Rebel Technology - Stoicheia

Overview

Rebel Technology call the Stoichea the Euclidian Sequencer. The module creates rhythmical structures from a clock by the use of an algorithm that Euclid first described; those structures can be found in our music since centuries.

Views

Details

The module consists of two identical units, α and β, that generate rhythms from a clock:

  • The upper control sets the start point of a sequence and also the reset point. In mid position the sequence starts at the "one". Turning the pot makes the sequence shift forwards or backwards.
  • The middle potentiomenter sets the sequence length, from 1 to 16 steps.
  • The lower control determines the fills i.e. how many notes from a sequence will be played

The switches below the LEDs select the operating mode of each channel:

  • In middle position the sequence is off.
  • In upper position the trigger mode is activated. The sequence will switch its output high when receiving a clock signal rising edge (low to high transition), provided the next beat in the sequence is ‘on’. When the clock signal falling edge is received (high to low transition), the output will be switched back to low (0v). This means that the output trigger signals have the same pulse width as the input clock.
  • In bottom position you activate the alternating mode. The output goes high on the first ‘on’ beat, and remains high until the next ‘on’ beat. In other words, the output toggles on every ‘on’ beat in the sequence. The up and down transitions occur on the rising edge of the input clock.

The center jack |← is the reset input. Alternatively you can reset manually by toggling the upper switch (α+ β) for a short time.This switch activates the Chained Mode - it will play both sequences in one after the other, instead of concurrently. This is very useful to build up more complex patterns and you can create sequences longer than16 steps. In chained mode, the output of the combined sequence is available at both output jacks.

miscellaneous

The module needs additional +5V operational voltage. Suitable +5V adaptors for operating the module can be found here.

connectors

One clock input and one gate output (α and β) per channel. One common reset input (|←)

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 10HP wide, less than 30mm deep.
current draw: 10mA @ +12V, 0mA @ -12V and 25mA @ +5V

Weight
0.25 kg
Article Number
RTst

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Rebel Technology - Stoicheia

Überblick

Rebel Technology bezeichnet den Stoicheia selber als euklidischen Sequenzer. Das Modul erzeugt nämlich aus einer eingehenden Clock rhythmische Stukturen nach einem Algorithmus, den Euklid zum ersten Mal beschrieb; diese Strukturen finden sich seit Jahrhunderten im Rhythmus unserer Musik wieder.

Ansichten

Details

Das Modul besteht aus zwei identischen Einheiten, α und β, die aus einer Clock einen Rhythmus produzieren.
Der obere Regler stellt den Anfangspunkt der Sequenz ein und demzufolge auch deren Reset-Punkt. In der Mittelstellung fängt die Sequenz beider "eins" an; Drehen des Potis rotiert die Sequenz nach vorne oder hinten.
Der mittlere Poti ist für die Sequenzdauer zuständig, von 1 bis 16 Schritte.
Der untere Regler bestimmt die Fills, oder wieviele Noten aus dieser Sequenz gepielt werden.
Die Schalter unterhalb der LEDs wählen pro Kanal den Modus aus.

  • In Mittelposition ist die Sequenz aus.
  • In oberer Schalterstellung aktiviert man den Triggermodus. Ist der nächste Schritt der gewählten Sequenz "an", generiert der Ausgang bei steigender Flanke der Clock ein Gate, das erst bei fallender Flanke der Clock schliesst. Die Pulsbreite des Gates ist so von der Breite der Clock abhängig.
  • In unterer Schalterstellung wird der alternierende Modus ausgewählt. Das Gate öffnet sich bei der ersten gesetzten Note der Sequenz und schließt sich erst wieder bei der nächsten gesetzten Note. Der Wechsel ist also vom Anfang des Clock-Pulses abhängig.

Die mittlere Buchse |← ist der Reset-Eingang. Alternativ kann man auch manuell resetten, indem man den obersten Schalter α+β kurz nach oben kippt. Dieser Schalter aktiviert den Kettenmodus (chained mode), der abwechselnd die erste und dann die zweite Sequenz abspielt. Man kann sehr interessante Ergebnisse erzielen, wenn beide Sequenzen unterschiedlich lang sind. Pattern mit einer Länge von mehr als 16 Schritten sind in diesem Modus auch möglich

Sonstiges

Das Modul braucht eine +5V-Versorgungsspannung. Passende +5V-Adapter, mit denen man das Modul betrieben kann findest du hier.

Anschlüsse

Je ein Clock-Eingang und ein Gate-Ausgang (α und β) pro Sequenz. Ein gemeinsamer Reset-Eingang "|←"

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 10TE breit, weniger als 30mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 10mA auf +12V, 0mA auf -12V und 25mA auf +5V

Gewicht
0.25 kg
artikelnr
RTst

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.