Endorphin.es - Grand Terminal

Overview

The Grand Terminal is a digital multipurpose module for ambitious sound designers. It contains two function generators, which can be used as envelopes, LFOs or VCOs, two filter channels with eight modes of operation, mixing and routing options as well as a multi effects unit. Considering this feature set, it is safe to say that the Grand Terminal is more than the sum of its parts. It is a complete synthesizer voice, which can also be used as a dual mono or stereo filter plus reverb, delay respectively chorus processor and modulators. Despite its high complexity, handling the unit is easy as pie. The sound is crystal clear and, thanks to all the filter types and effect algorithms, very versatile. Simply put it in your modular and take off!

Details

The Grand Terminal is based on an ARM M4 DSP. Audio signals are processed with a resolution of 16 Bit and 48 kHz. Just like its predecessor, simply called Terminal, the enhanced Grand version utilizes terms familiar from air transportation to explain componentry and functions.

The filter channels, referred to as Gate A and B, can be used in parallel or serial. Additionally, there is a link mode for treating stereo material. With this option active, the knobs of Gate A are used to control both filter cannels.

The Grand Terminal’s signal flow brings channel strips of mixing consoles to mind. Right behind the inputs, there are gain sections with trim potentiometers, which can be used to calibrate the circuit to work with other modules, CD and MP3 players or professional studio equipment. Signals that exceed the headroom are soft clipped to prevent unwanted distortion. The connector of Gate A is normalized to Gate B for easy parallel processing.

Following the gain sections, the filters offer an assortment of eight filter types. Each can be edited in two parameters called X and Y. Thanks to CV inputs, modulations are possible as well. In detail, the following filter types and parameters are included in the Grand Terminal:

  • Transistor Ladder Filter: A -24 dB per octave low-pass filter, modeled after Moog's Minimoog. (X: Cutoff / Y: Resonance)
  • Diode Ladder Filter: A -18 dB per octave low-pass filter inspired by Rolands TB-303 and the EMS Synthi A. (X: Cutoff / Y: Resonance)
  • Vactrol Lo-Pass Gate: Think Buchla -12 dB per octave low-pass gate, but with added control over its decay time. Values from 120 milliseconds to four seconds are possible. (X: Cutoff / Y: Decay)
  • Resonant Vactrol Lo-Pass Gate: A variation of the low-pass gate described above. This version comes without an editable decay parameter. Instead, it features adjustable resonance. (X: Cutoff / Y: Resonance)
  • State Variable Low-Pass Filter: This -12 dB per octave low-pass filter sounds like a mixture of Oberheim SEM and Korg MS-20. (X: Cutoff / Y: Resonance)
  • State Variable High-Pass Filter: Similar to the above mentioned low-pass, but with high-pass characteristic. (X: Cutoff / Y: Resonance)
  • State Variable Band-Pass Filter: Similar to the above mentioned low-pass, but with band-pass characteristic. (X: Cutoff / Y: Resonance)
  • Comb Filter: A comb filter for creating phaser and flanger alike effects. (X: Cutoff / Y: Resonance)

After passing the filters, audio material travels through pan- and volume sections. These stages are adjustable with the X and Y knobs as well. The user can switch between filter and mixing parameters by pressing the filter buttons for more than one second. High volume adjustments, starting at about 70 percent of the correspondent knob’s range, add distortion to sounds.

The Grand Terminal’s multi effects processor comprises eight algorithms, in detail four reverbs, three delays and a chorus. Each program can be edited in two parameters, using the “Cabin Fever” potentiometer. Switching between the two parameters is done by pressing the Tap button for about one second. Furthermore, this control element can be employed to set a clock for delay algorithms. With the Spring reverb program active, the user is able to “pluck” the virtual springs. The “Cabin Pressure” knob adjusts the mixture of dry and wet audio material. Two control voltage inputs allow modulations and other manipulations of the “Fever” and “Pressure” parameters, depending on the selected algorithm. In detail, the effects unit offers the following programs and parameters:

  • Hall reverb (Parameters: Decay / Frequency of the included high-pass filter.)
  • Shimmer reverb (Parameters: Decay / Mixture of pitch-shifter and reverb signals.)
  • Room reverb (Parameters: Decay / Stereo spread)
  • Spring reverb (Parameters: Decay / Decay of spring excitement resulting from using the Tap button or CV input.)
  • Ping-Pong delay (Parameters: Feedback / Divider for the delay’s frequency, which was entered via Tap button or incoming CV clock before.)
  • Tape delay (Parameters: Tape speed / Divider for the delay’s frequency, which was entered via Tap button or incoming CV clock before.)
  • Chorus (Parameters: LFO speed / Modulation depth)

Behind the multi effects processor, there is a final volume control, followed by mono and stereo outputs to tap off audio material.

The function generators of the Grand Terminal, Airplane A and B, are usable as AD or A(S)R envelopes. Attack and decay / release can be edited in both their length (one millisecond to ten seconds) and curve shape (exponential to linear to logarithmic). Using the Airplane’s control voltage inputs, it is also possible to modulate one or both values of each envelope stage. The curve potentiometers then work as attenuators. Which parameters are influenced can be chosen via jumpers on the back of the module. Besides unipolar and bipolar CV outputs, the Airplanes also feature end of stage connectors. They emit a trigger signal each time the take off (attack) and / or landing phase (decay / release) is completed. Again, jumpers on the back of the module set the exact mode of operation.
Alternatively to utilizing the function generators as envelopes, they can be employed as LFOs respectively band-limited VCOs. In this mode, the attack and decay parameters set the shape of the waveform. Using the key in connector, it is possible to play the Airplanes correctly across 6.5 octaves.

Handling the Grand Terminal is a breeze. However, if the user does get lost at some point, he / she can press a key combination to reset the module.

For firmware updates, Endorphin.es placed an USB port on the back of the Grand Terminal.

miscellaneous
The Grand Terminal can be expanded using the Gateway. It relocates all functions otherwise only ediable via jumpers to the front of your modular system.
connectors

Per function generator: Gate input, 1V/octave input, two CV inputs for time values and or curves, trigger output, unipolar and bipolar cv output
Per filter: Audio input, audio output, CV inputs for X and Y parameters
Effects processor: Two CV inputs for effect type and parameter
Mono and stereo audio outputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 26HP wide, 26mm deep

Weight
0.25 kg
Article Number
ENDgtm
External Videos
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €546.22 € 19% VAT incl. €650.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Endorphin.es - Grand Terminal

Überblick

Das Grand Terminal ist ein digitales Mehrzweck-Modul für ambitionierte Sounddesigner. Es besteht aus zwei Funktionsgeneratoren, die als Hüllkurven, LFOs oder VCOs verwendet werden können, zwei Filterkanälen mit jeweils acht Filtertypen, Mix- und Routing-Funktionen sowie einem Multieffekt. - Im Prinzip handelt es sich also um eine komplette Synthesizer-Stimme, die auch als Dual-Mono- beziehungsweise Stereo-Filterbank mit Hall-, Echo- oder Chorus-Prozessor und Modulatoren eingesetzt werden kann. Trotz der vergleichsweise hohen Komplexität lässt sich das Grand Terminal leicht handhaben. Klanglich verleugnet die Baugruppe ihren digitalen Kern nicht. - Gut so, denn der saubere, dank verschiedener Filtertypen und Effekt-Algorithmen sehr vielseitige Sound regt immer wieder zu neuen Experimenten an. Einfach ins Modular einbauen und abheben!

Ansichten

Details

Das Grand Terminal basiert auf einem ARM M4 DSP-Prozessor. Audiosignale werden mit einer Auflösung von 16 Bit und 48 kHz verarbeitet. Genau wie der Vorgänger, einfach Terminal genannt, nutzt die stark erweiterte Grand-Version vielerlei Begriffe aus dem Luftverkehr, um Baugruppen und Abläufe zu erklären.

Die Filterkanäle des Grand Terminals, Gate A und B genannt, lassen ich parallel oder seriell verschalten. Ergänzend gibt es einen Link-Modus für die Bearbeitung von Stereomaterial, mit dessen Hilfe man beide Filter allein durch die Bedienelemente von Gate A editieren kann. - Damit ist das Modul nicht nur für Studiobetrieb und Live-Sets, sondern auch DJ-Anwendungen höchst interessant.

Der Signalfluss des Grand Terminals erinnert an Kanalzüge eines Mischpultes. Hinter den Eingängen stehen Pegelregelungen, die via Trim-Potentiometern justiert werden können. Dank dieser Stufen lässt sich das Modul nicht nur optimal auf Signale anderer Eurorack-Schaltungen, sondern auch auf Audiomaterial von etwa CD-Playern oder professioneller Studiotechnik eichen. Eine Soft-Clipping-Stufe beugt Übersteuerungen vor. Die Buchse von Gate A ist auf den zweiten Eingang normalisiert, um parallele Signalbearbeitungen zu erleichtern.
Nach den Pegelsektionen folgen die Filter. Pro Kanal kann einer von acht Betriebsmodi ausgewählt werden, die Umschaltung geschieht mittels Tastern. Jede Filterart lässt sich in zwei Parametern (X und Y) editieren. Neben Drehreglern stehen auch CV-Eingänge für beide Stellgrößen bereit. Im Einzelnen sind folgende Filtermodelle und Parameter im Grand Terminal enthalten:

  • Transistor Ladder Filter: Ein Tiefpass nach Moog-Vorbild. Die Flankensteilheit beträgt -24 dB pro Oktave. (X: Grenzfrequenz / Y: Resonanz)
  • Diode Ladder Filter: Ein Tiefpass nach Art von Rolands TB-303 und dem EMS Synthi A. Die Flankensteilheit liegt bei -18 dB pro Oktave. (X: Grenzfrequenz / Y: Resonanz)
  • Vactrol Lo-Pass Gate: Ein Lowpass-Gate in Buchla-Manier. Entgegen dem Vorbild lässt sich der Abklang editieren, er kann zwischen 120 Millisekunden und vier Sekunden betragen. Die Flankensteilheit beträgt -12 dB pro Oktave. (X: Grenzfrequenz / Y: Abklang)
  • Resonant Vactrol Lo-Pass Gate: Eine Variation des oben beschriebenen Lowpass-Gates. Die Abklang-Zeit ist hier fix, dafür gibt es einen Resonanz-Parameter. (X: Grenzfrequenz / Y: Resonanz)
  • State Variable Low-Pass Filter: Dieser Tiefpass liegt klanglich irgendwo zwischen Oberheim SEM und Korg MS-20. Die Flankensteilheit beträgt -12 dB pro Oktave. (X: Grenzfrequenz / Y: Resonanz)
  • State Variable High-Pass Filter: Wie Low-Pass-Version, allerdings mit Hochpass-Charakteristik.
  • State Variable Band-Pass Filter: Wie Low-Pass-Version, allerdings mit Bandpass-Charakteristik.
  • Comb Filter: Ein Kammfilter, mit dem sich Soundeffekte nach Vorbild eines Phasers oder Flangers bewerkstelligen lassen. (X: Grenzfrequenz / Y: Resonanz)

Nach den Filtern stehen Panorama- und Lautstärke-Sektionen im Signalfluss, sie lassen sich erneut via X- und Y-Reglern beeinflussen. Zur Umschaltung zwischen Filter- und Mix-Parametersätzen genügt ein langer Druck auf die Taster zur Filterauswahl. Hohe Lautstärkeeinstellungen (ab circa 70 Prozent des Regelweges) heben neben dem Ausgangs- auch den Eingangspegel an, um Verzerrungen zu erzeugen.

Der Multieffekt des Grand Terminals bietet acht Algorithmen, sie teilen sich in Hall-, Echo- und Chorus-Programme auf. Jede Variante kann mit Hilfe des „Cabin Fever“-Potis in zwei Parametern editiert werden. Zur Umschaltung zwischen den Stellgrößen einfach den nebenliegenden Tap-Taster mehr als eine Sekunde drücken. Ansonsten dient der Knopf für schnelle Zeit-Einstellungen der Echo-Effekte. Im Federhall-Programm kann man mit dem Bedienelement die virtuellen Hall-Federn anstoßen. - Klingt nicht realistisch, aber ziemlich cool. Per „Cabin Pressure“-Regler lässt sich das Mischverhältnis von Roh- und Effekt-Material regulieren. Zwei CV-Eingänge erlauben Modulationen oder anderweitige Beeinflussungen der Fever- und Pressure-Stellgrößen. Im Detail sind folgende Algorithmen und Parameter im Effekt-Block des Grand Terminals enthalten:

  • Hall Reverb (Parameter: Abklang / Hochpassfilter)
  • Shimmer Reverb (Parameter: Abklang / Mischung von Pitch-Shifter und Hall.)
  • Room Reverb (Parameter: Abklang / Stereobreite)
  • Spring Reverb (Parameter: Abklang / Ausklang der Hall-Federn, wenn sie per Tap-Taster oder CV-Weg angestoßen werden.)
  • Ping-Pong Delay (Parameter: Feedback / Teiler, mit dem die per Tap-Taster oder CV-Eingang vorgegebene Clock bearbeitet wird.)
  • Tape Delay (Parameter: Bandgeschwindigkeit / Teiler, mit dem die per Tap-Taster oder CV-Eingang vorgegebene Clock bearbeitet wird.)
  • Chorus (Parameter: LFO-Geschwindigkeit / Modulationstiefe)

Zur Ausgabe von Signalen bringt das Grand Terminal eine Mono- und eine Stereobuchse mit, per gemeinsamem Lautstärke-Potentiometer lässt sich der Ausgangspegel variieren.

Die Funktionsgeneratoren des Grand Terminals, Airplane A und B genannt, können als AD- oder A(S)R-Hüllkurven verwendet werden. Neben den Zeitwerten (eine Millisekunde bis zehn Sekunden) lassen sich auch die Kurven von Attack und Decay / Release justieren. Genauer sind Formanpassungen von exponentiell über linear bis hin zu logarithmisch möglich. Per CV-Eingängen lassen sich auch Modulationen von Zeit und / oder Kurve bewerkstelligen. Die Kurven-Potis dienen hierbei als Abschwächer. Welche Stellgrößen beeinflusst werden, entscheiden Potentiometer auf der Rückseite des Moduls. Neben unipolaren und bipolaren CV-Ausgängen haben die „Flugzeuge“ End-of-Stage-Buchsen an Bord. Sie geben ein Trigger-Signal aus, wenn Take Off- (Attack) und / oder Landing-Phase (Decay / Release) vollständig ausgeführt worden sind. Die genaue Funktionsweise wird erneut via Jumpern geregelt.
Alternativ zum Hüllkurven-Betrieb sind die Funktionsgeneratoren auch als LFOs oder bandlimitierte Oszillatoren nutzbar. Attack- und Decay-Regler bestimmen hierbei aufsteigende und absteigende Flanke der entstehenden Wellenform. Per Key-In lassen sich die „Flugzeuge“ über 6,5 Oktaven Umfang korrekt spielen.

Die Bedienung des Grand Terminals geht, wie eingangs schon erwähnt, leicht von der Hand. Hat man sich trotzdem mal verheddert, hilft die Reset-Funktion schnell weiter. Für Firmware-Updates wurde dem Modul eine rückseitig angebrachte USB-Buchse spendiert.

Sonstiges
Das Grand Terminal lässt sich mit dem Gateway erweitern. Der Expander verlegt alle Funktionen, die sonst nur per Jumper zugänglich sind, an die an die Front des Modular-Systems.
Anschlüsse

Je Funktionsgenerator: Gate-Eingang, 1V/Oktave-Eingang, zwei CV Eingänge für Zeitwerte und / oder Kurvenformen, Trigger-Ausgang, unipolarer und bipolarer CV-Ausgang
Je Filter: Audioeingang, Audioausgang, CV-Eingänge für X- und Y-Parameter
Effekt-Prozessor: Zwei CV-Eingänge für Algorithmus-Auswahl und Parameter
Mono- und Stereo-Audioausgänge

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 26TE breit, 26mm tief

Gewicht
0.25 kg
artikelnr
ENDgtm
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 546,22 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 650,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1