Hexinverter - VCNO - VC Noise Oscillator

Overview

Hexinverters VCNO is an innovative noise oscillator and random gate generator. The module utilizes a Linear Feedback Shift Register (LFSR) to produce sound. Its results range from white noise to digital sounding swooshes and crackles, which are reminiscent of old video game consoles. – And yet, the VCNO is completely made of discrete analog hardware.

For processing signals, the module offers several additional circuits. All in all, four colors of noise plus coincidentally occurring gate signals can be tapped off.  - A very versatile sound source, which is perfectly suited for creating drum sounds as well as atmospheric special effects.

Views

Details

The VCNO’s Linear Feedback Shift Register generates sequences made of pseudorandom square waves. As long as the frequency of these progressions is above the audio spectrum, humans perceive them as white noise. Lower values lead to digital sounding results. Pseudorandom means that, eventually, the sequence will repeat. However, at a speed of 120 BPM, this would take several months to happen.

The sequences’ frequency can be adjusted via a potentiometer. Additionally, there is a pitch CV input plus bipolar attenuator, which works either in a linear or exponential fashion. A jumper on the module’s circuit board decides which mode is used. Alternatively to the internal clock, users can feed an external signal to the VCNO. Sound generated by the LFSR is emitted at the noise output.

Furthermore, the signals are fed into several processing stages. Results can be tapped off three additional connectors. Scrch (Screech) delivers aggressive, howling sound, which is adjustable in pitch via another jumper on the circuit board. Sizzle removes individual square waves from the audio material. A potentiometer is used to determine the degree of processing. The outcome ranges from white noise to the sound of steak roasting on a barbecue grill and vinyl crackles. The Tear output emits dark colored noise, which appears kind of defective.

Last but not least, the VCNO comes equipped with a connector, which spits out random gate signals. – Great for triggering drum voices like hi-hats or percussion modules.

connectors

Noise, Scrch, Sizzle and Tear outputs
Gates output
Clock input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 6 HP wide, 30 mm in depth
Power consumption: 49 mA at +12V and 39 mA at -12V

Weight
0.067 kg
Article Number
HEXvcno
External Links
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €158.82 € 19% VAT incl. €189.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Hexinverter - VCNO - VC Noise Oscillator

Überblick

Musikalischer Krach – Hexinverters VCNO ist ein innovativer Noise-Oszillator und Zufalls-Gate-Generator. Das Modul nutzt ein lineares, rückgekoppeltes Schieberegister, um Signale zu erzeugen. Die Ergebnisse liegen, je nach Einstellungen, irgendwo zwischen weißem Rauschen und digital anmutenden Geräuschen ähnlich alter Videospielkonsolen. – Dabei handelt es sich beim VCNO um diskret aufgebaute Analoghardware.
Zur Weiterverarbeitung entstandener Signale hat das Modul diverse Zusatzschaltungen spendiert bekommen. Insgesamt lassen sich vier Rauschfarben plus zufällig auftretende Gate-Spannungen abgreifen. - Ein überaus vielseitiger Noise-Lieferant, der perfekt für Drum-Sounds und atmosphärische Spezialeffekte geeignet ist.

Ansichten

Details

Das lineare, rückgekoppelte Schieberegister des VCNOs erzeugt Sequenzen aus mehr oder weniger zufällig auftretenden Rechteckwellen. Solange die Frequenz dieser Abfolgen über dem Audiospektrum liegt, werden sie vom Menschen als weißes Rauschen wahrgenommen. Niedrige Werte führen zu digital klingenden Ergebnissen. De facto treten zwar durchaus Wiederholungen auf, bei einer Geschwindigkeit von 120 BPM braucht ein Durchgang allerdings mehrere Monate.

Die Frequenz der Sequenzen kann mit Hilfe eines Drehreglers justiert werden. Ergänzend gibt es einen linear oder exponentiell arbeitenden Pitch-CV-Eingang plus Abschwächer. Alternativ zum internen Taktgenerator kann eine externe Clock in den Oszillator eingeführt werden. Ergebnisse lassen sich am Noise-Ausgang abgreifen.

Zusätzlich wird das entstehende Rauschen in drei Bearbeitungsstufen geführt, prozessiert und anschließend an weiteren Ausgängen bereitgestellt. Scrch (Screech) liefert aggressiv-heulende Resultate, die mit Hilfe eines Schalters auf der Modulplatine in ihrer Tonhöhe variiert werden können. Sizzle entfernt einzelne Rechteckwellen aus dem Signal, die Bearbeitungsstärke lässt sich mit dem gleichnamigen Potentiometer regulieren. Die Ergebnisse können zwischen weißem Rauschen, auf einem Grill brutzelndem Steak und dem Knacksen einer Schallplatte liegen. Am Tear-Ausgang lässt sich dunkel, „kaputt“ wirkendes Rauschen abgreifen.

Zu guter Letzt bringt der VCNO einen Ausgang mit, der Gate-Signale in zufälliger Abfolge ausspuckt. – Eine großartige Ergänzung, um andere Drum-Module wie etwa Hi-Hats oder Percussion-Stimmen zu triggern.

Anschlüsse

Noise-, Scrch-, Sizzle- und Tear-Ausgänge
Gates-Ausgang
Clock-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 6 Teileinheiten breit, 30 mm tief
Stromverbrauch 49 mA auf +12V und 39 mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.067 kg
artikelnr
HEXvcno
Externe Videos
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar

Regulärer Preis: 225,00 €

Sonderpreis: € exkl. 19% MwSt. 163,87 € inkl. 19% MwSt. 195,00 €

zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1