WMD Phase Displacement Oscillator Mk2

Overview

WMD´s Phase Displacement Oscillator is a hybrid oscillator module that combines the benefits and feel of an analog VCO with the possibilities of digital waveshaping.

Is uses the phenomenon of Phase Modulation (PM) e.g. the relative phase difference between the different outputs. The phase can be set or modulated to achieve interesting sounds. The result resembles FM but affects the outputs more without destabilizing the initial frequency. As the PM affects only the relative phase, not the frequency, the PDO can modulate itself which will create complex harmonic sounds. Their frequency seems to change but remains stable in fact.

Version Mk2 is 16HP wide, has 9 instead of 11 knobs and therefore more fingerspace. In addition the signal input routing is better and it consumes less power.

Views

Details

The analog VCO is temperature compensated and thus tracks over five octaves when played thru the 1V/oct input. It is sawtooth-based and beyond the classic wavefrm sine, triangle, sawtooth and square it offers also mixed waves. Controls for coarse and fine frequency tuning, hard sync, exponential and linear FM can be found as well.

Each of the wave forms can be assigned to each phase modulator. The phase (ɸ) of channels 2-4 can be set between -360° and 360° by controls.

The additional SC (staircase) output is the result of the relative phases of the three phase input channels compared to the analog sawtooth waveform. It forms a staircase type output by adding together multiple square waves.

connectors

CV inputs: ɸ2, ɸ3, ɸ4 (normalized from 2 over 3 to 4), 1V/oct, exponantial FM, linear FM, sync
outputs: individual outputs 1-4, sum output, staircase output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 10HP wide, 40mm deep
Current draw 115mA @ +12V and 40mA @ -12V/p>

Weight
0.208 kg
Article Number
WMDpdo
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €343.70 € 19% VAT incl. €409.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

WMD Phase Displacement Oscillator Mk2

Überblick

WMD´s Phase Displacement Oscillator ist ein hybrides Oszillatormodul, das die Vorteile und die Bedienung eines analogen VCOs mit den Möglichkeiten digitalen Waveshapings kombiniert.

Er nutzt das Phänomen der Phasenmodulation (PM), also der Phasendifferenz zw. den verschiedenen Ausgängen. Die Phase kann fest eingestellt oder moduliert werden, um interessante Klänge zu erzeugen. Das Ergebnis ähnelt der FM, beeinflusst die Ausgänge aber stärker, ohne die Grundfrequenz zu destabilisieren. Da PM nur die relative Phase, nicht aber die Frequenz beinflusst, kann der PDO sich selber modulieren - so enstehen komplexe obertonreiche Klänge, deren Frequenz sich zu ändern scheint, aber dennoch fest bleibt.

Version Mk2 ist nun 16TE breit, bietet 9 statt 11 Knöpfe und gleichzeitig mehr Platz für Finger. Ebenfalls ist das Eingangsrouting verbessert und der Stromverbrauch niedriger.

Ansichten

Details

Der analoge VCO ist temperaturkompensiert und dadurch über mind. 5 Oktaven über 1V/Oktave spielbar. Er ist sägezahnbasiert und bietet neben den klassischen Wellenformen Sinus, Sägezahn, Dreieck und Rechteck auch Mischwellenformen. Regler zur Grob- und Feineinstellung der Frequenz, Hard Sync, exponentielle und lineare FM sind natürlich auch an Bord.

Jeder der Wellenfomen kann jedem Phasenmodulator zugewiesen werden. Die Phasen (ɸ) der Kanäle 2-4 können mit einem Regler und einer CV im Bereich von -360° bis 360° eingestellt werden.

Der zusätzliche SC-Ausgang führt eine treppchenförmige Rechteckwelle, genauer gesagt eine Mischung mehrerer Rechteckwellenformen. Diese ist das Ergebnis der relativen Phasen der drei Eingangskanäle verglichen mit der analogen Sägezahnwelle.

Anschlüsse

CV-Eingänge: ɸ2, ɸ3, ɸ4 (normalisiert von 2 über 3 zu 4), 1V/Okt, exponentielle FM, lineare FM, Sync
Ausgänge: Einzelausgänge 1-4, Summenausgang, Staircase-Ausgang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 10TE breit, 40mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 115mA auf +12V und 40mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.208 kg
artikelnr
WMDpdo
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 360,50 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 429,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1