Intellijel Designs - Tetrapad

Overview

Intellijel’s Tetrapad can be used as flexibly as the touchscreen of a tablet. The module features four ribbon sensors, which evaluate finger positions and pressure. Additionally, there are four rotary encoders with push function. What can you do with it? – A whole lot! Thanks to a total of nine modes of operation, it is possible to play drums, melodies and chords, change CV controllable parameters fluently / gradually or quickly turn functions on and off. On top of that, the Tetrapad can also be used as a quadruple LFO. – An extremely handy live tool!

Views

Details

The Tetrapad’s four touch sensors respond to both the vertical position of your finger and its pressure. Their feel is excellent. Wiping motions can be carried out smoothly. The pressure sensitivity is editable. Depending on the selected mode of operation, markings and twelve-digit LED meters visualize, for instance, note values, fader positions or LFO rates. In addition to the touch sensors, there are four push encoders. The functionality varies here as well. – But wait, there is more! Using the modules shift button, it is possible to switch between several behaviors for some control elements. For choosing between the Tetrapad’s nine modes of operation, there is another button. Multicolored LEDs help you to keep up with all this functionality. CV, gate and / or trigger signals are emitted via a total of eight outputs.

The nine modes of operation at a glance:

  • Fader mode: The touch sensors work like sliders. If you remove a finger from the surface, the selected value is either retained or the control element snaps back. Additional control voltages are generated by the touch sensors' pressure sensitivity. The encoders can be used to set a slew rate for each fader. In result, abrupt switching between two values leads to a slow parameter change. – Great for smooth, more or less automated volume fades, filter adjustments and so forth.

  • Voltages mode: Each touch sensor is divided into two areas, giving you access to eight stored voltages per output. Again, there is a slew parameter. – Perfect for morphing between different sound settings or to activate several envelopes, switches, and so forth at the same time.

  • Keyboard mode: Turns the touch sensors into a keyboard with eight keys. There are parameters for selecting a scale, octave, root note and an inversion. The latter is useful because, in addition to the note played, three transposed pitch CV signals are generated. Other voltages emitted by the module include position and pressure CVs as well as trigger and gate.

  • Custom keyboard mode: Similar to the keyboard mode described above, only instead of pitches being assigned automatically according to predefined scales, here you can set a note per key. By the way: You can also define a glide time in both keyboard modes.

  • Drum mode: The touch sensors generate position CVs and gate signals. All other control elements remain inactive.

  • LFO mode: Turns the Tetrapad into a quadruple LFO. For each low frequency oscillator, a separate, either unipolar (positive / negative) or bipolar waveform can be selected. You can choose between triangle, saw tooth, ramp, square and random. The touch sensors are used to set the LFO rates. In addition to the waveforms, the module generates a pressure CV per ribbon controller.

  • Switches mode: The touch sensors are divided into two areas so that eight buttons are created. There are two modes of operation, selectable per ribbon controller: Momentary and toggle.

  • Chord mode: Here you can select a four note chord plus root note per touch sensor. The corresponding pitch CVs are emitted via output one to four. Chords can be inverted. Furthermore, it is possible to rotate them from output to output. Other voltages emitted by the module include position and pressure CVs as well as trigger and gate.

  • Custom chord mode: Similar to the chord mode described above, but here you can define each note of the chords separately.
connectors

Eight CV, gate respectively trigger outputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 20 HP wide, 19 mm in depth
Power consumption: 130 mA at +12 V

Weight
0.15 kg
Article Number
IJtpd
External Videos
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €264.71 € 19% VAT incl. €315.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Intellijel Designs - Tetrapad

Überblick

Intellijels Tetrapad lässt sich ähnlich flexibel nutzen wie die Touch-Oberfläche eines Tablets. Das Modul verfügt über vier Sensorflächen, die Fingerposition und Druck auswerten. Ergänzend sind Endlosdrehregler mit Klickfunktion an Bord. Was man damit anstellen kann? – Eine ganze Menge! Dank neun verschiedener Modi lassen sich zum Beispiel Drums, Melodien und Akkorde spielen, Parameter fließend / stufenweise kontrollieren oder Funktionen schnell an- und ausschalten. Obendrauf ist auch der Einsatz als Vierfach-LFO möglich – Ein extrem praktisches Live-Tool!

Ansichten

Details

Die vier Sensorflächen des Tetrapads analysieren vertikale Fingerpositionen und den ausgeübten Druck. Ihre Haptik ist exzellent. Wischbewegungen lassen sich flüssig vollführen. Die Drucksensitivität ist editierbar. Markierungen und zwölfstellige LED-Ketten visualisieren, je nach gewählter Betriebsart, zum Beispiel Notenwerte, Fader-Positionen oder LFO-Geschwindigkeiten. Ergänzend zu den Ribbon-Controllern gibt es vier Endlosdrehregler mit Druckfunktion. Auch hier variieren die Einsatzgebiete. Per Druckfunktion sind weitere Parameter erreichbar. - Damit aber nicht genug! Via Shift-Taster kann man in manchen Modi zwischen mehreren Arbeitsweisen für Bedienelemente umschalten. Ein weiterer Taster dient dem Wechsel zwischen insgesamt neun Betriebsarten. Um bei so viel Funktionalität nicht den Überblick zu verlieren, hat Intellijel dem Tetrapad einige mehrfarbige LEDs spendiert. Zur Ausgabe von CV-, Gate- und / oder Trigger-Signalen stehen insgesamt acht Buchsen bereit.

Die neun Betriebsarten des Tetrapads im Überblick:

  • Fader-Modus: Die Sensorflächen arbeiten wie Schieberegler. Wenn man den Finger entfernt, bleiben die gewählten Werte entweder erhalten oder das Bedienelement schnappt zurück. Per Druckempfindlichkeit werden weitere Steuerspannungen generiert. Mit den Encodern kann man Verzögerungszeiten einstellen, sodass Wertesprünge langsam gleitend vollzogen werden. – Eine tolle Sache für sanfte Lautstärkeblenden, Filterfahrten und dergleichen.
  • Voltages-Modus: Die Sensorflächen werden in jeweils zwei Bereiche aufgeteilt. In den acht so entstehenden Regionen kann man für jeden Ausgang einen Spannungswert festlegen. Auch hier gibt es Verzögerungsoptionen zum langsamen Wechsel zwischen Werten. – Perfekt für komplexes Parameter-Morphing oder die gemeinsame Aktivierung mehrerer Hüllkurven, Switches, etc.
  • Keyboard-Modus: Verwandelt die Sensorflächen in ein Keyboard mit acht Tasten. Es gibt Parameter zur Auswahl von Tonleiter, Oktavlage, einer Grundnote und Invertierung. Letzteres ist nützlich, da neben der gespielten Note auch jeweils drei transponierte Pitch-CV-Signale ausgegeben werden. Als weitere Spannungen lassen sich Positions- und Druck-CVs sowie Trigger und Gate abgreifen.
  • Custom Keyboard-Modus: Ähnlich der normalen Keyboard-Betriebsart, allerdings werden Tonhöhen hier nicht nach vorgefertigten Skalen zugewiesen. Stattdessen kann man eine spezifische Note pro Taste einstellen. Übrigens kann man in beiden Keyboard-Modi auch eine Glide-Zeit festlegen.
  • Drum-Modus: Die Sensorflächen generieren Positions-CV- und Gate-Signale. Alle weiteren Bedienelemente bleiben ungenutzt.
  • LFO-Modus: Verwandelt das Tetrapad in einen Vierfach-LFO. Für jeden Schwingkreis lässt sich eine eigene, entweder unipolare (positiv / negativ) oder bipolare Wellenform bestimmen. Zur Auswahl stehen Dreieck, Sägezahn, Rampe, Rechteck und Zufall. Die Sensorflächen dienen der Tempobestimmung. Neben LFO-Wellen generiert das Modul in dieser Betriebsart eine Druck-CV pro Ribbon-Controller.
  • Switches-Modus: Die Sensorflächen werden in jeweils zwei Bereiche aufgeteilt, sodass acht Taster entstehen. Es gibt zwei Betriebsarten, auswählbar pro Ribbon-Controller: Aktiv bei Druck (Momentary) oder Ein / Aus (Toggle).
  • Chord-Modus: Hier ist ein vier Noten umfassender Akkord plus Grundnote pro Sensorfläche wählbar. Die entsprechenden Pitch-CVs werden an Ausgang eins bis vier abgegeben. Akkorde lassen sich invertieren. Außerdem kann man zwischen den Ausgängen rotieren. Glide-Effekte sind auch möglich. Als weitere Spannungen lassen sich Positions- und Druck-CVs sowie Trigger und Gate abgreifen.
  • Custom Chord-Modus: Ähnlich der Chord-Betriebsart, allerdings kann man hier jede Note der Akkorde einzeln bestimmen.
Anschlüsse

Acht CV-, Gate- beziehungsweise Trigger-Ausgänge

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 20 TE breit, 19 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 130 mA auf +12 V

Gewicht
0.15 kg
artikelnr
IJtpd
Externe Videos
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 264,71 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 315,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag