Erica Synths - Black Polivoks VCF V2

Overview

The Black Polivoks VCF V2 is an authentic clone of the multimode filter known from the Russian Formanta Polivoks synthesizer. It can be used as either a low-pass or band-pass circuit. Input level, cutoff frequency and resonance are adjustable via potentiometers. Additionally, the module features two CV inputs plus attenuators. Compared to the classic circuit design, Erica Synths optimized their filter in many ways. For instance, the low-end behavior was enhanced. Despite such modifications, the sound is true to the original. – Thanks to old, Russian ICs, type K140UD12. The Black Polivoks VCF V2 delivers forceful results, with wet sounding, sometimes instable resonance.

Views

Details

The Black Polivoks VCF V2 is usable as either a band-pass with -6 dB edge steepness per octave or as a -12 dB low-pass. Unlike the original, switching between both filter characteristics does not result in clicks. Input level, cutoff frequency and resonance are adjustable via potentiometers. Two CV inputs plus attenuators allow users to modulate the cutoff parameter. All inputs are buffered to prevent crosstalk. Furthermore, compared to the classic circuit design, the module’s cutoff control range was enhanced. High resonance values lead to self-oscillation of the filter. Depending on the input level, the results vary from wet, yet straightforward, to instable and dirty.

The second version of the Black Polivoks VCF offers, compared to its predecessor, a more compact format, a keyed power connector as well as some other technical gimmicks. The result: Very clean, yet typically hot-blooded sound.

connectors

Audio input and output
Two CV inputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 10 HP wide, 25 mm in depth
Power consumption: 11 mA at +12 V and 11 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.122 kg
Article Number
ERbPVCF2
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €167.23 € 19% VAT incl. €199.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Erica Synths - Black Polivoks VCF V2

Überblick

Das Black Polivoks VCF V2 ist ein authentisch klingender Nachbau des Multimodefilters vom russischen Formanta Polivoks Synthesizer. Die Schaltung bietet Tiefpass- und Bandpasscharakteristika mit unterschiedlicher Flankensteilheit. Eingangspegel, Grenzfrequenz und Resonanz lassen sich durch Potentiometer justieren. Für Modulationen sind zwei CV-Eingänge mit Abschwächern an Bord. Gegenüber dem Original gibt es reichhaltige Optimierungen im Schaltungsdesign zu vermelden. So wurde etwa das Verhalten im tiefen Frequenzbereich verbessert. Trotz dieser Modifikationen liefert das Modul, dank Original-ICs vom Typ K140UD12, typisch ungestümen Polivoks-Sound. Besonders das Verhalten bei saftigen Eingangspegeln und hohen Resonanzwerten ist eigentümlich. Eine derartige Konfiguration quittiert das Black Polivoks VCF V2 mit nasser, unsteter Selbstoszillation.

Ansichten

Details

Das Black Polivoks VCF V2 kann als Bandpass mit -6 dB Flankensteilheit pro Oktave oder als -12 dB Tiefpass eingesetzt werden. Die Umschaltung zwischen den Filtercharakteristika erfolgt, anders als beim Original, frei von Klickgeräuschen. Eingangspegel, Grenzfrequenz und Resonanz sind mittels Potentiometern justierbar. Zwei CV-Eingänge nebst Abschwächern  erlauben Modulationen des Cutoff-Parameters. Sämtliche Eingänge des Moduls sind gepuffert, um Übersprechen vorzubeugen. Der Grenzfrequenz-Regelbereich wurde im Vergleich zum russischen Vorbild erweitert. Die Resonanz reicht bis zur Selbstoszillation. Je nach Eingangspegel variiert der so entstehende, nasse Sound zwischen geradlinig und dreckig-instabil.

Die zweite Version des Black Polivoks VCFs zeichnet sich, gegenüber dem Vorgängermodell, durch kompaktere Maße, gegen falsche Polung geschützte Anschlüsse und weitere Technikfinessen aus. Das Ergebnis: Überaus sauberer, aber dennoch typisch heißblütiger Polivoks-Sound.

Anschlüsse

Audioeingang und Ausgang
Zwei CV-Eingänge

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 10 TE breit, 25 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 11 mA auf +12 V und 11 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.122 kg
artikelnr
ERbPVCF2
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 167,23 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 199,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag