Erica Synths - Black Varishape VCO 2

Overview

The Black Varishape VCO2 is the twin of the VCO1, but it lacks the X-Mod FM which has been replaced by a detune control. For that reason it's suited as the secondary or tertiary oscillator in a Erica Synths system. Besides this it is also a neat VCO from the Russian Polivoks synth, featuring a transistor based suboscillator besides a bi-polar waveform mixer for creating new waveforms.

Views

Details

Analog voltage controlled oscillator with stable tracking over 7 octaves which is pretty much for an analog VCO.
The Varishape VCO2's tuning controls consist of a seven-position rotary switch, a frequency control and a dedicated detune control for extreme fine tuning by just a few semitones. What's the idea behind that? Well, in vintage compact synthesizers often only the first VCO had a wide-range tune control and the other VCOs featured a detune control only. So the the intention behind the Varishape VCO2 is: use it as a secondary or side oscillator, e.g. in a Polivoks Clone made entirely of Erica's Black module series!

The Black Varishape VCO has no individual waveform outputs but a mix output instead. For each waveform (triangle, sawtooth and pulse) a bipolar control is available which will add the wave to the mix, either with correct phase or phase inverted; this way the waves interact with each other and new waves can be created. The mixer turns into a wave shaper!

The pulse width can be adjusted manually or modulated via the scalable CV input. Same like on the original Polivoks VCO the triangle wave has a spike and is relatively rich in harmonics. The pulse width modualtion will also affect the triangle and thus it's sound which is similar to the original oscillator's behaviour.
In addition to the three waves a transistor based sub oscillator with a specific sound can be found which is added to the mix with correct phase.

The laggy transition when switching octaves is implemented on purpose. On one hand the glide is a nice effect and on the other this will omit audible clicks.

miscellaneous

The oscillator is entirely analog and has to warm up for 15-20 minutes for a perfect and stable tuning.

Ericas Black Series is a line of high-quality modules forming one entire system. They are buit with quality components; all inputs and outputs are protected against overvoltage; the module is protected against reversed polarity. All important parameters have large controls.
Design and usability were put before economic width.

connectors

1V/oct input, exponential FM input, PWM input, oscillator output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18HP wide, 30mm deep
current draw: 50mA @ +12V and 45mA @ -12V

Weight
0.25 kg
Article Number
ERbVVCO2
External Videos

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Erica Synths - Black Varishape VCO 2

Überblick

Der Black Varishape VCO2 ist quasi der Zwilling des VCO1, ihm fehlt allerdings die X-Mod-FM - dafür gibt es einen Detune-Regler, weswegen er als Zweit- oder Drittoszillator in einem Erica-System empfehlenswert ist.
Auch dieser tolle VCO mit sehr gutem Tracking stammt aus dem russischen Polivoks-Synthesizer und bietet neben einem transistorbasierten Suboszillator einen bipolaren Wellenformmischer zur Kreation neuer Wellenformen.

Ansichten

Details

Analoger, spannungsgesteuerter Oszillator mit stabilem Tracking über 7 Oktaven, was für einen analogen VCO viel ist.
Der Varishape VCO2 bietet zur Stimmung einen siebenstufigen Oktavwahlschalter, einen Frequenzregler und einen dezidierten Detune-Regler, der die Frequenz äußerst fein um wenige Hallbtöne stimmt. Was das soll? Nun, in Kompaktsynthesizern hatte nur der erste VCO einen richtigen Tune-Regler und die anderen VCOs nur Detune. So ist der Varishape VCO2 auch gemeint: als Nebensozillator in einer Synthesizerstimme, z.B. einen geklonten Polivoks auf Basis von Modulen aus Ericas Black-Serie!

Der Black Varishape VCO hat keine Einzelausgänge für die Wellenformen, sondern einen Mix-Ausgang. Für jede Wellenform (Dreieck, Sägezahn und Puls) steht ein bipolarer Regler bereit, mit dem die Welle phasenrichtig oder mit invertierter Phase dem Mix hinzugefügt wird - dadurch interagieren die Wellen, und neue Wellen können kreiert werden. Der Mischer wirkt somit wie ein Waveshaper.

Die Pulsbreite kann manuell eingestellt werden oder über den skalierbaren CV-Eingang moduliert werden. Wie beim alten Polivoks-VCO weist die Dreieckswelle eine deutliche Kante auf und ist relativ obertonreich. Die Pulsweitenmodulation wirkt sich auch auf das Dreieck und folglich seinen Klang aus, was dem Original entspricht.
Zusätzlich zu den drei Wellen gibt es einen transistorbasierten Subsozillator mit charakteristischem Klang, der phasenrichtig zum Signal zugemischt werden kann.

Das glide-artige, träge Verhalten beim Umschalten der Oktaven ist beabsichtigt. Einerseits is das Rübergleiten ein netter Effekt und andererseits werden hörbare Klicks vermieden.

Sonstiges

Der Oszillator ist vollanalog und muss sich 15-20 Minuten aufwärmen, um eine perfekte und stabile Stimmung zu garantieren.

Ericas Black-Serie ist eine Linie hochqualitativer Module, die ein Gesamtsystem ergeben können. Sie benutzen qualitativ sehr gute Bausteine; alle Ein- und Ausgänge sind gegen Überspannung und das Modul gegen Verpolung geschützt. Alle wichtigen Parameter haben große Regler.
Design und gute Bedienbarkeit standen im Vordergrund anstatt ökonomischer Breite.

Anschlüsse

1V/Oktave-Eingang, exponentieller FM-Eingang, PWM-Eingang, Oszillatorausgang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 18TE breit, 30mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 50mA auf +12V und 45mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.25 kg
artikelnr
ERbVVCO2
Externe Videos

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.