Bastl Instruments - Tromsø

Overview

Tromso contains three separately useable circuits: a voltage controlled triangle wave oscillator, a comparator and finally a sample & hold which can be used as a track & hold alternatively.
So far it is a handy small tool but normalizations between the individual sections make it even more interesting because in this case the module is great for analog downsampling of audio signals i.e. as a sample rate reducer.

Views

Details

Once there was an entirely analog downsampler box from Norway called Distortotron, made to imitate and exaggerate the artefacts of old samplers. The Tromsø module is a tribute to this machine which was responsible for the specific sound of some artists from Norwegian town of Tromsø.

VCO: Simple oscillator which generates a triangle wave. It has one CV input which tracks 1V/oct when the attenuator is fully open. A switch alternates between two ranges: LFO (50s - 50Hz) and VCO (15Hz - 45kHz).

Comparator: A signal at the input is compared with the voltage which is either set with the Threshold potentiometer or by a CV plugged into the threshold input. If the input is higher than the threshold then the gate at the comparator's output will go high. If the signal drops blow the threshold, the gate will go low again.
The VCO's triangle output is prepatched to the comparator input so the output is a square wave with the pitch of the VCO. By changing the threshold you can set the pulse width.

The sample & hold has an input for the sample signal, a gate input which determines the moment of sampling and finally an output. The comparator's gate output is pre-patched to the S&H's gate input.
This section has a second mode, track & hold, which will output nothing when the gate is low and will pass the input when the gate is high.

For downsampling effects just keep the normalizations and patch the signal which you would like to process to the S&H's sample input. Play with the Threshold potentiometers and use the T&H mode as well to vary the effect.

connectors

VCO: exponential FM input, triangle output
comparator: Threshold input, signal input, output
S&H: input, gate input, output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 5HP wide, 45mm deep
maximum current draw: 35mA at +12V and 35mA at -12V

Weight
0.1 kg
Article Number
BAStrom

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Bastl Instruments - Tromsø

Überblick

Tromso enthält drei verschiedene, unabhängig nutzbare Schaltungen: einen spannungsgesteuertem Dreieck-Oszillator, einen Komparator und letztlich ein Sample & Hold, welches alternativ als Track & Hold arbeiten kann.
Soweit ist es ein nützliches kleines Werkzeug, doch spannend wird es durch die Normalisierungen zwischen den einzelnen Sektionen, denn dann ist das Modul hervorragend für analoges Downsampling von Audiosignalen, also als Sample Rate Reducer zu gebrauchen.

Ansichten

Details

Eines Tages in den 90ern gab es in Norwegen einen gänzlich analogen Downsampler namens Distortotron, der entwickelt wurde, um Artefakte alter Sampler zu imitieren und mit diesen zu übertreiben. Das Tromsø-Modul is ein Tribut an diese Maschine, die für den spezifischen Klang einiger Künstler aus dem norwegischen Tromsø verantwortlich war.

VCO: Simpler Oszillator, der eine Dreieckswelle generiert. Er hat einen CV-Eingang, der 1 V pro Oktave trackt, wenn der Abschwächer ganz geöffnet ist. Ein Schalter wechselt zwischen zwei Frequenzbereichen: LFO (50 s - 50 Hz) und VCO (15 Hz - 45 kHz).

Komparator: Der Pegel des Signals am Eingang wird mit der Schwell-Spannung verglichen, die entweder der Threshold-Potentiometer oder eine CV am Threshold-Eingang bestimmt. Wenn der Eingang höher ist als die Schwelle so wid das Gate am Ausgang "high", wenn die Spannung unter die Schwelle fällt, wird das Gate wieder "low".
Der Dreieck-Ausgang des VCOs is auf den Eingang des Komparators vorverkabelt, also ist der Ausgang eine Rechteckwelle mit der Frequenz des VCO. Durch ändern der Schwelle kann man die Pulsbreite bestimmen.

Der Sample & Hold hat einen Eingang für das Sample-Signal, einen Gate-Eingang, welcher den Samplingmoment bestimmt und letztlich einen Ausgang. Der Gate-Ausgang des Komparators ist auf den Gate-Eingang des Sample & Holds normalisiert.
Diese Sektion hat einen zweiten Modus, Track & Hold, der nichts ausgibt, wenn das Gate "low" ist und den Eingang durchlässt, wenn das Gate "high" ist.

Für Downsampling-Effekte lasse die Vorverkabelungen wie sie sind und stecke dsa zu bearbeitende Signal in den Sample-Eingang des S&Hs. Spiele mit dem Threshold und nutze auch den T&H-Modus, um das Ergebnis zu variieren.

Anschlüsse

VCO: exponentieller FM-Eingang, Dreieck-Ausgang
Komparator: Threshold-Eingang, Signaleingang, Ausgang
S&H: Eingang, Gate-Eingang, Ausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 5 TE breit, 45 mm tief
maximaler Stromverbrauch: 35 mA auf +12 V und 35 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.1 kg
artikelnr
BAStrom
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar

Regulärer Preis: 130,00 €

Sonderpreis: € exkl. 19% MwSt. 92,44 € inkl. 19% MwSt. 110,00 €

zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag