Audio Damage - EOS

Overview

Room simulation in studio quality – EOS features two superbly sounding, flexibly editable reverb algorithms. Plate is perfectly suited for refining drum, percussion and effect sounds as well as the human voice. Superhall delivers subtle and cold to voluminous, softly wafting results. – An excellent choice for giving leads, pads or atmospheres that certain something. Using the freeze function, it is possible to generate huge, endless walls of reverb. In general, EOS can be characterized as a dense sounding effect with high resolution. It is on a par with far more expensive studio processors.

Views

Details

EOS uses 32-bit floating point algorithms to generate reverb effects. The module comes equipped with two inputs and outputs. Therefore, it is not only possible to process mono signals, but stereo material as well. The AD and DA converters work with a resolution of 24 bit and 48 kHz. Two reverb algorithms are available. Plate simulates reverberation plate programs known from classic digital effect processors. Superhall creates wafting, very long reverb tails reminiscent of old ambient tracks.

For editing the algorithms, there are eight potentiometers:

  • Size: Determines the dimensions of the simulated room or reverberation plate.
  • Pre Delay: This parameter sets the time value of the early reflections. The response is somewhat different depending on the mode. With the plate mode active, the first early reflection occurs at the set time. In Superhall mode, the parameter spreads the early reflections.
  • Attack: Defines the presence of the early reflections. With this knob turned completely anti-clockwise, the reflections are more or less equal. At full clockwise position, an exponential decay occurs, with the initial reflection being much louder. This results in a more percussive and rich reverb tail. 
  • Diffusion: Controls the diffusion of the early reflections.
  • Decay: Sets the length of the reverb tail (RT60). At most, a decay time of 45 seconds (Plate) respectively one minute (Superhall) is possible.
  • Modulation: This potentiometer can be used to add subtle delay modulations to the reverb. In other words: It’s a chorus control. Users can vary the sound character from icy and clean to rich and voluminous.
  • Color: With this knob, users can change several equalizer parameters at once. At fully anti-clockwise position, the reverb tail will be very dark and have no high end. At fully clockwise position, it will be very bright and have no low end.
  • Mix: A wet / dry control.

The parameters Attack, Color, Decay, Diffusion and Mix are not only adjustable by hand, but can be modulated via CV inputs as well. A button allows users to switch between Plate and Superhall algorithms. Two other control elements of the same type make it possible to freeze reverb effects momentary or constantly. Thanks to a trigger respectively gate input, this function can be (de)activated via a sequencer as well.

miscellaneous
Turning the Size potentiometer during operation may cause sound artifacts. This is not a defect!
connectors

Two audio inputs and outputs
CV inputs for attack, decay, color, diffusion, pre-delay and mix parameters
Freeze gate and trigger inputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 14 HP wide, 25 mm deep
Power consumption: 125 mA at +12 V and 10 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.3 kg
Article Number
ADM23

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Audio Damage - EOS

Überblick

Raumsimulation in Studioqualität – EOS bietet zwei hervorragend klingende Hallalgorithmen, die sich flexibel editieren lassen. Plate ist perfekt zur Verfeinerung on Drum-, Perkussion- und Effektsounds geeignet. Auch Gesang kann enorm profitieren. Superhall liefert subtil-kühle bis voluminös-wabernde Ergebnisse. – Eine exzellente Wahl, um beispielsweise Leads, Pads oder Atmosphären stimmungsvoll in Szene zu setzen. Per Freeze-Funktion können sich ewig hinziehende Hallwände geschaffen werden. Generell zeichnet sich EOS durch dichten, hochauflösenden Sound aus, wie man ihn sonst nur von teuren Studioprozessoren kennt.

Ansichten

Details

EOS verwendet 32-Bit Floating-Point-Algorithmen, um Halleffekte zu kreieren. Das Modul besitzt jeweils zwei Ein- und Ausgänge, neben Mono- lässt sich also auch Stereomaterial prozessieren. Die verbauten Wandler arbeiten mit einer Auflösung von 24 Bit und 48 kHz. Zwei Hallvarianten stehen bereit. Plate ist Plattenhall-Simulationen klassischer Digitaleffekte nachempfunden. Der Superhall-Algorithmus erzeugt wabernde, sich ewig hinziehende Hallfahnen nach Vorbild alter Ambient-Tracks.

Zur Editierung des EOS stehen acht Potentiometer bereit:

  • Size: Bestimmt die Größe des simulierten Raumes beziehungsweise der Hallplatte.
  • Pre-Delay: Legt den Zeitwert der Erstreflexionen fest. Das genaue Verhalten des Moduls wird durch das gewählte Hallprogramm bestimmt. Im Plate-Betrieb erklingt die erste Reflexion beim eingestellten Zeitwert. Im Superhall-Modus beeinflusst der Parameter die Spreizung der Erstreflexionen.
  • Attack: Bestimmt die Ausformung der Erstreflexionen. Komplett gegen den Uhrzeigersinn gedreht, führt das Potentiometer zu gleichmäßiger Ausprägung. Auf Rechtsanschlag wird ein exponentieller Abklang der Erstreflexionen hörbar.
  • Diffusion: Kontrolliert die Diffusion der Erstreflexionen.
  • Decay: Setzt die Länge der Hallfahne fest. (RT60) Die Maximalwerte liegen bei 45 Sekunden (Plate) beziehungsweise mehr als einer Minute(Superhall).
  • Modulation: Fügt dem Hall subtile Delay-Modulationen hinzu. Mit diesem Parameter lässt sich der Sound von kalt und klar bis warm und voluminös variieren.
  • Color: Dieses Potentiometer kontrolliert mehrere EQ-Parameter. Im Ergebnis lässt sich der Hall dunkler oder heller gestalten. Auf Mittenposition werden keine Frequenzanpassungen vorgenommen.
  • Mix: Dient der Mischung von trockenem und Effektmaterial.

Die Parameter Attack, Color, Decay, Diffusion und Mix sind nicht nur manuell justierbar, sondern können, mittels CV-Eingängen, auch moduliert werden. Die Umschaltung zwischen Plate- und Superhall-Algorithmus erfolgt per Taster. Zwei weitere Bedienelemente gleichen Typs erlauben es dem EOS-Besitzer, Halleffekte kurzzeitig oder dauerhaft einzufrieren. Dank Trigger- beziehungsweise Gate-Eingang kann diese Funktion auch durch zum Beispiel einen Sequenzer (de)aktiviert werden.

Sonstiges
Bei Betätigung des Size-Parameters kann es im laufenden Betrieb zu Soundartefakten kommen. Dies ist kein Defekt!
Anschlüsse

Zwei Audioeingänge und Ausgänge
CV-Eingänge für Attack-, Decay-, Color-, Diffusion-, Pre-Delay- und Mix-Parameter
Freeze-Gate- beziehungsweise Trigger-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 14 Teileinheiten breit, 25 mm tief.
Stromverbrauch: 125 mA auf +12 V und 10 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.3 kg
artikelnr
ADM23

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.