Electro-Acoustic Research - Model 41

Overview

Model 41 is the result of the collaboration between Peter Grenader and Nyle Steiner. The module is a revision of the classic Steiner Parker filter known from the SynthaSystem, including lots of new features. It was supposed to be part of the Plan B portfolio. Unfortunately, the Steiner 4P wasn’t released. – Until now! We are very curious to hear what this filter can do.

Views

Details

The Model 41 takes advantage of the unique Steiner core convention of assimilating it’s three output modes by injecting the incoming signal into three different nodes of the circuit. The three inputs, Lowpass, Bandpass and Highpass, each provide an input attenuator.

By combining the Lowpass and Highpass attenuators to an equal audio level while keeping the Bandpass level fully closed, you can effectively manifest a forth output mode: Band-Reject or Notch Filter.

The filter features both bipolar and unipolar frequency modulation inputs, each with attenuator.

When the M41 is configured as a sound source, an input signal is not required - the user will simply patch the output to it’s destination and turn up the Resonance until the desired output waveshape is achieved.

If the resonance is set higher than 3 o’clock, oscillation occurs and it generates a sine wave. If the Resonance knob is set to max, it results in a clipped sine.    

Furthermore, the Resonance can be voltage controlled thanks to the Res VC input and its dedicated attenuator.

Additionally the module provides push buttons for advanced operation. There are three unique functions on the M41 that have never been implemented into any filter, which dramatically increase it’s timbral footprint: IFM Sync, HyperQ and a variatible Sprectral Energy Distribution manual control.

If the IFM Sync button is pushed, an internal patch has been engaged to the frequency control circuit which manifests quantized harmonic resolution. It introduces a secondary resonant frequency harmonically constituent to the first. This dramatically affects the output timbre.

The Hyper Q distortion mode is similar to IFM Sync, but applied to the Resonance control circuit. If the ingoing waveform is negative, the polarity buttons should be pushed. If you are not sure of the phase of the waveform- try both settings of the Polarity push button and it will become immediately obvious which is required.

The M41 has been equipped with a variable Spectral Energy Distribution (SED) control which lessens the intensity of the filtering without the phase problems associated with a standard dry/wet crossfader. To engage, press the Enable push button and set your desired SED level with its pot.

connectors
Audio input and output
Two Frequency VC inputs
Resonance VC input
dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 14 HP wide, skiff-friendly
Power consumption: 60 mA at +12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
EARm41
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €200.00 € 19% VAT incl. €238.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Electro-Acoustic Research - Model 41

Überblick

Das Model 41 ist einer Kollaboration zwischen Peter Grenader und Nyle Steiner entsprungen. Es handelt sich um eine Revision des klassischen Steiner-Parker-Filters aus dem SynthaSystem, die eigentlich schon vor einigen Jahren im Portfolio von Plan B erscheinen sollte. – Mit allerhand cooler, neuer Features. Leider ist es nicht zur Veröffentlichung gekommen. – Bis jetzt! Wir sind schon sehr gespannt, was dieses Filter so draufhat.

Ansichten

Details

Das Model 41 nutzt die einzigartige Steiner Kernarchitektur und kombiniert seine drei Ausgangsmodi, indem es das eingehende Signal in drei verschiedene Knoten der Schaltung einspeist. Die drei Eingänge Tiefpass, Bandpass und Hochpass bieten jeweils ein Dämpfungsglied.

Durch die Kombination der Tiefpass- und Hochpassdämpfungsglieder zu einem gleichwertigen Audiopegel bei vollständig geschlossenem Bandpasspegel kann man einen vierten Ausgangsmodus effektiv realisieren: Bandabweisungs- oder Notch-Filter.

Der Filter verfügt sowohl über bipolare als auch unipolare Frequenzmodulationseingänge, jeweils mit Dämpfungsglied.

Wenn das M41 als Klangquelle konfiguriert ist, ist kein Eingangssignal erforderlich - der Benutzer verbindet einfach den Ausgang mit seinem Ziel und dreht die Resonanz hoch, bis die gewünschte Ausgangswellenform erreicht ist.

Wenn die Resonanz höher als 3 Uhr eingestellt ist, tritt eine Schwingung auf und erzeugt eine Sinuswelle. Wenn der Resonanzregler auf Maximum eingestellt ist, führt dies zu einem geclippten Sinus.   

Darüber hinaus kann die Resonanz dank des Res VC-Eingangs und des zugehörigen Dämpfungsglieds spannungsgesteuert werden.

Zusätzlich verfügt das Modul über Taster für den erweiterten Funktionsumfang. Es gibt drei einzigartige Funktionen, die noch nie in einem Filter implementiert wurden, was die Klangvielfalt drastisch erhöht: IFM Sync, HyperQ und eine variable manuelle Steuerung der Spektralen Energieverteilung.

Wenn man den IFM Sync-Taster drückt, wird ein interner Patch in den Frequenzsteuerkreis eingefügt, der die quantisierte harmonische Auflösung zum Ausdruck bringt. Es wird eine sekundäre Resonanzfrequenz eingeführt, die harmonisch mit der ersten zusammenhängt. Dies wirkt sich dramatisch auf das Timbre der Ausgabe aus.

Der Hyper Q Verzerrungsmodus ist ähnlich wie IFM Sync, wird aber auf den Resonanzsteuerkreis angewendet. Wenn die eingehende Wellenform negativ ist, sollte der Polaritätstaster gedrückt werden. Wenn man nicht sicher ist, wie die Phase der Wellenform aussieht, kann man beide Einstellungen des Polaritätstasters ausprobieren, und es wird sofort deutlich, welche Einstellung erforderlich ist.

Das M41 ist mit einer variablen Spectral Energy Distribution (SED)-Steuerung ausgestattet, die die Intensität der Filterung reduzieren kann, ohne dabei die Phasenprobleme eines Standard Dry/Wet Crossfaders zu verursachen. Die Spectral Energy Distribution lässt sich dank dem Enable-Taster aktivieren und mit dem SED Potentiometer auf den gewünschten Pegel einstellen.

Anschlüsse
Audioeingang und -ausgang
Zwei Frequenz-VC-Eingänge
Resonanz VC-Eingang
Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 14 TE breit, kompatibel zu Skiff-Gehäusen
Stromverbrauch: 60 mA auf +12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
EARm41
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 200,00 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 238,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1