Erica Synths - Black Polivoks VCF

Overview

Very authentic emulation of the voltage controlled low-/bandpass filter from the russian Formanta Polivoks synthesizer. Although the circuitry was adapted to modern modular systems and the low-end's behaviour was enhanced, the module's heart still are the original intedrated circuits K140UD12 responsible for the filter's special sound with it's wicked resonance.

Views

Details

The Black Polivoks Filter has two modes: a -6dB/octave steep band pass and a -12dB/octave lowpass, between which you can select with a click-less switch. Soundwise we'd call this filter "wet" and very specific. It has resonance wich starts oscillation at maximal fully clockwise position. The oscillation is pretty unstable which is charming.
The Polivoks' trademark sound of course depends on the input level, for which reason you have a level control.

There are two voltage control inputs for modulating the cutoff frequency. They are buffered to eliminate interference between them.

miscellaneous

Ericas Black Series is a line of high-quality modules forming one entire system. They are buit with quality components; all inputs and outputs are protected against overvoltage; the module is protected against reversed polarity. All important parameters have large controls.
Design and usability were put before economic width.

connectors

audio: input and audio output
two cutoff CV inputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 12HP wide, 25mm deep
power consumption: 11mA @ +12V and 11mA @ -12V

Weight
0.22 kg
Article Number
ERbPVCF
External Links

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Erica Synths - Black Polivoks VCF

Überblick

Sehr authentisch klingende Emulation des spannungsgesteuerten Tief-/Bandpass-Filters des russischen Formanta Polivoks Synthesizers. Zwar wurde die Schaltung an moderne Modularsysteme angepasst und der tiefe Frequenzbereich vom Verhalten her verbessert, doch im Herzen des Moduls arbeiten die originalen integrierten Schaltungen vom Typ K140UD12, die für den speziellen Klang des Filters mit abgefahrener Resonanz sorgen.

Ansichten

Details

Das Black Polivoks Filter hat zwei Modi: einen -6dB/Oktave steilen Bandpass und einen Tiefpass mit -12dB/Oktave Steilheit, die clickfrei umschaltbar sind. Klanglich würe man das Filter als "nass" und sehr spezifisch bezeichnen. Es bietet Resonanz, die den Klang deutlich färbt und in Maximalstellung selbst ozilliert. Die Oszillation ist sehr instabil, was seinen Charme hat. Der charakteristische Klang des Polivoks ist freilich auch stark vom Eingangspegel abhängig, weswegen dieser regelbar ist.

Es gibt zwei Steuerspannungseingänge mit Abschwächern zur Modulation der Cutoff-Frequenz. Sie sind gepuffert, so daß keine Interferenzen zwischen ihnen entstehen.

Sonstiges

Ericas Black-Serie ist eine Linie hochqualitativer Module, die ein Gesamtsystem ergeben können. Sie benutzen qualitativ sehr gute Bausteine; alle Ein- und Ausgänge sind gegen Überspannung und das Modul gegen Verpolung geschützt. Alle wichtigen Parameter haben große Regler.
Design und gute Bedienbarkeit standen im Vordergrund anstatt ökonomischer Breite.

Anschlüsse

Audio: Ein- und Ausgang
Zwei Cutoff-CV-Eingänge

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 12TE breit, 25mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 11mA auf +12V und 11mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.22 kg
artikelnr
ERbPVCF

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.