Catalyst Audio - Model 158 Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generator

Overview

Perhaps the most delicious FM ever! – The Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generator is based on Model 158, a circuit known from the Buchla 100 series. The module features two VCOs with a discrete transistor core design. Their beefy vintage sound is very charming. True to the original, you can crossfade continuously between sine and saw tooth waveforms. The tuning ranges from low frequency to ultrasonic sound. Thanks to two outputs per VCO, it is not only possible to do FM patches, but cross modulation patches as well. The results can sound wet, scratchy or hollow, sometimes even vocal-like.

Views

Details

We have to admit: On paper, the Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generator looks as interesting as stale bread. However, if you hear the module, you’ll fall in love immediately. Its full-bodied, sometimes harsh sound is already impressive in its raw state. Potentiometers can be used to transform sine into saw waves. For playing the circuit, there’s a 1v / octave input per VCO. The pitch tracking isn’t perfect, but much better than with the Buchla original. The irregularities are not negative in any way, even when playing over a range of several octaves. Rather, the pitch deviations contribute to the hearty vintage character of the Dual Sine-Sawtooth generator.

For tuning the oscillators manually, there are two large, very handy potentiometers. That said, it should be noted that you can use either the knobs or the 1 v / octave inputs. – Not both at the same time. A switch decides whether the potentiometers or the connectors are active. For those who do not want to miss out on manual tuning options while using pitch CV signals, we recommend adding a Model 156M CV-Prozessor to the setup. – It is basically a front-end for the Model 158.

Waveforms are emitted via two outputs per VCO. Thanks to the dual concept, audio material can be send to other modules, for instance a filter or wave shaper, and to the exponential FM input of the respectively other oscillator at the same time. This is the ultimate strength of the Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generator, as frequency and cross-modulation patches sound extremely fat. Thanks to attenuators, the strength of FM effects can be adjusted comfortably.

miscellaneous
All modules of the Catalyst Audio 100 series were A/B tested with an original 100 series system. The analog circuits feature a discrete, transistor based design. Hand-picked components guarantee high performance, durability and excellent sound. Audio and CV levels have been adjusted to be compatible with the Eurorack standard. Op-amps were used for this task. The components can be removed from the signal flow via jumpers.
connectors

Per oscillator
1v / octave input
CV input
Two audio outputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 14 HP wide, 45 mm in depth
Power consumption: 30 mA at +12 V and 5 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
CAT158
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €436.13 € 19% VAT incl. €519.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Catalyst Audio - Model 158 Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generator

Überblick

Die vielleicht leckerste FM aller Zeiten! – Der Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generator basiert auf Model 158 aus der Buchla 100er Serie. Das Modul stellt zwei VCOs mit diskretem Transistorkern-Design bereit. Der Grundklang ist kräftig und prägnant. Getreu dem Vorbild kann man stufenlos zwischen Sinus und Sägezahn überblenden. Die Stimmung reicht von Niederfrequenz- bis Ultraschallbereich. Dank zwei Ausgängen je VCO lassen sich neben Frequenz- auch Kreuzmodulationen patchen. Im Ergebnis kann man stark kratzende, nass schmatzende und hohl-vokale Sounds im fliegenden Wechsel erleben.

Ansichten

Details

Zugegeben, beim ersten Blick auf die Feature-Liste wirkt der Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generator nicht besonders aufsehenerregend. Wer das Modul einmal hört, wird sich allerdings sofort verlieben. Der füllige, bisweilen schroffe Grundklang der VCOs ist bereits im Rohzustand beeindruckend. Mittels Potentiometern kann man zwischen Sinus- und Sägezahnwellen überblenden. Zum Spiel stehen 1V/Oktave-Eingänge bereit. Das Pitch-Tracking ist zwar nicht ganz perfekt, aber sehr viel besser als beim Buchla-Original. Die Schwankungen fallen im Betrieb nicht negativ auf, selbst wenn man über mehrere Oktaven spielt. Vielmehr tragen die kleinen Abweichungen zum kernigen Vintage-Charakter des Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generators bei.

Manuelle Stimmungsveränderungen sind dank großer, schön griffiger Potentiometer ebenfalls kein Problem. Aber Achtung: Es können entweder die 1V/Oktav-Eingänge oder die Drehregler genutzt werden. Ein Schalter dient der Auswahl. Wer trotz dem Einsatz von Pitch-CV-Signalen nicht auf manuelle Stimmungsoptionen verzichten möchte, dem sei der Model 156M CV-Prozessor ans Herz gelegt. – Quasi ein Front-End für das Model 158.

Zum Abgriff von Wellenformen stehen gleich zwei Ausgänge pro VCO bereit. Dank dieses dualen Konzeptes kann Audiomaterial einmal an weiterführende Module wie etwa Filter oder Waveshaper gesandt und einmal zur Modulation des jeweils anderen Oszillators genutzt werden. Hier liegt die ultimative Stärke des Dual Sine-Sawtooth Generators, denn die exponentiellen FM-Eingänge mit Abschwächer machen einzigartig fette Frequenz- und Kreuzmodulationen möglich.

Sonstiges
Alle Module der Catalyst Audio 100er Serie wurden zur Feinabstimmung einem A/B-Vergleich mit den Buchla-Vorbildern unterzogen. Die Module sind vollständig diskret aus handverlesenen Komponenten aufgebaut. Audio- und / oder CV-Pegel wurden bei einigen Schaltungen mittels Operationsverstärkern an den Eurorack-Standard angepasst. Diese zusätzlichen Bauteile lassen sich mit Hilfe von Jumpern aus den Signalwegen entfernen.
Anschlüsse

Je Oszillator:
1V/Oktave-Eingang
CV-Eingang
Zwei Audioausgänge

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 14 TE breit, 45 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 30 mA auf +12 V und 5 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
CAT158
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 436,13 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 519,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1