Bastl Instruments - Tea Kick

Overview

Not another clone of a far-east TR bass drum, as one might think, but something entirely different: an electronic hobbyist's true vintage Eastern Bloc design from the times of the communist Chechoslovakia.
It has voltage controllable tuning, adjustable resonance and click as well as a number of parallel audio outputs for a number of drum sounds. Pretty interesting and versatile drum voice with a wide frequency range which can be used as a weird oscillator as well.

Views

Details

Similar to a ping'ed filter also the TeaKick's T-Twin ciruitry works with the frequency (TUNE) and resonance parameters. First one sets the tuning of the emulated membrane and the second one the length of decay. But the parameters interact a little bit - the more resonance you dial in the lower the tuning gets. A resonance range switch can limit resonance from self oscillating. But you may skip the limiter if you want to use the module as a kind of VCO becuase the tune parameter is voltage controllable!
The frequency range of the TeaKick module is pretty big and easily the module can generate everything from bass drums over toms to woodblocks.

Futher sound generator there's a click generator which fires a short click with each trigger, similar to a drum stick hitting the metal hoop of a real drum. The Click's tuning affects the T-Twin membrane's spectrum.

Lastly there's a square output and a weird, bandpass-like intput called WTF (what the fuck?) for connecting other modules. Or just connect both sockets and create wild feedbacks? Why not. Anyway, you can experiment a lot with the TeaKick module.

connectors

Inputs: Trigger, Tune CV, WTF
outputs: click, square, audio output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 5HP wide, 35mm deep
max. power consumption: 15mA @ +12V and 15mA @ -12V

Weight
0.15 kg
Article Number
BAStea
availability ? will be ordered on request
€ 19% VAT excl. €91.60 € 19% VAT incl. €109.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Bastl Instruments - Tea Kick

Überblick

Bitte bestellt direkt hier http://www.bastl-instruments.com

Kein weiterer Klon einer fernöstlichen TR-Bassdrum, wie man denken würde, sondern was ganz anderes: ein altes Ostblockdesign eines Elektronikbastlers aus der Zeit der kommunistischen Tschechoslowakei.
Es hat spannungssteuerbares Tuning, Resonanz, einen regelbaren Click sowie mehrere parallele Audioausgänge für diverse Drumklänge. Alles in allem eine interessante und vielseitige Drum-Stimme mit einem breiten Frequenzspektrum, die auch als schräger Oszillator arbeiten kann.

Ansichten

Details

Ähnlich einem angepingtem Filter arbeitet auch die T-Twin-Schaltung der TeaKick mit den Parametern Frequenz (TUNE) und Resonanz. Ersterer stellt freilich die Stimmug der simulierten Trommel-Membran ein, zweiterer die Länge des Ausklangs. Jedoch interagieren die Parameter etwas, denn je mehr Resonanz man reindreht, desto tiefer wird der Klang. Mit einem Schalter kann man die Resonanz von Selbstoszillation abhalten - oder halt auch nicht, wenn man das Modul als Oszillator verwenden mag, was wegen der Frequenz-Spannungssteuerung möglich ist.
Der Frequenzumfang der TeaKick ist recht groß und das Modul erzeugt mühelos alles von Basstrommeln über Toms zu Woodblocks.

Als weitere Klangerzeuger gibt es einen Click-Generator, der bei jedem Trigger ein kurzes perkussives Signal erzeugt, welches man mit einem Stick vergleichen kann, der auf den Spannring trifft. Die Stimmung des Clicks hat Einfluss auf das Gesamtspektrum der T-Twin-Membran.

Ferner gitb es einen Rechteck-Ausgang und einen obskuren, bandpassartigen Eingang namens WTF (what the fuck?) zum anschließen anderer Module. Oder verbinde beide Buchsen einfach mal miteinander und erzeuge wilde Feedbacks? Wie auch immer, experimentielren kann man mit der TeaKick viel.

Anschlüsse

Eingänge: Trigger, Tune CV, WTF
Ausgänge: Click, Rechteck, Audioausgang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 5 TE breit, 35 mm tief
maximaler Stromverbrauch: 15 mA auf +12 V und 15 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.15 kg
artikelnr
BAStea

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.