Grendel - Drone Commander Classic Pedal

Overview

The Drone Commander Classic Pedal is an analog synthesizer with original, powerful sound. The instrument is composed of two oscillators, a bandpass filter with self-oscillation and overdrive as well as a complex LFO. Thanks to a foot switch plus an envelope, the Classic Pedal can be turned on and off quickly. An audio input and several control voltage connectors allow musicians to integrate the instrument in larger setups. The spherical, rhythmic sounds of the Drone Commander Classic Pedal can fascinate listeners over hours. – Activate and enjoy!

Details

The Classic Pedal is based on the circuits of the first Grendel Drone Commander, which was housed in an ammunition can. Besides its more compact format, the new instrument offers several improvements and additions, for instance an upgraded filter, a VCA and an envelope.

Sound is generated by two analog oscillators. Each VCO comes equipped with a switch for choosing between triangle and square waves as well as a tune potentiometer. (Range: 20 Hz to 360 Hz) A mixer allows users to crossfade between the signals of both oscillators. Alternatively to the internal sound generators, external material can be fed to the Classic Pedal via an audio input.

The mixer is followed by a bandpass filter. Via a switch, users can choose between two cutoff frequency ranges. A potentiometer is used for continuous cutoff adjustments. Additionally, the control element influences the resonance. – Low settings make the filter self-oscillate. With the help of a “dead patch” at the audio input, which deactivates the oscillators, the bandpass circuit can be used as the sole audio generator. The filter sound is rough and, depending on the incoming audio level, more or less distorted. A trim potentiometer allows musicians to alter the input level and therefore the overdrive behavior. For creating wafting filter modulations, there is a LFO. Additionally, the Classic Pedal features a cutoff CV input, which processes control voltages in the range of -10 V to + 10 V.

The Drone Commander’s LFO generates click and ramp waveforms, which can be mixed via a potentiometer. Speed and modulation intensity are alterable via two other knobs. A switch makes it possible to swiftly deactivate the LFO. Clicks are generated via a PLL circuit. The number of pulses per LFO cycle can be determined via the multiplier knob. (Multipliers: 2x, 4x, 8x and 16x) Signals produced by the PLL circuit are not only used for modulating the filter, but are also emitted via the instrument’s clock output. Therefore, synchronizing the Drone Commander with a sequencer is very easy. A switch determines, whether the LFO generates positive clicks and rising ramps or negative clicks and falling ramps.

For altering the output level, the Classic Pedal features a VCA with a volume knob. Using the foot switch or gate input, it is possible to activate and deactivate the instrument. Thanks to an AR envelope with two settings, this process can happen either fast or slowly. By connecting the clock output with the gate input, musicians are able to create tremolo effects.

The Drone Commander Classic Pedal can be powered via an external power supply (sold separately) or a 9 V battery.

connectors

Audio output (6.3 mm)
Audio input (3.5 mm)
Filter CV input (3.5 mm)
Gate input (3.5 mm)
Clock output (3.5 mm)
Connector for an external power supply
(Tip = positive / Ring = negative)

dimensions

16 x 10.5 x 5.5 centimeters
Power consumption: 9 V, 15 mA

Weight
0.6 kg
Article Number
GRdccp
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €352.10 € 19% VAT incl. €419.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Grendel - Drone Commander Classic Pedal

Überblick

Das Drone Commander Classic Pedal ist ein Analogsynthesizer mit eigenständigem, kraftvollem Sound. Zwei Oszillatoren, ein Bandpassfilter mit Selbstoszillation und Overdrive sowie ein komplexer LFO stehen für Klangexperimente bereit. Dank Fußschalter plus Hüllkurve kann man das Instrument bequem an- und ausschalten. Ein Audioeingang und diverse Steuerwege erlauben die gemeinsame Verwendung mit anderem Equipment. Die schwebenden, rhythmischen Klangwelten des Classic Pedals können Zuhörer immer wieder in Erstaunen versetzen. – Eine Drone-Maschine der Extraklasse!

Details

Das Classic Pedal basiert auf den Schaltungen des ersten Grendel Drone Commanders, der in einer Munitionskiste daherkam. Neben dem schlankeren Format gibt es auch allerhand technische Neuerungen zu verzeichnen, etwa Erweiterungen beim Filter, einen VCA und eine Hüllkurve.

Als Klanggeneratoren kommen zwei Analogoszillatoren zum Einsatz. Pro VCO stehen ein Schalter zur Auswahl von Dreieck- oder Rechteckwellenform und ein Tune-Potentiometer mit einem Regelbereich von 20 Hz bis 360 Hz bereit. Per Mixer lassen sich Schwingungen beider Oszillatoren in beliebigem Verhältnis kombinieren. Alternativ zur internen Klangerzeugung kann ein externes Audiosignal eingeschliffen werden.

Nachfolgend steht ein Bandpassfilter im Signalweg. Via Schalter kann zwischen zwei Grenzfrequenzbereichen gewählt werden. Ein Drehregler dient der stufenlosen Cutoff-Justierung. Zusätzlich wirkt sich das Bedienelement auf die Resonanz aus. - Bei niedrigen Einstellungen geht das Filter in Selbstoszillation über. Mit Hilfe eines „toten Patches“ am Audioeingang, wodurch die Oszillatoren deaktiviert werden, kann man die Bandpass-Schaltung so als alleinigen Signalgenerator verwenden. Ab Werk liefert das Filter rauen, leicht zerrenden Klang. Der Eingangspegel (und damit der Overdrive) lässt sich mit Hilfe eines Trim-Potentiometers anheben beziehungsweise verringern. Wabernde Filtermodulationen sind dank eines integrierten LFOs kein Problem. Ergänzend gibt es einen Cutoff-CV-Eingang, der Steuerspannungen im Bereich von -10 V bis +10 V verarbeitet.

Der LFO des Classic Pedals generiert Klick- und Rampen-Wellenformen, die mit Hilfe eines Potentiometers gemischt werden können. Geschwindigkeit und Modulationsintensität sind mittels weiterer Drehregler justierbar. Per Schalter lässt sich der Modulator schnell aus dem Signalweg entfernen. Die Klicks werden per PLL-Schaltung erzeugt. Als Multiplikator (bezogen auf die LFO-Geschwindigkeit) kann man 2x, 4x, 8x oder 16x wählen. Neben der Verwendung als Modulationssignal gibt der Drone Commander die Klicks auch am Clock-Ausgang ab. – Die Synchronisation von Classic Pedal und zum Beispiel einem externen Sequenzer ist also problemlos möglich. Ein Schalter bestimmt, ob der LFO positive Klicks und aufsteigende Rampen oder negative Klicks und abfallende Rampen generiert.

Abschließend steht ein VCA mit Lautstärke-Potentiometer im Signalweg. Per Fußschalter oder Gate-Eingang lässt sich das Classic-Pedal schnell ein- und ausschalten. Dank AR-Hüllkurve kann dieser Vorgang entweder zackig oder langsam von statten gehen. Verbindet man Clock-Ausgang mit Gate-Eingang, ergeben sich Tremolo-Effekte.

Das Drone Commander Classic Pedal lässt sich mit Hilfe eines externen Netzteils (separat erhältlich) oder einer 9V-Blockbatterie betreiben.

Anschlüsse

Audioausgang (6,3 mm)
Audioeingang (3,5 mm)
Filter-CV-Eingang (3,5 mm)
Gate-Eingang (3,5 mm)
Clock-Ausgang (3,5 mm)
Buchse für DC-Netzteil (Tip = Negativ / Ring = Positiv)

Abmessungen

16 mal 10,5 mal 5,5 Zentimeter
Stromversorgung: 9 V, 15 mA

Gewicht
0.6 kg
artikelnr
GRdccp
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 352,10 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 419,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1