Buchla 259e Twisted Waveform Generator

Overview

Nearly identical to the original Buchla 259 dual oscillator but with a twist. It differs from the 261e in the timbre section which is not a wave multiplier bu a crazy self-modifying waveshaper that screeches and gnarls...

Details

The 295e is a typical Buchla idea of a dual oscillator containing a modulation oscillator and a complex main oscillator.
The main oscillator (Principal Osc) offers a frequency range of eight octaves and is a dual wavetable oscillator. MORPHing is possbile between two individually selectable waves that are read out simultaneously. TIMBRE selects between the eight banks: 1-5 are pure waves, a-c read out "digital trash" from the oscillator's memory and generate noise signals, very useful for tuned noise and abrasive stuff. Pressing the timbre button longer lets you select between the two morphable waves and select them individually. WARP is a digital waveshaper. The warp and morph parameters are controllable manually and with a voltage, featuring bipolar attenuators at the CV inputs.

The modulation oscillator offers the swichable waveforms triangle, square and sawtooth and has two frequency ranges: low (.25Hz to 64Hz) and high (27.5Hz to 7040Hz). Because of the dual use as LFO or audio VCO it features both types of output sockets. Interesting is the "pitch track" function, which makes it follow the principal VCO's pitch.
One or several parameters of the principal VCO can be modulated by the modulation VCO: pitch, warp or morph. Amount of modulation is controlled by the "modulation index" parameter manually or voltage controlled.

Both VCOs have each a FM input and a bipolar CV input. Hard and soft sync is included as well.

connectors

Modulation OSC: FM in, CV in, two signal outptus (1x banana, 1x Switchcraft Tini-Jax®)
Principal OSC: fm in, CV in, two Tini-Jax®-audio outputs
Modulation index: CV in
Timbre: morph CV in, Warp CV in

dimensions

4U Buchla form factor module, one panel wide (17.8 x 10.8cm or 7" x 4.25")

Weight
0,7 kg
Article Number
BU259e
External Links

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Buchla 259e Twisted Waveform Generator

Überblick

Weiterführung des originalen 259 Dualoszillators. Im Grunde ist er dem 261e sehr ähnlich, allerdings ist die Timbre-Abteilung nicht ein Wavemulitplier, sondern ein verrückter, selbst-modifizierender Waveshaper, der schreit und knurrt.

Details

Nach Buchla-Manier ist das 259e ein Dual-Oszillator mit einem Modulations-VCO und einem komplexen Haupt-VCO.
Der Hauptoszillator (Principal Osc) bietet einen Frequenzumfang von 8 Oktaven und ist ein dualer Wavetable-Oszillator. Zwischen den beiden simultan ausgelesenen Wavetables wird mit MORPH übergeblendet. Mit TIMBRE schaltet man zwischen acht Bänken um: 1-5 sind reine Wavetable-Bänke, a-c liest "digitalen Schrott" aus dem Speicher aus und gibt es als rauschhafte Wellen aus, großartig für digitales, gestimtmes Rauschen und harsche Noise-Klänge. Drückt man dem Timbre-Taster etwas länger, so kann zwischen den beiden morphbarem Wavetables umschalten und diese individuell auswählen. WARP ist ein digitaler Waveshaper. Warp und Morph sind spannungssteuerbar und haben bipolare Abschwächer an den CV-Eingängen.

Der Modulationsoszillator bietet die umschaltbaren Wellenformen Dreieck, Rechteck und Sägezahn, zwei Frequenzbereiche: low (0.25Hz bis 64Hz) und high (27,5Hz bis 7040Hz). Wegen dieser dualen Funktion als LFO oder als Audio-VCO hat der Modulations-VCO zwei verschiedene Typen von Ausgangsbuchsen. Interessant ist die "Pitch Track"-Funktion, bei der er der Tonhöhe des Hauptsozillators folgt.
Er kann den Haupt-VCO in einem oder mehreren Parametern gleichzeitig modulieren: entweder der Tonhöhe (Pitch), Warp oder Morph. Die Modulationsintenität kann über den "Modulation Index"-Parameter manuell wie spannungsgesteuert geregelt werden.

Beide VCOs haben je einen FM-Eingang und einen bipolaren CV-Eingang. Hard- und Softsync ist ebenfalls an Bord.

Anschlüsse

Modulation OSC: FM-Eingang, CV-Eingang, 2 Signalausgänge (1x Banane, 1x Switchcraft Tini-Jax®)
Principal OSC: FM-Eingang, CV-Eingang, zwei Tini-Jax®-Audioausgänge
Modulation Index: CV-Eingang
Timbre: Morph CV-Eingang, Warp CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

4HE Modul mit Buchla-Formfaktor, ein Panel breit (17,8 x 10,8 cm)

Gewicht
0,7 kg
artikelnr
BU259e

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.