Catalyst Audio - Model 106 6-Channel Mixer

Overview

Catalyst Audio’s Model 106 is based on the mixer of Buchla’s 100 series. The module features six input channels with level potentiometers and four (sub) outputs. Thanks to its transistor circuitry and low headroom, the Model 106 has a very distinctive sound. High input levels lead to warm, nonlinear distortion. However, signals are never getting destroyed. Rather, the module adds some beefy analog flavor.

Views

Details

Model 106 comes equipped with six inputs. Each channel features a level potentiometer, high settings lead to nonlinear distortion. On the output side, there are four connectors. In detail, two sub outputs for channel one to three and four to six as well as two main outs with reversed polarity are available.
Hint: With daisy-chaining two channels via the sub-outputs or creating feedback loops, you can push the nonlinear distortion even further. The sound will always stay friendly and musical, though.

miscellaneous
All modules of the Catalyst Audio 100 series were A/B tested with an original 100 series system. The analog circuits feature a discrete, transistor based design. Hand-picked components guarantee high performance, durability and excellent sound. Audio and CV levels have been adjusted to be compatible with the Eurorack standard. Op-amps were used for this task. The components can be removed from the signal flow via jumpers.
connectors

Six audio inputs
Two sub ouputs
Two main outputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 14 HP wide, 45 mm in depth
Power consumption: 30 mA at +12 V and 10 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
CAT106
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €234.45 € 19% VAT incl. €279.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Catalyst Audio - Model 106 6-Channel Mixer

Überblick

Catalyst Audios Model 106 basiert auf dem Mixer der Buchla 100 Serie. Mit sechs pegelbaren Eingängen und insgesamt vier (Sub-)Ausgängen ist das Modul zwar gut ausgestattet, wirkt aber zunächst nicht besonders aufsehenerregend. Dies ändert sich schlagartig, sobald man die Schaltung hört. Im Gegensatz zu vielen modernen Mixern nimmt das Model 106, dank diskretem Transistor-Signalweg mit niedrigem Headroom, schnell Einfluss auf Audiomaterial. Die nichtlinearen Verzerrungen sind warm und kernig, aber keineswegs zerstörerisch. Vielmehr addieren sie eine Portion kräftigen Analogcharme.

Ansichten

Details

Das Model 106 verfügt über sechs Signaleingänge mit Lautstärkereglern. Hohe Pegel ziehen nichtlineare Verzerrungen nach sich. Zur Ausgabe von Audiomaterial stehen vier Buchsen bereit. Im Einzelnen sind jeweils ein Sub-Ausgang für den ersten bis dritten und vierten bis sechsten Kanal sowie zwei Summenabgriffe mit invertierter Polarität vorhanden.
Ein kleiner Tipp: Durch die Verkettung von zwei Kanälen oder Feedback-Schleifen mittels der Sub-Ausgänge kann man die nichtlinearen Verzerrungen weiter voranbringen. Der Sound bleibt aber stets freundlich und musikalisch.

Sonstiges
Alle Module der Catalyst Audio 100er Serie wurden zur Feinabstimmung einem A/B-Vergleich mit den Buchla-Vorbildern unterzogen. Die Module sind vollständig diskret aus handverlesenen Komponenten aufgebaut. Audio- und / oder CV-Pegel wurden bei einigen Schaltungen mittels Operationsverstärkern an den Eurorack-Standard angepasst. Diese zusätzlichen Bauteile lassen sich mit Hilfe von Jumpern aus den Signalwegen entfernen.
Anschlüsse

Sechs Audioeingänge
Zwei Sub-Ausgänge
Zwei Summenausgänge

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 14 TE breit, 45 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 30 mA auf +12 V und 10 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
CAT106
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 234,45 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 279,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1