Frap Tools - Sapel

Overview

Advanced chance experiments – The Sapél is composed of a multichannel noise source and two sophisticated random sections. Additionally, the module features a dual clock generator. In detail, there are outputs for white, blue, pink and red noise. The random sections produce fluctuating and quantized voltages as well as sample and hold material. The clock generator consists of two channels, which can be combined. Each circuit offers a normal and a random clock output. Trigger options, a multitude of control voltage inputs and probability functions complete the Sapél’s functional range.

Views

Details

Besides its quantizers, which are part of the random sections, Sapél is a completely analog module. The noise generator features four outputs, each of them emits a different kind of signal:

  • Blue noise (Spectrum: +3 dB per octave)
  • White noise (Spectrum: 0 dB per octave)
  • Pink noise (Spectrum: -3 dB per octave)
  • Red respectively brown noise (Spectrum: -6 dB per octave)

The random sections are composed of four channels each. One signal path produces fluctuating random voltages in the range of 0 V to +7.5 V. For influencing the channel's work, there is a frequency potentiometer plus a CV input.

Two other channels generate quantized random voltages with semitone and octave intervals. The number of stages used by the circuit (n) can be varied in the range of 1 to 6 via potentiometers and CV inputs. The signal paths use the given values as follows:

  • 2n channel: Produces control voltages that are quantized to 1/12 V steps. (Results equate to semitones in the 1 V per octave scale.) The value range goes from 2 to 64 stages. (0 V to +5.25 V)
  • N+1 channel: Produces control voltages that are quantized to 1 V steps. (Results equate to octaves in the 1 V per octave scale.) The value range goes from 2 to 7 stages. (0 V to +6 V)

The fourth signal path of each random section emits non-quantized sample and hold material in the range of 0 V to +7.5 V.

The Sapél’s clock source is composed of two pulse generators. Signals produced by the fluctuating random channels form the basis for their work. The clock frequencies can be set via potentiometers. Additionally, there are CV inputs for modulations.  2n, N+1 and S&H channels work in sync with the associated pulse generator. Furthermore, there are two connectors for normal and random clock signals. The chance output offers two modes of operation:

  • More than mode: The connector emits random triggers plus the normal clock signal.
  • Less than mode: The connector emits random triggers only.

Via switches, it is possible to combine both clock generators. This feature allows users to create very complex results with 2n, N+1 and S&H channels. Furthermore, the circuits can be manually triggered via buttons and gate signals. Alternatively to the built-in clock source(s), external sync signals can be fed to the module.

Thanks to its probability section, users are able to influence the amplitude of random voltages generated by the Sapél. In detail, it is possible to lower the probability that medium and high values are generated. Switches determine which channels of the random sections get affected by these settings.

connectors

Per random section:
Four CV inputs
Four signal outputs

Per clock generator:
Combined CV frequency and gate trigger input
(A switch decides, which mode of operation is active.)
Normal and random output
Clock input

Outputs for white, blue, pink and red noise

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18 HP wide, 38 mm in depth
Power consumption: 250 mA at +12 V and 170 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.299 kg
Article Number
FRAPSRS
External Links
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €419.33 € 19% VAT incl. €499.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Frap Tools - Sapel

Überblick

Zufall für Fortgeschrittene – Das Sapél setzt sich aus einer mehrkanaligen Rauschquelle und zwei ausgeklügelten Random-Sektionen zusammen. Ergänzend ist ein dualer Clock-Generator an Bord. Im Detail stehen weißes, blaues, pinkes und rotes Rauschen zum Abgriff bereit. Die Random-Bereiche verfügen über jeweils vier Kanäle, sie geben fluktuierende und auf Halbtöne sowie Oktaven quantisierte Zufallsspannungen plus Sample-&-Hold-Material ab. Der Taktgenerator besteht aus zwei kombinierbaren Clock-Schaltungen mit jeweils einem normalen und einem willkürlich aktiv werdenden Ausgang. Manuelle Trigger-Möglichkeiten, allerhand Steuereingänge und Wahrscheinlichkeitsoptionen runden den Funktionsumfang ab.

Ansichten

Details

Abgesehen von den Quantisierungsstufen der Random-Sektionen ist Sapél vollständig analog aufgebaut. Der Rauschgenerator besitzt vier Ausgänge, an denen folgende Signale anliegen:

  • Blaues Rauschen (Spektrum: +3 dB pro Oktave)
  • Weißes Rauschen (Spektrum: 0 dB pro Oktave)
  • Pinkes Rauschen (Spektrum: -3 dB pro Oktave)
  • Rotes beziehungsweise braunes Rauschen (Spektrum: -6 dB pro Oktave)

Die Random-Sektionen setzen sich aus jeweils vier Kanälen mit Einzelausgängen zusammen. Einer der Wege erzeugt fluktuierende Zufallsspannungen im Bereich von 0 V bis +7,5 V. Das Tempo, mit dem die Schaltung zu Werke geht, lässt sich durch ein Potentiometer bestimmen. Ergänzend gibt es einen CV-Eingang für Modulationen des Parameters.

Zwei weitere Kanäle generieren auf Halbtöne und Oktaven quantisierte Zufallsspannungen. Mittels Drehreglern und CV-Eingängen lässt sich die verwendete Stufenanzahl (n) von 1 bis 6 variieren. Die Wege nutzen eingestellte Werte wie folgt:

  • 2n-Kanal: Erzeugt auf  1/12 V-Schritten quantisierte Spannungen. (Entspricht Halbtönen nach dem Standard 1 V pro Oktave.) Der Wertebereich reicht von zwei bis 64 Stufen. (0 V bis +5,25 V)
  • N+1-Kanal: Erzeugt auf 1 V quantisierte Spannungen. (Entspricht Oktavschritten nach dem Standard 1 V pro Oktave.) Der Wertebereich reicht von zwei bis sieben Stufen. (0 V bis +6 V)

Der vierte Signalweg der Random-Sektionen produziert nicht quantisiertes Sample-&-Hold-Material im Bereich von 0 V bis +7,5 V.

Der duale Taktgenerator des Sapél setzt sich aus zwei unabhängig voneinander arbeitenden Clock-Stufen zusammen. Grundlage für ihre Arbeit bilden die Signale der fluktuierenden Random-Kanäle. Die Frequenz lässt sich durch Potentiometer festlegen und mittels CV-Eingängen modulieren. 2n-, N+1- und S&H-Wege werden von den Schaltungen getaktet. Obendrauf lassen sich normale und willkürlich auftretende Clock-Signale an zwei Buchsen abgreifen. Der Zufallsausgang besitzt zwei Betriebsarten, im Einzelnen:

  • More-Than-Modus: Normale Taktsignale plus zufällige Trigger werden gemeinsam ausgegeben.
  • Less-Than-Modus: Es werden nur zufällige Trigger ausgegeben.

Durch Schalter lassen sich beide Taktstufen kombinieren, um besonders komplexe Ergebnisse mit 2n-, N+1- und S&H-Kanälen zu kreieren. Taster erlauben es dem Nutzer, die Wege manuell zu triggern. Gleiches ist auch mittels Gate-Signalen möglich. Alternativ zu den internen Taktgeneratoren können externe Clock-Signale verwendet werden.

Der Probability-Bereich des Sapéls macht es möglich, auf die Amplitude der von den Random-Sektionen generierten Spannungen einzuwirken. Genauer kann die Wahrscheinlichkeit, mit der mittlere und hohe Werte generiert werden, durch Potentiometer gedämpft werden. Die Funktion lässt sich für jeden Kanal der Random-Stufen einzeln zuschalten.

Anschlüsse

Pro Random-Sektion:
Vier CV-Eingänge
Vier Signalausgänge

Pro Clock-Generator:
Kombinierter CV-Frequenz- und Gate-Trigger-Eingang
(Umschaltung zwischen den Verwendungsarten erfolgt per Taster)
Normaler- und Zufalls-Ausgang
Clock-Eingang

Ausgänge für weißes, blaues, pinkes und rotes Rauschen

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 18 TE breit, 38 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 250 mA auf +12 V und 170 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.299 kg
artikelnr
FRAPSRS
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 419,33 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 499,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1