Pittsburgh Modular - TimeRunner

Overview

Not in production anymore.

TimeRunner is a pattern generator working based on logic principles but it might as well be used as a clock divider. Four channels interact with the internally produced or external clock, with the clock divider and the logic state of the previous channel. One might think this module is a second Timetable module but designing such was not Pittsburgh's intention.

Views

Details

The signal path of the TimeRunner starts with a clock which is generated internally or is injected from an external source. The clock is split into the 4 cascaded channels' clock dividers, creating even /2, /4, /8, /16 divisions when seen from top to bottom.
In addition each channel has two selectable logic circuits, an AND and a XOR gate. A switch or a gate voltage at the "logic in" determines if he logical result of the AND or the XOR is available at the channel's direct OUT.

How the logic works:
The output of each channel division is sent to the first logic input of both an AND and XOR logic chip. The second input of the AND and XOR logic chips is referred to as the SEED. The first channel Seed is always high unless the Seed Input Jack is used. The Seed input for the remaining channels is derived from either the AND or XOR logic output of the previous channel using the Channel Seed Switch.

Due to this relations and connections the channels interact and influence each other: if you change setting at channel 2, this will have an effect on channels 3 and then 4.
If you want to use the Timerunner as a clock divdier only, set all Seed-In switches and logic switches to "AND". Flipping the Channel 1 Logic Selector switch flips the output of Channel 1 to odd beats.

connectors

Clock generator: 2x square outputs
external clock in, reset in
channel 1; seed input, logic input, output
channels 2-4: logic input, output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 12HP wide, 36.5mm deep
current draw is 45mA

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
PITtr
External Links

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Pittsburgh Modular - TimeRunner

Überblick

Wird nicht mehr gebaut.

TimeRunner ist ein nach logischen Prinzipien arbeitender Patterngenerator, den man aber auch als Clockdivider benutzen kann. Vier Kanäle interagieren mit der intern generierten oder von außen zugeführten Clock, dem Clockdivider und dem logischen Zustand des jeweils vorigen Kanals. Mancher mag denken, dies sein eine Nachbildung des Timetable, aber das ist ganz bewusst nicht Pittsburghs Absicht.

Ansichten

Details

Den Anfang des TimeRunner macht immer eine Clock, die entweder intern erzeugt wird oder von außen zugeführt wird. Sie wird parallel an die Clockdivider der vier Kanäle geschickt, die von oben nach unten betrachtet durch 2, 4, 8 und 16 teilen.
Zusätzlich kommt pro Kanal ein Logikbaustein ins Spiel. Über einen Schalter oder ein Gate am "logic in" bestimmst du ob dieser als XOR oder als AND funktioniert. Das logische Ergebnis jedes liegt am Einzelausgang OUT an.

Zur Funktionsweise der Logik:
Das Ausgangssignal jedes Clockdividers wird intern dem ersten Eingang des obengenannten Logikbausteins zugeführt. Der zweite Eingang der Logikschaltung, hier als SEED bezeichnet, bezieht sein Signal aus dem Ausgang des Logikbausteins des vorigen Kanals (außer Kanal 1, hier ist SEED immer "high" oder je nach Zustand des Signals an der Buchse "Seed in"), wobei der SEED-Schalter bestimmt, ob das XOR- oder das AND-Gatter ausgelesen wird.

Durch diese Verknüpfungen interagieren die Kanäle miteinander und beeinflussen sich, denn ändert man sie Einstellung an Kanal 2, so wirkt sich dies auch auf Kanal 3 und 4 aus.
Will man beispielsweise das TimeRunner als Clockdivider nutzen, so stelle man alle Seed-In- und Logik-Schalter auf "AND". Legt man den Logik-Schalter von Kanal 1 um, dann gibt der Ausgang von Kanal 1 ungerade Beats aus.

Anschlüsse

Clockgenerator: zwei Rechteckausgänge
externer Clockeingagn, Reset-Eingang
Kanal 1: Seed-Eingang, Logikeingang, Ausgang
Kanäle 2-4: Logikeingang, Ausgang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 12TE breit, 36,5mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 45mA

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
PITtr
Externe Links

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.