Birdkids - The Bateleur VCO Mk2

Overview

Birdkids' Bateleur series presents multi-functional modules which contain various components. The Bateleur VCO is more than just an oscillator - alone it's features like Thru-Zero FM and it's massive sound know how to please ears but the module also includes a beautiful four-pole low pass filter. And we all know that a self-oscillating filter produces a sine wave, being perfect for sweetest FM sounds. All components have a meaning and have been chosen wisely to cooperate with each other.

Views

Details

VCO:
Discrete, temperature stable and 100% analog oscillator with a vntage sound so rich and direct that it almost jumps in your face!
Waveform-wise we find the four classics: sine, triangle, sawtooth and pulse. In addition there's a subsocillator output. Of course the pulse width can be modulated, both manually and via the scalable PWM CV input.
The VCO's coarse frequency range is set with the range rotary switch whose action is soft yet very precise. The fine frequency is set +/-7 semitones with the FINE control.
Glide does what you expect it to do - it adds a portamento.
The white highlighted area is the frequency modulation department which of course is a must. It can be selected between normal and Thru-Zero FM. Especiall the latter sounds very rich and beautiful! (nota bene: the FM attenuator turns into a polarizer when Thru-Zero is selected.)

Filter:
The filter's input has been placed directly below the waveform outputs for easy patching the VCO into the -24dB/octave steep low pass filter by using a short patch cord. Soundwise there is absolutely nothing to complain about - this is a fat classic LPF with a lush sound!
It's not a must to use the filter together with the VCO as there are individual inputs and outputs - although you should be aware that the 1V/octave input is always normalized to the cutoff frequency.
Idiosyncratic is the fact that the VCF has no resonance control but a switch only which either chooses 0% resonance or, at ◉ setting, the full self-oscillation. In latter position the filter turns into a great sinewave generator which is perfect as Thru-Zero modulator - and suddenly the steady 1V/octave-to-cutoff normalization makes perfect sense in order to keep frequency ration constant! Brilliant thinking!

The Mk2 version has several improvements:

  • Frequency range swithc has six positions, including a LFO mode with improved fine tuning (+/-2 octaves).
  • Sync mode as thrid FM setting.
  • additional filter mode decoupling the self-oscillation from the 1V/octave input.
  • The filter is stable over a range of seven octaves and closes entirely.
  • oscillator core is compensated over seven octaves and offers a new trimming function.
  • VCA noise floor and bleedthru have been minimized.
  • 10-pin header for connecting to the Birdsnest for polyphonic and internal activation.

miscellaneous

Mr. Schulz' fauna intermezzo: A Bateleur (Terathopius ecaudatus) is a medium-sized eagle from Africa.

connectors

VCO:
inputs: 1V/oct, PWM CV, FM
outputs: sine, triangle, sawtooth, pulse, sub-oscillator

VCF:
input, output, cutoff CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 22HP wide, 38mm deep
power consumption: 100mA @ +12V and 80mA @ -12V

Weight
0.37 kg
Article Number
BKbvco
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €503.36 € 19% VAT incl. €599.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Birdkids - The Bateleur VCO Mk2

Überblick

Die Bateleur-Reihe von Birdkids stellt multifunktionale Module dar, die mehrere individuelle Komponenten beinhalten. Der VCO ist mehr als nur ein Oszillator - schon seine Features wie Thru-Zero-FM und der wuchtige Klang wissen zu gefallen, doch bietet das Modul auch ein köstliches Vierpol-Tiefpassfilter an. Und ein selbstoszillierendes Filter eignet sich perfekt als Sinus-Generator für feinste FM-Sounds, sprich die Komponenten sind passend auf einander ausgewählt worden.

Ansichten

Details

VCO:
Diskreter, temperaturstabilisierter und zu 100% analoger Oszillator, dessen Vintage-Klang einfach nur wahnsinnig direkt und reichhaltig ist und einem geradezu ins Gesicht springt.
Wellenformtechnisch finden wir die vier Klassiker: Sinus, Dreieck, Säge und Puls. Dazu gesellt sich noch ein Suboszillatorausgang. Die Pulsbreite lässt sich freilich auch steuern, sowohl mit dem PW-Poti wie über den abschwächbaren PWM-CV-Eingang.
Der grobe Frequenzbereich des VCOs wird mit dem leicht und doch sauber gehenden Range-Drehschalter ausgewählt und feine Tuningbereich mit dem FINE-Regler genau eingestellt.
Glide macht das was man erwartet - es fügt ein Portamento hinzu.
Die weiß unterlegten Buchsen beherbergen die Abteilung Frequenzmodulation, die natürlich nciht fehlen darf. Es kann zwischen normaler und Thru-Zero-FM umgeschaltet werden. Und speziell die letztere klingt sehr voll und schön! (nota bene: bei Thru-Zero-FM wird der FM-Abschwächer zu einem Polarizer)

Filter:
Direkt unter den Wellenformausgängen wurde der Filtereingang platziert, um mit einem kurzen Kabel direkt den VCO in das -24dB/Oktave steile Tiefpassfilter patchen zu können. Klanglich gibt es nichts auszusetzen - das ist ein schön dicker, klassischer Tiefpass mit lecker Klang.
Das Filter muss nicht zwingend mit dem VCO benutzt werden, sondern auch völlig autark, auch wenn man wissen sollte, daß der 1V/Oktave-Eingang auf die Cutoff-Frequenz normalisiert ist. Eigentümlicherweise hat der VCF keinen Resonanzregler, sondern nur einen Schalter, der zwischen 0% Resonanz und bei Stellung ◉ der vollen Selbstoszillation wählt. In letzterer eignet sich das Filter natürlich perfekt als Sinusoszillator für die Thru-Zero-FM - und die stets normalisierte 1V/Oktave-Leitung ergibt plötzlich Sinn, damit die Frequenzverhältnisse bei FM gewahrt bleiben! Clever!

Die Mk2-Version hat etliche Neuerungen erfahren:

  • Frequenzbereichsumschalter mit sechs Positionen, inklusive LFO-Bereich und erweitertes Fine-Tuning im LFO-Modus (+/-2 Oktaven)
  • Sync-Modus als dritte Stellung bei der FM
  • zusätzlicher Filtermodus bei dem die Selbstoszillation vom 1V/Oktave-Eingang entkoppelt ist
  • Das Filter ist über sieben Oktave nstabil und schließt ganz
  • Oszillatorkern ist über sieben Oktaven kompensiert und bietet eine neues Justierungsverfahren
  • Rauschpegel und Übersprechen im VCA wurde minimiert
  • 10-poliger Anschluss für das Birdsnest für polyphone und interne Ansteuerung

Sonstiges

Des Herrn Schulz Fauna-Intermezzo: Der Bateleur (Terathopius ecaudatus) ist ein afrikanischer Adler, der im Deutschen als Gaukler bekannt ist.

Anschlüsse

VCO:
Eingänge: 1V/Oktave, PWM-CV, FM
Ausgänge: Sinus, Dreieck, Sägezahn, Puls, Suboszillator

VCF:
Eingang, Ausgang, Cutoff CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 22TE breit, 38mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 100mA auf +12V und 80mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.37 kg
artikelnr
BKbvco
Externe Videos
Verfügbarkeit ? kurzfristig verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 503,36 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 599,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1