XAOC Devices - Sewastopol

Overview

Sewastopol contains a number of circuits for integrating external audio and to extract signals from them. Use it as an input and output interface with optional soft clipping, as a FX send & return for using external effect units with your modular, as a comparator and as envelope follower. Latter two functions can be used individually with other signals than the external audio.

Views

Details

On the "studio side" the input and output channels have conveniently 1/4" sockets and there are potentiometers for adjusting levels: input-wise there's a pre-amp and output-wise an attenautor. Overload LEDs for each channel help to find correct gain setting. A jumper on the back lets you activate soft clipping.

Sewastopol can be used for a number of functions:
Audio interface: the EXPORT section sends signals from the Eurorack to your studio and is used as an Out. IMPORT is the input section for injescting external audio into the modular system.

Effect adaptor Export is used as FX Send with attenuation and import is the FX Return with amplification.

Envelope follower: A cleanly working unit generating a CV that follows on the volume of the input. Two speed ranges to select from - fast for transients and slow for smooth voltages. In addition the "Env. Release" control allows for adjusting the decay which is very hand when you insert very percussive sounds into the follower. Then there's a "Low End Cut" which is a highpass filter with switchable cutoff frequency (33Hz, 3kHz, off) for removing energy-rich low frequencies. It makes the follower less sensitive to bass that usually dominates much softer percussive sounds, and improves the overall response to mixed music.
The module implements a novel bipolar peak detector whose output is held until a subsequent waveform peak arrives. This results in a stable, ripple-free output voltage for a input signal with constant amplitude.
The follower has an individual input which is normalized to the Import's input. A LED shows if the follower's voltage is below or above +8V

Comparator: It compares the input signal's amplitude with the value set with the "threshold" potentiometer; when the input is higher it generates a gate and a trigger. LEDs show activity.
To prevent arbitrary switching when signals fluctuate very close to the threshold has the Sewastopol has a jumper-selectable hysteresis. This activates slightly different thresholds for the rising and falling voltages.
The comparator has an individual input which is normalized to the evnelope follower output.

miscellaneous

XAOC name their products after places and cities of the former Eastern Bloc. Sewastopol is the biggest city of the Crimea peninsula, Russian territory since recently.

connectors

Export: input (3.5mm) and output/FX send (1/4")
Import: input/FX return (1/4") and output (3.5mm)
follower input, comparator input
envelope output, gate output, trigger output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8HP wide, skiff-friendly 25mm deep
Current draw: 25mA. Module is protected against reversed polarity.

Weight
0,2 kg
Article Number
XAsew
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €142.86 € 19% VAT incl. €170.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

XAOC Devices - Sewastopol

Überblick

Das Eurorack-Modul Sewastopol enthält eine Reihe an Schaltungen zum Einbinden externer Audiosignale und zum Extrahieren von Spannungen aus ihnen. Benutze ihn als Ein- und Ausgangsinterface mit optionalem soft clipping, als FX Send/Return zum Einbinden externer Effekte, als Komparator und als Envelope Follower. Die beiden letzten Funktionen können unabhängig, mit anderen signalen als dem externen Audio, benutzt werden.

Ansichten

Details

"Studioseitig" haben die Ein- und Ausgangskanäle praktischerweise 6,35mm-Klinkenbuchsen. Regler dienen zur Pegelanpassung: eingangsseitig haben wir einen Vorverstärker und ausgangssetig einen Abschwächer. Overload-LEDs an beiden Kanälen helfen beim Einpegeln. Mit einem Jumper kannst du ein Soft-Clipping aktivieren, wenn leichte Verzerrung gewünscht ist.

Das Sewastopol kann für verschiedene Funktionen genutzt werden:
Audio-Interface: Export-Sektion sendet Eurorack-Signale an deine Studioumgebung und dient als Out. Import ist die Eingangs-Sektion zum Einspeisen externer Signale ins Modularsystem. Beide Kanäle haben Regler zur Pegelanpassung und "studioseitig" große Klinken.

Effekt-Adapter: Export dient als Effekt-Send mit Abschwächer und Import als Effekt-Return mit Vorverstärker.

Envelope Follower: Sauber arbeitende Einheit, die entsprechend der Lautstärke eines Signals eine CV ausgibt. Zwei wählbare Geschwindigkeitsbereiche - schnell für Transienten und langsam für sanftere Amplitudenbewegungen. Zusätzlich erlaubt der "Env. Release"-Regler das Anpassen des Ausklingens; nützlich bei perkussiven Klängen. Weiterhin gibt es mit dem "Low End Cut" ein Hochpassfilter mit schaltbaren Eckfrequenzen (33Hz 3kHz, Aus), zum Entfernen störender, energiereicher tiefer Frequenzen und für bessere Erkennung leiser perkussiver Klänge oder eines Mixes.
Der im Modul eingesetzte, neuartige Peak Detector hält seinen Ausgangspannung solange, bis eine nachfolgende Wellenform ankommt. Dies äußert sich in einer stabilen Ausgangsspannung, die bei Signalen mit konstanter Amplitude keine Welligkeit aufweist.
Der Follower hat einen eigenen Eingang, auf den der Import-Ausgang normalisiert ist. Eine LED zeigt, ob die Follower-Spannung unter oder über +8V liegt.

Komparator: Vergleicht den Eingangspegel mit dem einstellbaren Schwellwert (Threshold) und gibt bei Überschreitung je ein Gate und einen Trigger aus. LEDs zeigen Aktivität an.
Um willkürliches schnelles Schalten bei Signalen, die sehr nahe am Threshold fluktuieren, zu vermeiden, hat der Komparator des Sewastopol eine schaltbare Hysterese. Diese aktiviert leicht unterschiedliche Threshold-Werte für steigende und fallende Spannungen.
Der Komparator hat einen Eingang, auf den der Ausgang des Envelope Followers normalisiert ist.

Sonstiges

XAOC benennt seine Produkte nach Städten und Orten des ehemaligen Ostblocks. Sewastopol ist die größte Stadt der Krim-Halbinsel, neuerdings wieder russisches Territorium.

Anschlüsse

Export: Eingang (3,5mm) und Ausgang/FX Send (6,35mm)
Import: Eingang/FX Return (6,35mm) und Eingang (3,5mm)
Follower-Eingang, Komparator-Eingang
Envelope-Ausgang, Gate-Ausgang, Trigger-Ausgang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 8TE breit, Skiff-kompatible 25mm tief
Stromverbrauch 25mA. Modul ist gegen Verpolung geschützt.

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
XAsew
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 142,86 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 170,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1