patch other signals as well, e.g. the noise from the Tools section or other audio material. The mix of channels 1+2 and 3+4 are available separately.

The nice sounding multi-mode filter offers three filter types: high pass, low pass and band pass. The cutoff CV input is equipped with a bi-polar attenuator which allows to invert the modulation's polarity.

Level is the VCA with one signal input, one signal output and one CV input.

Modulation-wise there are two generators: a LFO with two wave forms and an ADSR envelope.
In the Tools section we find the outputs of the sub-oscillators and the noise generators and a sample & hold circuit.
Besides that there's one signal amplifier with two outputs, a signal splitter and an output section with level control and headphone amplifier.

miscellaneous

Included in delivery are six NAZCA braided patch cords, a MIDI adaptor cable (DIN socket to stereo 3.5mm jack) and a 15V DC power supply with 1.5A power.

connectors

55 patch points (3.5mm mono sockets), 1 MIDI input (3.5mm stereo socket), 1 inlet for external 15V DC power supply

dimensions

248 x 133 x 64mm (W x H x D)

Weight
1.7 kg
Article Number
PITsv1BB
External Videos

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Pittsburgh Modular - Lifeforms SV-1 Blackbox

Überblick

Im Vergleich zu vielen halbmodularen Budget- und Einsteiger-Systemen glänzt das SV-1 Blackbox durch einen zweiten Audiooszillator und einen dualen Suboszillator. Die MIDI-Einbindung des Desktop-Geräts ist durch ein flexibles MIDI/CV-Interface ebenfalls ziemlich gut gelöst, das mit einem Arpeggiator und einen temposynchronen LFO ausgestattet ist. Zum Einsatz kommt Pittsburghs beliebtes State-Variable Multimode-Filter und einige nützliche Tools runden diesen feinen Synthesizer ab.

Ansichten

Details

Blackbox SV-1 bietet viele Normalisierungen, damit man das System auch schnell ohne Patchkabel einsetzen kann. So sind beispielsweise der MIDI/CV-Konverter mit den VCOs und anderen Sektionen vorverkabelt, VCO 2 moduliert intern den ersten, die Ein- und Ausgänge des Mixers sind auf Oszillatoren und Filter vorgepatcht, ebenso verhält es sich mit dem Modulations-Signalpfad. Alle Normalisierungen lassen sich mit Patchkabeln unterbrechen.

Das MIDI/CV-Interface ist mit vielen Ausgängen ausgestattet: 1V/Oktave-CV, Gate, MIDI Clock, Velocity und einem programmierbaren CC-Ausgang. Dazu gesellen sich zwei Ausgänge eines digitalen LFOs, der zur MIDI Clock synchronisiert ist. Alternativ kann man in diie bidirektionale Clock-Buchse eine externe Clock stecken, die die MIDI Clock ignoriert. So lassen sich die LFOs zu einer anderen Clock synchroniseren.
Der MIDI-Eingang ist in Form einer 3,5mm Stereo-Buchse ausgeführt; ein passendes Adapterkabel zum Anschluß eines Standard-MIDI-Kabels mit 5-Pol DIN-Stecker wird mitgeliefert.
Das MIDI-Interface beinhaltet auch einen Arpeggiatior mit diversen Modi.

Vollwertige analoge Oszillatoren hat das Blackbox zwei an der Zahl. Der erste hat fünf Wellenformen (Blade, Puls, Sinus, Dreieck und Sägezahn), PWM und Sync. Blade ist eine spezielle Welle, deren Form über die PWM-Buchse moduliert wird. VCO2 hat vier Wellenformen und wie auch der erste einen 1V/Oktave-Eingang und einen FM-Eingang.
Aus dem Signal des VCO1 werden darüberhinaus zwei Suboktaven generiert.

Am vierkanaligen Mixer werden die Signale der Oszillatoren gemischt, jedoch lassen sich mit Patchkabeln auch andere Signale in den Mixer einspeisen (z.B. das Rauschen aus der Tools-Sektion oder anderes Audio. Die Mischung der Kanäle 1+2 sowie 3+4 können separat abgegriffen werden.

Das schön klingende Multimode-Filter bietet drei Filtertypen: Hoch-, Tief- und Bandpass. Der Cutoff-CV-Eingang ist mit einem bipolaren Abschwächer ausgestattet, der es ermöglicht, die Modulation zu invertieren.

Level stellt den VCA dar, der je einen Eingang, Ausgang und CV-Eingang bietet.

An Modulationsquellen gibt es zwei Generatoren: einen LFO mit zwei Wellenformen und eine ADSR-Hüllkurve.
In der Tools-Sektion finden wir die Ausgänge der Suboszillatoren und des Rauschens sowie eine Sample & Hold-Schaltung.
Ferner gibt es noch einen Signal-Verstärker mit zwei Ausgängen, einen Signalsplitter und eine Ausgangssektion mit Pegelregler und Kopfhörerverstärker.

Sonstiges

Im Lieferumfang sind sechs textilummantelte NAZCA Patchkabel, ein MIDI-Adapterkabel (DIN-Buchse auf 3,5mm Stereo-Stecker) und ein externes 15 V DC-Netzteil mit 1.5 Ampere enthalten.

Anschlüsse

55 Patchpunkte (3,5 mm Mono-Buchsen), 1 MIDI-Eingang (3,5 mm Stero-Buchse), 1 Eingang für externes 15 V DC-Netzteil

Abmessungen

248 x 133 x 64 mm (B x H x T)

Gewicht
1.7 kg
artikelnr
PITsv1BB
Externe Videos
Verfügbarkeit ? verfügbar auf Anfrage
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 629,41 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 749,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag