Expert Sleepers - General CV

Overview

A General MIDI synthesizer made for modular setups? – This might sound strange, but is actually really useful. General CV comes equipped with 128 GM sounds, including acoustic material such as pianos, strings or wind instruments, synthetic basses, leads and pads plus quirky special effects. (Think applause, helicopter and gunshot sounds.) On top of that, the module features five extensive drum kits. General CV can be used as an oscillator, a synthesizer with unison, chord and arpeggiator modes, a drum voice or as a fully loaded drum machine. Furthermore, the circuit is able to playback MIDI files with up to 16 channels. For sound enhancement, there are two multi-effects and a four-band equalizer.

Views

Details

General CV comes equipped with nine CV inputs. Their functionality varies depending on the algorithm the module is running. – For instance, in one mode of operation, the connectors serve as pitch, gate and modulation inputs to control synthesizer sounds, while in another mode, they are used for triggering drums. Generally speaking, the connectors can be divided into the following groups:

  • Input X and Y: Digital inputs, typically used for feeding gate, trigger or clock signals to the General CV.
  • Input 1 to 3: Unipolar CV inputs (Resolution: 10 Bit / Range: 0 V to +5 V)
  • Input 4 to 7: Bipolar CV inputs (Resolution: 14 Bit / Range: -5 V to +5 V)

All seven CV inputs can be attenuated.

General CV is edited via five rotary encoders with push function and an OLED display. Presets can be stored in 64 internal slots or on a SD card. The storage medium is also used for feeding MIDI files and firmware updates to the module. Two jacks (left / right) emit audio signals.

General CV features a set of 128 GM sounds. Additionally, there are five drum kits. (A list of all sounds can be found in the manual.) The control options vary depending on the active mode of operation. In some modes, for instance, it is possible to feed 1v / octave and gate signals as well as control voltages for velocity, mod wheel (vibrato), a sustain function and the intensity of the built-in effects to the module. (Again, detailed lists of all parameters can be found in the manual.)

For giving sounds the finishing touch, General CV offers two multi-effects. The following algorithms are available:

  • Effect 1: Room 1, Room 2, Room 3, Hall 1, Hall 2, Plate, Delay, Pan Delay
  • Effect 2: Chorus 1, Chorus 2, Chorus 3, Chorus 4, Feedback Chorus, Flanger, Short Delay, Feedback Delay

Furthermore, there is an equalizer with four bands. Left and right channel can be adjusted individually.

General CV offers eight modes of operation:

  • CV to MIDI: While in this mode, General CV acts as a synthesizer with up to eight unison voices. Besides tuning options, there is a quantizer featuring 16 scales. A manual gate function allows users to utilize the module as a drone generator.
  • VCO: Similar to the CV to MIDI mode, but here General CV emits audio material continuously. Gate signals can be used to turn the audio output on or off plus the attack phase can be restarted.
  • Clocked Playback: This mode of operation is used for playing back MIDI files. General CV can handle single and multi-track files. This means that the module is able to play 16 tracks at the same time. Up to 32 files can be saved as a set. The playback speed is determined by incoming clock signals. Furthermore, there is a mute function per track. The launch of a new file is quantized to a musically meaningful position in the current file.
  • Free Playback: Similar to the clocked playback mode, but the playback speed is set by data contained in the MIDI file. Additionally, the tempo can be modulated.
  • Drum: A simple mode of operation for playing drums dynamically. CV signals are used to switch between sounds.
  • Drum 9: In this mode of operation, users can choose nine drum sounds and trigger them via the digital and CV inputs. Each drum can be edited in pitch, volume, pan position and effect intensity.
  • Chord: While in this mode of operation, General CV generates chords plus inversions. Seven scales and 14 chord types are available. Multiple sounds can be layered with individual volume, pan position and tuning settings. On top of that, there are a filter and two envelopes. Short delays can break chords into overlapping sequences of notes.
  • Arpeggiator: Similar to the chord mode, but here melodies are created. Users can choose from nine running directions. The speed can be synchronized to a clock signal. By using the clock divisor and multiplier at the same time, it is possible to create fractional timings.
miscellaneous
Using the Disting Mk4 MIDI Breakout, it is possible to add MIDI DIN connectors to the General CV.
connectors

Two digital inputs (X and Y)
Three unipolar CV inputs
Four bipolar CV inputs
Two audio outputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 12 HP wide, 50 mm in depth
Power consumption: 91 mA at +12 V and 27 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
ESGCV
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €251.26 € 19% VAT incl. €299.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Expert Sleepers - General CV

Überblick

Ein General-MIDI-Klangerzeuger für Modular-Systeme? – Klingt vielleicht komisch, ist aber durchaus praktisch. General CV bietet 128 GM-Sounds, darunter akustisches Material wie Pianos, Streicher oder Bläser, synthetische Bässe, Leads und Pads plus schrullige Spezialeffekte. (Was wäre die Welt ohne Applaus-, Helikopter- und Gunshot-Sounds?) Obendrauf sind fünf umfangreich ausgestattete Drum-Kits an Bord. Das Modul kann als Oszillator, Komplett-Synthesizer mit polyphonen Unison-, Akkord- und Arpeggio-Modi oder als Drum-Stimme beziehungsweise ganzer Drum-Computer eingesetzt werden. Ein Playback-Modus erlaubt die Wiedergabe von bis zu 16-kanaligen MIDI-Dateien. Ein Vierband-Equalizer und zwei Multieffekte dienen der Klangveredelung.

Ansichten

Details

General CV bietet neun CV-Eingänge, ihre Funktionsweise ist abhängig von den gerade im Modul aktiven Algorithmen. – Während die Buchsen zum Beispiel in einem Modus als Pitch-, Gate- und Modulationskanäle für Synthesizer-Sounds genutzt werden, dienen sie in einer anderen Betriebsart als Trigger-Wege für Drums. Generell lassen sich die CV-Anschlüsse folgendermaßen unterscheiden:

  • Eingang X und Y: Digitale Eingänge, die typischerweise für Gate-, Trigger- oder Clock-Signale genutzt werden.
  • Eingang 1 bis 3: Unipolare CV-Eingänge. (Auflösung: 10 Bit / Wertebereich: 0 V bis +5 V)
  • Eingang 4 bis 7: Bipolare CV-Eingänge. (Auflösung: 14 Bit / Wertebereich -5 V bis +5 V)

Alle sieben CV-Eingänge besitzen Abschwächer auf Softwareebene.

Zur Editierung des General CVs stehen fünf Endlos-Drehregler mit Druckfunktion und ein Display bereit. Presets können auf 64 internen Speicherplätzen oder einer SD-Karte abgelegt werden. Das Speichermedium dient auch der Zuführung von MIDI-Dateien und Firmware-Updates. Zum Abgriff von Audiomaterial stehen zwei Buchsen (links / rechts) bereit.

General CV verfügt über 128 Grundklänge, die nach dem GM-Standard sortiert sind. Ergänzend gibt es fünf Drum-Kits mit reichhaltiger Instrumentenauswahl. (Eine Liste aller Sounds findet sich in der Bedienungsanleitung.) Die Steuerungsoptionen variieren je nach Modus. In einigen Betriebsarten ist es zum Beispiel möglich, neben 1V/Oktave- und Gate-Signalen auch Steuerspannungen für Anschlagdynamik, Modulationsrad (Vibrato), eine Sustain-Funktion und die Intensität von Effekten einzuführen. (Auch hierzu finden sich im Handbuch detaillierte Aufstellungen.)

Zwei Multieffekte dienen der Klangveredelung. Im Detail werden folgende Algorithmen geboten:

  • Effekt 1: Room 1, Room 2, Room 3, Hall 1, Hall 2, Plate, Delay, Pan Delay
  • Effekt 2: Chorus 1, Chorus 2, Chorus 3, Chorus 4, Feedback Chorus, Flanger, Short Delay, Feedback Delay

Darüber hinaus ist ein Vierband-Equalizer an Bord. Linker und rechter Kanal lassen sich gemeinsam oder getrennt voneinander editieren.

General CV ist mit acht Betriebsarten ausgerüstet, jede wurde auf eine andere Anwendung zugeschnitten:

  • CV-to-MIDI-Modus: In dieser Betriebsart kann General CV als Synthesizer mit bis zu acht Unison-Stimmen genutzt werden. Neben Stimmungsoptionen gibt es einen Quantizer mit 16 Skalen. Eine Manual-Gate-Funktion macht Drone-Betrieb möglich.
  • VCO-Modus: Ähnlich CV-to-MIDI, allerdings gibt General CV hier, ähnlich eines VCOs, kontinuierlich Sound ab. Mittels Gate-Spannungen kann die Audioausgabe ein- beziehungsweise ausgeschaltet und die Attack-Phase neu gestartet werden.
  • Clocked-Playback-Modus: Diese Betriebsart ist zur Wiedergabe von MIDI-Dateien gedacht. General CV kann Single- und Multi-Track-Dateien verarbeiten. – Es können also 16 Spuren gleichzeitig erklingen. Bis zu 32 Dateien lassen sich als Set speichern. Die Abspielgeschwindigkeit wird durch eingehende Clock-Signale bestimmt. Des Weiteren gibt es eine Mute-Funktion pro Spur. Die Umschaltung zwischen Dateien erfolgt quantisiert.
  • Free-Playback-Modus: Ähnlich der Clocked-Playback-Betriebsart, allerdings wird die Abspielgeschwindigkeit hier von der jeweiligen MIDI-Datei ausgelesen. Zudem ist das Tempo modulierbar.
  • Drum-Modus: Eine simple Betriebsart zum dynamischen Spiel von Drums. CV-Signale dienen der Soundauswahl.
  • Drum-9-Modus: In dieser Betriebsart lassen sich neun Drum-Sounds auswählen und parallel triggern. Jedes Schlaginstrument kann einzeln in Tonhöhe, Lautstärke, Panorama und Effektzuweisung editiert werden.
  • Chord-Modus: Betriebsart zur Erzeugung von Akkorden inklusive Umkehrungen. Sieben Skalen und 14 Akkordtypen stehen zur Auswahl. Mehrere Sounds können mit individuellen Lautstärke-, Panorama- und Stimmungseinstellungen geschichtet werden. Zudem gibt es ein Filter und zwei Hüllkurven. Durch kurze Verzögerungen lassen sich Akkorde in überlappende Notenfolgen aufbrechen.
  • Arpeggiator-Modus: Ähnlich der Chord-Betriebsart, allerdings werden hier Melodien erzeugt. Neun Laufrichtungen stehen zur Auswahl. Die Geschwindigkeit lässt sich zu einem Taktsignal synchronisieren. Durch den gleichzeitigen Einsatz von Clock-Divisor und Multiplier können gebrochene Zeitwerte kreiert werden.
Sonstiges
General CV kann mit dem Expander-Modul Disting Mk4 MIDI Breakout um MIDI-DIN-Anschlüsse erweitert werden.
Anschlüsse

Zwei Digitaleingänge (X und Y)
Drei unipolare CV-Eingänge
Vier bipolare CV-Eingänge
Zwei Audioausgänge

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 12 TE breit, 50 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 91 mA auf +12 V und 27 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
ESGCV
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 251,26 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 299,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag