Epoch Modular - Twin Peak VCF MK2

Overview

The Twinpeak module is not only inspired by the TwinPeak-Resonator from Rod Hordijk's Blippoo Box but also designed by Hordijk especially for Epoch Modular.
It is a dual 12dB filter with variable characteristic, from low pass to a dual band pass with two individually tuneable cutoff peaks. Crossfading between inputs allow for mixed use and an even more sound possibilities.
It is a very unique and igh quality filter that provides for many subtle nuances; use it for audio signals at low resonace settings or use it as a beautiful sound generator by "pinging" it to create percussive bell-like sounds at high resonace settings.

Views

Details

The Twinpeaks' distinctiveness is the way how the two-peaked bandpass is created. Not, as so often, by combining a lowpass and a high pass filter but by a inverse-parallel interconnection of two low pass filters. What's the benefit? Well, on one hand it's possible to morph the filter characteristic from lowpass to bandpass with the CURVE control and on the other hand it doesn't matter which filter is tuned lower than the other - usually this would result in unwanted cancellations but here this doesn't happen and a pass band always exists. When the filters are tuned almost unisono you can create very narrow passbands with almost no bandwith.

Very unique is the Twinpeaks' resonance circuitry which has been designed to tilt momentarily into self-oscillation when pulsed waveforms (gates, triggers or one-shots) are used as audio inputs. This results in warm and percussive "pings" which have a longer duration at low frequencies, e.g.; when either peak is tuned to approximately 40Hz cutoff, they will sustain for 4 to 5 seconds. The RES/PING control sets the damping. The resonance is set for both filters simultaneously and can be voltage controlled.

The cutoff frequencies are tuned individually with the PEAK A and PEAK B controls and can be modulated with voltages, too. The inputs have polarizers (Peak A Mod and Peak B Mod) for scaling. wit hthe help of the DUAL MOD parameter it's possible to tune both cutoffs simultaneously which is ideal to preserve intervals between the cutofffs. The Dual Mod's tracking is around 0.5V/octave when the attenuator is fully opened.
There's also a 1V/octave input which allows for playing the filter tonally over five octaves.

The Twinpeak offers two audio inputs. Depending if one or both are used the potentiomenter LVL/IN FADE functions as a level control or a crossfder between the two inputs. It can get very interesting when you feed the Twinpeaks with both audio signals and slow pulses as this will excite the resonance in different ways.

miscellaneous

The MK2 version features a higher output amplitude, a wider resonance control range and normalized CV inputs.

connectors

2 audio inputs, filter output
CV inputs: 1V/oct, Dual Mod, Mod Peak A, Mod Peak B, Resonance

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 12HP wide, 22mm deep
power consumption: ~ 35mA @ +12V and 35mA @ -12V

Weight
0.3 kg
Article Number
EPtpvcf
External Links
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €315.13 € 19% VAT incl. €375.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Epoch Modular - Twin Peak VCF MK2

Überblick

Das Twinpeak wurde nicht nur vom TwinPeak-Resonator aus Rob Hordijks Blippoo Box inspiriert, sondern speziell von Hordijk für Epoch Modular entworfen.
Es ist ein duales 12dB-Filter mit variabler Charakteristik, von Tiefpass bis zu einem dual-Bandpass mit zwei individuell stimmbaren Cutoff-Peaks. Crossfading zwischen den Eingängen erlaubt gemischten Einsatz und eine noch breitere Klangvielfalt.
Der Sound ist wirklich hochwertig und subtil. Das Filter ist bei niedriger Resonanz besser für Audio geeignet und bei hohen Resonanzeinstellungen fantastisch zum "Pingen" als wunderschöner Generator glockig-perkussiver Klänge.

Ansichten

Details

Die Besonderheit des Twinpeak ist die Art, wie der Bandpass mit zwei Cutoff-Peaks erzeugt wird. Nicht wie so oft üblich aus einer Kombination aus einem Hoch- und einem Tiefpass, sondern aus einer invertiert-parallelen Verschaltung zweier Tiefpassfilter. Was das bringt? Nun, einerseits kann man die Filtercharaktersitik mit dem CURVE-Regler stufenlos von Tiefpass zum Bandpass morphen, andererseits ist es egal, welches der beiden Filter höher oder tiefer gestimmt ist - üblicherweise gäbe das eine unerwünschte Auslöschung des Signals, was hier nicht passiert. Bei fast gleich gestimmten Filtern kann man extrem schmale Passbänder fast ohne Bandbreite erzeugen.

Sehr außergewöhnlich ist die Resonanz des Twinpeak, die entworfen wurde, um bei rechteckigen Signalen (Triggers, Gates, Clock) als Audio kurzzeitig in Selbstoszillation zu gehen. Dies erzeugt angenehm-warme und perkussive "Pings", deren Länge von der Cutoff-Frequenz abhängig ist. Je tiefer das Filter gestimmt ist, desto länger klingt der Ping aus (4-5 Sekunden bei 40 Hz). Der RES/PING-Regler bestimmt das bei die Dämpfung. Die Resonanz ist für beide Filter gemeinsam einstellbar und sogar spannungssteuerbar.

Die Cutoff-Frequenzen sind mit den Reglern PEAK A und PEAK B individuell stimmbar und auch per CV modulierbar; die Eingänge haben Polarizer als Abschwächer (Peak A Mod und Peak B Mod). Mit dem Parameter DUAL MOD ist es jedoch möglich beide Cutoffs simultan zu regeln, was ideal ist, wenn man Intervalle bei der Stimmung der Filter beibehalten möchte. Das Tracking von Dual Mod liegt ungefähr bei 0.5V pro Oktave, wenn der Abschwächer voll aufgedreht ist.
Es gibt auch einen 1V/Oktave-Eingang, mit dem man das Filter über fünf Oktaven tonal spielen kann.

Das Twinpeak bietet zwei Audioeingänge. Je nach dem, ob ein oder zwei Signale anliegen, funktioniert der Potentiometer LVL IN / FADE als Pegelregler oder als Crossfader zwischen den beiden Eingängen. Sehr interessant kann es werden, wenn man das Twinpeak sowohl mit einem Audiosginal wie mit langsamen Pulsen füttert, da die Resonanz unterschiedlichst angeregt wird.

Sonstiges

Die MK2-Version bietet eine höhere Ausgangsamplitude, einen breiteren Resonanz-Regelbereich und normalisierte CV-Eingänge.

Anschlüsse

2 Audioeingänge, Filterausgang
CV-Eingänge: 1V/Oktavem Dual Mod, Mod Peak A, mod Peak B, Resonanz

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 12 TE breit, 22 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 35 mA auf +12 V und 35 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.3 kg
artikelnr
EPtpvcf
Externe Links
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 315,13 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 375,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1