CG Products - XR22 VCO (Finetune)

Overview

Analog oscillator with a very own approach and that is two independent frequency control circuits beetween which the VCO can switch autonomously. This alters both the sound and frequency ratios, created glitches and new wave forms. An AM input is used, depending on a pot's setting, as a extra audio input or a the modulation signal for the awesome ringmodulator.
Difficult to describe but very unique and interesting!

Version with fine tune controls and three frequency ranges.

Views

Details

Fully analog oscillator with an output switchable between sine & triangle and a square output. three selectable frequency ranges (low / mid / high) are available.
The AM input is used for modulating the XR-22's amplitude but it also acceps audio signals e.g. an instrurment and thus can be used as a ring modulator effect unit. The balance control will blend between the external audio signal to the "ring modulated) sine/triangle signal. Just like a classic dry/wet control at effect boxes. With the gain control you can mute the VCO and will listen to the ring modulation only.

So far everything is more or less "normal" but let's proceed to the second special feature: FSK alias Frequency Shift Keying.
The oscillator has two circuits controlling it's frequency: F1 and F2. Both have coarse and fine frequency controls, an adjustable CV input with inverter and a 1V/octave input. This way you can set two different base frequencies, feed the VCO with two different sequences and/or inject two different modulations.
With the FSK switch you can now select between F1 and F2 ... but much more interesting is the switch's lower position: in this one the VCO's square output will switch autonomously between F1 and F2. Even without any modulations this will create ramp waves at the sine/triangle output and pulses at the square output and in combination with the AM feedback and gain control (see above) even more nasty stuff. Alternatively you can use an external logic signal at the FSK input to do the switching!
The switch Σcom -> F2 couples all voltages at F1 and uses them both for F1 and F2 ("com." = common). This will keep frequency rations intact when doing inernal FSK switching. Nice side-effect: now the CV and 1V/oct input if F2 are free and usable for two more modualtions!

Confusing? Yes, it is in the beginning but give it a try and just play and experiment. Help an artist and get youself one!

Weight
0.223 kg
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €264.71 € 19% VAT incl. €315.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

CG Products - XR22 VCO (Finetune)

Überblick

Analoger Oszillator mit einem ganz eigenen Ansatz, nämlich gleich zwei unabhängigen Frequensteuerungen, zwischen denen der VCO auch selber umschalten kann. Das ändert sowohl Klang wie Frequenzverhältnisse, führt zu Glitches und neuen Wellenformen. Ein AM-Eingang dient, je nach Reglerstellung, als zusätzlicher Audioeingang oder als Modulationssignal für den grandiosen Ringmodulator.
Schwierig zu beschreiben, aber sehr interessant und einzigartig!

Version mit Fein-Tune-Reglern und drei Frequenzbereichen.

Ansichten

Details

Vollanaloger Oszillator mit einem zwischen Sinus und Dreieck umschaltbaren Ausgang und einem Rechteckausgang. Drei Frequenzbereiche (Low / Mid / high) stehen zur Auswahl.

Der AM-Eingang dient zur Amplitudenmodulation des VCO, akzeptiert aber auch Audiosignale,z.B. ein Instrument, so daß man den XR-22 als Ringmodulator-Effekt nutzen kann. Der Balance-Regler blendet dabei vom externen Audiosignal zum (ringmodulierten) Sinus/Dreieck-Signal. Wie ein klassicher dry/wet-Regler bei Effektgeräten. Mit dem Gain-Regler blendet man die Grundfrequenz der VCOs aus und hört dann nur die Ringmodulation.



Soweit alles halbwegs normal, doch kommen wir nun zum zweiten Schmankerl: FSK alias Frequency Shift Keying.

Der Oszillator enthält gleich zwei Schaltkreise, die seine Frequenz regeln: F1 und F2. Beide haben Regler für Grob- und Feinstimmung, einen abschwächbaren CV-Eingang mit Inverter und einen 1V/Oktave-Eingang. So kannst du zwei separate Grundfrequenzen einstellen, den VCO mit zwei verschiedenen Sequenzen füttern und/oder zwei verschiedene Modulationen zuführen.
Mit dem FSK-Schalter kann man nun zwischen F1 und F2 umschalten... doch viel interessanter ist die untere Position des Schalters: in dieser vermag der Rechteckausgang des VCO autonom zwischen F1 und F2 umzuschalten. Auch ohne Modulationen ergibt das Ramp-Wellenformen beim Sinus/Dreieck-Ausgang und Pulswellen am Rechteckausgang sowie in Kombination mit AM-Feedback (siehe oben) mehr Schweinereien. Alternativ kann man in dieser Schalterstellung auch ein externes Logiksignal zum Schalten nutzen!

Der Schalter Scom -> F2 koppelt alle Spannungen, die an F1 anliegen und nutzt sie gemeinsam für F1 und F2 ("com" = common = gemeinsam). Dies wahrt das Frequenztracking bei der internen FSK-Umschatung. Schöne Nebeneffekt: jetzt stehen die CV- und 1V/Oktave-Eingänge von F2 für weitere Modulationen frei!


Verwirrend? Ja, ist es anfangs, aber rumexperimentieren hilft. Hilf einem Künstler und hol dir den VCO!

Gewicht
0.223 kg
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 264,71 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 315,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag