Eowave - Ribbon 2

Overview

Ribbon 2 is not only a USB-MIDI and CV / gate controller, but a standalone instrument with 12-bit sound engine as well. It can be played via a pressure sensitive position sensor with a length of 50 centimeters. For modulation purposes, there is a second, considerably smaller touch pad. It is pressure sensitive as well. The control elements and the digital synthesizer engine are editable via a software application. It can be downloaded for free and runs on Windows, OSX, Linux as well as iOS. 16 synthesizer and controller configurations are storable inside the Ribbon 2. Two buttons allow users to switch between presets on the fly.

Views

Details

Ribbon 2 features a pressure sensitive position sensor with a length of 50 centimeters for playing notes. Modulations can be added via a second, considerably smaller touch panel, the so-called tactile pad. It is pressure sensitive as well. Both control elements can be edited via software. For instance, it is possible to alter their sensitivity. The position sensitive sensor’s pitch linearity can be inverted. This feature allows musicians to play the instrument with the tactile pad on the left or right side. The position sensitive sensor can cover a range of four or twelve octaves. The root note is definable by the user. Pitch changes can be done continuously or quantized to semitones.

The Ribbon’s 12-bit synthesizer offers not only standard waveforms and noise, but simple additive, granular and bell algorithms as well. Additionally, there are AM and FM options, which can be controlled via the tactile pad. Furthermore, the synth engine features bit reduction and delay effects. Audio material is emitted via a 3.5 mm TRS socket.

In controller mode, the Ribbon 2 uses the TRS connector as a two-channel CV output:

  • Channel 1: Emits pitch CV signals (1v per octave. Range: 0 V to 5 V)
  • Channel 2: Emits CV signals based on the pressure sensitivity of either the position sensor or the tactile pad.

Besides control voltages, the Ribbon 2 also generates MIDI data, which is transmitted via USB. MIDI channel and CC numbers can be set by the user. The USB connector is also used for feeding power to the controller. (A power supply unit is not included.)

For configuring the control elements and the synthesizer engine, Eowave developed an editor based on the Max Runtime application by Cycling74. It can be downloaded for free and runs on Windows, OSX, Linux as well as iOS. 16 synthesizer and controller configurations can be stored. Two buttons allow users to swiftly switch between presets.

connectors

3.5 mm TRS output (audio / dual CV)
USB port

dimensions
63 x 4 x 1,5 centimeters
Weight
0.48 kg
Article Number
EOr2m
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €226.05 € 19% VAT incl. €269.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 2-3 Tage

Eowave - Ribbon 2

Überblick

Der Ribbon 2 ist nicht nur ein USB-MIDI- und CV-/Gate-Controller, sondern kann auch als eigenständiges Instrument mit 12-Bit-Klangerzeugung verwendet werden. Die Benutzeroberfläche setzt sich aus einem druckempfindlichen, 50 Zentimeter messenden Positionssensor zum Spiel von Noten und einem ebenfalls druckempfindlichen Modulationsfeld zusammen. Skalierung und Sensitivität sind, ebenso wie die interne Klangerzeugung, mit Hilfe einer kostenlosen Software für Windows, OSX, Linux und iOS editierbar. Außerdem kann man die Hintergrundbeleuchtung des Plexiglasgehäuses verändern. 16 Presets lassen sich im Ribbon 2 speichern und mittels Tastern abrufen.

Ansichten

Details

Der Ribbon 2 bietet einen 50 Zentimeter langen, druckempfindlichen Positionssensor zum Spiel von Noten. Für Modulationen steht ein kleines, ebenfalls druckempfindliches Zusatzfeld bereit. Beide Bedienelemente lassen sich flexibel per Software editieren. So ist es etwa möglich, die Sensitivität zu verändern oder den Tonhöhenverlauf umzudrehen. – Letztere Option dürfte speziell für Linkshänder eine tolle Sache sein. Der vom Positionssensor abgedeckte Spielbereich kann vier oder zwölf Oktaven betragen. Die Basisnote ist wählbar. Tonhöhen lassen sich entweder frei oder auf Halbtöne quantisiert spielen.

Die interne 12-Bit-Klangerzeugung stellt neben Standardwellenformen und Rauschen auch einfache Additiv-, Granular- und Glocken-Algorithmen zur Auswahl. An Bearbeitungsmöglichkeiten gibt es AM- und FM-Optionen, die per Modulationsfeld direkt kontrollierbar sind. Obendrauf hat Eowave dem Ribbon 2 einen Bitreduktions- und einen Echoeffekt spendiert. Die Ausgabe von Audiomaterial erfolgt mittels Miniklinkenbuchse.

Im Controllerbetrieb wird der Miniklinkenanschluss zur Ausgabe von zwei Steuerspannungen verwendet:

  • CV1: Mittels Positionssensor generierte Tonhöhen-Steuerspannung nach dem Standard 1V/Oktave. (Spielbereich: 0 V bis 5 V)
  • CV2: Durch die Druckempfindlichkeit von Positionssensor oder Modulationsfeld erzeugte Steuerspannung.

Neben analogen CV-Signalen lassen sich auch MIDI-Daten mit dem Ribbon 2 generieren. Sie können via USB-Port an einen Computer übertragen werden. MIDI-Kanal und CC-Nummern sind frei wählbar. Die USB-Schnittstelle dient auch der Stromversorgung. Ein entsprechendes Netzteil ist nicht im Lieferumfang enthalten.

Zur Einrichtung und Soundprogrammierung hat Eowave einen Editor auf Basis der Max Runtime-Software von Cycling74 geschrieben. Die Applikation ist kostenlos erhältlich. Sie läuft unter Windows, OSX, Linux und iOS. Fertige Synthesizer- und Controller-Konfigurationen lassen sich im Gerät auf 16 Speicherplätzen ablegen. Taster erlauben die komfortable Auswahl derartiger Presets.

Anschlüsse

Miniklinkenausgang (Audio / Dual-CV)
USB-Schnittstelle

Abmessungen
63 mal 4 mal 1,5 Zentimeter
Gewicht
0.48 kg
artikelnr
EOr2m
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 226,05 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 269,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 2-3 Tage