Doepfer Dark Energy III

Overview

The Dark Energy III is a compact synthesizer with fully analog signal flow and MIDI / CV interface. The instrument features a classic VCO / VCF / VCA structure plus ADSR envelope and two LFOs. Compared to its predecessor, the stability and frequency range of the oscillator have been optimized. True to the first Dark Energy, there’s now a triangle wave. Other new features include reset inputs for the LFOs and a revised envelope design. Fans of soldering can look forward to access points on the circuit board, which are usable to add lots of sockets and functions.

Views

Details

VCO:
Oscillator with triangle core, tune potentiometer and octave switch (-1 / 0 / +1 octave). The VCO can be played over a range of ten octaves. Furthermore, there is a FM switch with selectable modulation source (LFO1 / off / ADSR). The oscillator generates a pulse wave with variable width. A switch can be used to add saw or triangle waveforms. The pulse wave may be disabled by turning the pulse width control down completely. Pulse width modulation is possible via LFO2 or the ADSR.
While the predecessor’s oscillator needed about 30 minutes of warm-up to maintain tuning stability, the Dark Energy III is immediately ready for use.

VCF:
Analog multimode filter with a slope of -12 dB per octave. You can crossfade from low pass to notch, high pass and band pass. Filter tracking with an intensity of 50% or 100% may be activated via a switch. High resonance values lead to self-oscillation of the filter. The bipolar XFM knob allows for exponential cutoff modulation via LFO1 or the ADSR envelope. Thanks to the audio input, the Dark Energy III can be used as a filter bank.

VCA:
Analog VCA with exponential characteristic. The circuit can be modulated via LFO1 or the ADSR envelope. It is possible to open the VCA manually via a potentiometer. This is useful for using the Dark Energy III as a filter bank or drone generator.

Modulation:
For modulation purposes, there are two LFOs with selectable frequency ranges (up to audio range), selectable waveforms (triangle / off / rectangle) and reset inputs. There is also an ADSR envelope featuring an overhauled circuit design.

MIDI /CV:
The Dark Energy III comes equipped with a MIDI / CV interface, which not only controls the synth internally, but also emits CV and gate signals at dedicated outputs. Thus, it is possible to employ the instrument as a MIDI / CV converter. CV1 outputs pitch signals (1v / octave). CV2 emits pitch-bend voltages. CV3 outputs velocity signals. For CV4, a MIDI CC number can be defined. Programming the MIDI / CV interface is done via a learn function.

DIY:
Expand the synthesizer with the glide option (sold separately) to create portamento effects. For musicians with soldering skills, there are lots of access points on the circuit board. Please note: Modifications like this will void the warranty.

Here are some examples for DIY expansions:

  • Individual outputs for the VCO waveforms (Triangle, saw tooth, pulse wave with variable width)
  • Hard and soft sync inputs
  • Linear FM input
  • VCF outputs for high-pass, band-pass and low-pass
  • ADSR output
  • CV inputs for attack, decay, sustain and release stages
  • LFO outputs (Triangle and square wave)
connectors

MIDI input, USB input
15 V DC input
Four CV and a gate input
Audio input and output
CV inputs for VCO frequency, pulse width and filter frequency
Gate inputs for envelope and LFO reset 1 / LFO reset 2

dimensions

ca. 185 x 145 x 75 mm

Weight
2.0 kg
Article Number
DODARK3
External Links
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €402.52 € 19% VAT incl. €479.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Doepfer Dark Energy III

Überblick

Der Dark Energy III ist ein Kompaktsynthesizer mit vollständig analoger Klangerzeugung und MIDI-CV-Interface. Das Instrument besitzt eine klassische VCO-VCF-VCA-Struktur plus ADSR-Hüllkurve und zwei LFOs. Gegenüber dem Vorgänger wurden Stabilität und Frequenzbereich des Oszillators optimiert. Außerdem gibt es, getreu dem ersten Dark Energy, wieder eine Dreieckwelle. Reset-Eingänge für die LFOs und ein überarbeitetes Hüllkurvendesign sind weitere Neuerungen. Bastler dürfen sich über Zugangspunkte auf der Platine freuen, mit denen man den Dark Energy III um vielerlei Buchsen und Funktionen erweitern kann.

Ansichten

Details

VCO:
Oszillator mit Dreieck-Kern, manueller Tune-Regelung und Oktavschalter (-1 / 0 / +1 Oktave). Der Spielbereich umfasst zehn Oktaven. FM-Regler mit wählbarer Modulationsquelle (LFO1 / aus / ADSR). Der Oszillator generiert eine Rechteckwelle mit variabler Breite. Per Schalter kann Sägezahn oder Dreieck hinzugefügt werden. Das Rechteck lässt sich abschalten, indem man die manuelle Pulsbreitenregelung auf Linksanschlag dreht. Pulsbreiten-Modulationen sind per LFO2 oder ADSR möglich.
Während der Oszillator des Vorgängers eine Aufwärmphase von circa 30 Minuten brauchte, um stimmstabil zu arbeiten, ist der VCO des Dark Energy III sofort einsatzbereit.

VCF:
Analoges Multimodefilter mit einer Flankensteilheit von -12 dB pro Oktave. Der Filtertyp kann stufenlos von Tiefpass über Kerbe und Hochpass zu Bandpass überblendet werden. Filtertracking mit einer Intensität von 50% oder 100% ist zuschaltbar. Die Resonanz reicht bis zur Selbstoszillation. Der bipolare XFM-Regler erlaubt exponentielle Cutoff-Modulationen per LFO1 oder ADSR-Hüllkurve. Dank Audioeingang lässt sich der Dark Energy III als Filterbank verwenden.

VCA:
Analoger VCA mit exponentieller Charakteristik. Modulation durch LFO1 oder die ADSR. Der Amplitudenregler wird benutzt, um den VCA manuell zu öffnen. – Praktisch, wenn du den Dark Energy III zum Filtern von externen Audiosignalen oder als Drone-Generator nutzen willst.

Modulation:
Für Modulationszwecke gibt es zwei LFOs mit jeweils drei wählbaren Frequenzbereichen (bis in Audiogeschwindigkeit), wählbaren Wellenformen (Dreieck / aus / Rechteck) und Reset-Eingängen. Des Weiteren ist eine ADSR-Hüllkurve mit neuem Schaltungsdesign an Bord.

MIDI / CV:
Der Dark Energy III verfügt über ein MIDI-/ CV-Interface, das den Synth nicht nur intern ansteuert, sondern die CV- und Gate-Signale auch an 3,5mm-Buchsen ausgibt. Somit ist es möglich, den Synth als MIDI-/ CV-Konverter zu nutzen. CV1 gibt Noteninformationen aus (1V/Oktave), CV2 die Pitchbend-Information, CV3 Pegel-/ Anschlagsstärke und CV4 einen frei bestimmbaren MIDI-Controller. Die Programmierung erfolgt per Learn-Taster.

DIY:
Erweitere den Synth mit der separat erhältlichen Glide-Option, um Portamento-Effekte zu erzeugen. Für Bastler gibt es Zugangspunkte auf der Platine, mit denen sich mannigfaltige Funktionen nachrüsten lassen. Aber Achtung: Bei derartigen Modifikationen verfällt die Garantie!

Hier einige Beispiele für DIY-Erweiterungen:

  • Einzelausgänge für VCO-Wellenformen (Dreieck, Sägezahn, variabel breite Pulswelle)
  • Hard- und Soft-Sync-Eingänge
  • Linearer FM-Eingang
  • VCF-Ausgänge für Hoch-, Band- und Tiefpass
  • ADSR-Ausgang
  • CV-Eingänge für Attack-, Decay-, Sustain- und Release-Phasen.
  • LFO-Ausgänge (Dreieck und Rechteck)
Anschlüsse

MIDI-Eingang, USB-Eingang
15 V DC-Eingang
Vier CV- und ein Gate-Ausgang (hinten am Gerät)
Audioeingang und Ausgang
CV-Eingänge für VCO-Frequenz, Pulsweite, Filterfrequenz
Gate-Eingänge für Hüllkurve und LFO Reset 1 / LFO Reset 2

Abmessungen

ca. 185 x 145 x 75 mm

Gewicht
2.0 kg
artikelnr
DODARK3
Externe Links
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 402,52 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 479,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1