Erica Synths - Black Varishape VCO 1

Overview

Coming staight from the Russian vintage synthesizer Polivoks, this analog oscillator has a wide frequency range, a transistor-based suboscillator plus the bi-polar waveform mixer, allowing you to mix the waves with correct or inverted phase and to create plenty new waveforms this way.
But the very unique feature of the 1st of the two available Black Varishape VCOs is a special frequency modulation called X-mod.

Views

Details

Analog voltage controlled oscillator with stable tracking over 7 octaves which is pretty much for an analog VCO.
The Varishape VCO1's tuning controls consist of a seven-position rotary switch and a frequency control.
Besides the exponential FM input there is another one, called X-Mod. It derives from the original Polivoks' cross-modulation function and it has a much stronger, wild sound resembling radio noise at high modulation index settings. This feature is not found on the Varishape VCO2.

It has no individual waveform outputs but a mix output instead. For each waveform (triangle, sawtooth and pulse) a bipolar control is available which will add the wave to the mix, either with correct phase or phase inverted; this way the waves interact with each other and new waves can be created. The mixer turns into a wave shaper!

The pulse width can be adjusted manually or modulated via the scalable CV input. Same like on the original Polivoks VCO the triangle wave has a spike and is relatively rich in harmonics. The pulse width modualtion will also affect the triangle and thus it's sound which is similar to the original oscillator's behaviour.
In addition to the three waves a transistor based sub oscillator with a specific sound can be found which is added to the mix with correct phase.

The laggy transition when switching octaves is implemented on purpose. On one hand the glide is a nice effect and on the other this will omit audible clicks.

miscellaneous

The oscillator is entirely analog and has to warm up for 15-20 minutes for a perfect and stable tuning.

Ericas Black Series is a line of high-quality modules forming one entire system. They are buit with quality components; all inputs and outputs are protected against overvoltage; the module is protected against reversed polarity. All important parameters have large controls.
Design and usability were put before economic width.

connectors

1V/oct input, exponential FM input, X-Mod CV input, PWM input, oscillator output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18HP wide, 30mm deep
current draw: 50mA @ +12V and 45mA @ -12V

Weight
0.25 kg
Article Number
ERbVVCO1
External Videos

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Erica Synths - Black Varishape VCO 1

Überblick

Aus dem russischen Vintage-Synthesizer Polivoks stammt dieser analoge Oszillator mit weitem Frequenzbereich, transistorbasierten Suboszillator sowie einem bipolaren Wellenformmixer, mit dem du die Wellen phasenrichtig wie invertiert mischen und so viele neue Wellenformen kreieren kannst.
Das Alleinstellungsmerkmal des Black Varishape VCO1 ist eine spezielle Frequenzmodulation namens X-mod. Diese fehlt beim Varishape VCO2.

Ansichten

Details

Analoger, spannungsgesteuerter Oszillator mit stabilem Tracking über sieben Oktaven, was für einen analogen VCO doch recht viel ist.
Die Tuning-Abteilung des Varishape VCO1 besteht aus einem siebenstufigen Oktavwahlschalter und einen Frequenzregler
Neben dem exponentiellen FM-Eingang gibt einen weiteren modulationseingang namens X-Mod. Diese Funktion stammt aus der Crossmodulations-Funktion des alten Polivoks und sie hat eine deutlich stärkeren, wilderen Klang, der bei hohem Modulationsindex an Krach aus dem Radio erinnern kann. (Diese Funktion ist im Varishape VCO2 nicht integriert.)

Der Black Varishape VCO hat keine Einzelausgänge für die Wellenformen, sondern einen Mix-Ausgang. Für jede Wellenform (Dreieck, Sägezahn und Puls) steht ein bipolarer Regler bereit, mit dem die Welle phasenrichtig oder mit invertierter Phase dem Mix hinzugefügt wird - dadurch interagieren die Wellen, und neue Wellen können kreiert werden. Der Mischer wirkt somit wie ein Waveshaper.

Die Pulsbreite kann manuell eingestellt werden oder über den skalierbaren CV-Eingang moduliert werden. Wie beim alten Polivoks-VCO weist die Dreieckswelle eine deutliche Kante auf und ist relativ obertonreich. Die Pulsweitenmodulation wirkt sich auch auf das Dreieck und folglich seinen Klang aus, was dem Original entspricht.
Zusätzlich zu den drei Wellen gibt es einen transistorbasierten Subsozillator mit charakteristischem Klang, der phasenrichtig zum Signal zugemischt werden kann.

Das glide-artige, träge Verhalten beim Umschalten der Oktaven ist beabsichtigt. Einerseits is das Rübergleiten ein netter Effekt und andererseits werden hörbare Klicks vermieden.

Sonstiges

Der Oszillator ist vollanalog und muss sich 15-20 Minuten aufwärmen, um eine perfekte und stabile Stimmung zu garantieren.

Ericas Black-Serie ist eine Linie hochqualitativer Module, die ein Gesamtsystem ergeben können. Sie benutzen qualitativ sehr gute Bausteine; alle Ein- und Ausgänge sind gegen Überspannung und das Modul gegen Verpolung geschützt. Alle wichtigen Parameter haben große Regler.
Design und gute Bedienbarkeit standen im Vordergrund anstatt ökonomischer Breite.

Anschlüsse

1V/Oktave-Eingang, exponentieller FM-Eingang, X-Mod CV-Eingang, PWM-Eingang, Oszillatorausgang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 18TE breit, 30mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 50mA auf +12V und 45mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.25 kg
artikelnr
ERbVVCO1
Externe Videos

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.