Jomox Alpha Base

Overview

Punchy rhythms guaranteed! – The Alpha Base is a high-end drum machine featuring eleven instruments, sampling capabilities, effects and a sequencer. In detail, the unit offers analog kick and snare circuits, a total of six hybrid voices, two digital percussion generators and a polyphonic FM synthesizer. All instruments are well-equipped. – It is even possible to record and process samples with the Alpha Base. Delay and reverb effects give sounds the finishing touch. The sequencer allows users to create polyrhythmic beats with up to 64 steps per pattern. Besides notes, it is also possible to record parameter changes and swap presets per step.
In terms of sound, the Alpha Base is one of the most powerful drum machines ever made. Its instruments are remarkably flexible and beefy. – The bass drum alone can tear down buildings. Despite all the synthesis, processing and sequencer functions, handling the Alpha Base isn’t complicated at all. – A great choice for producing music in the studio as well as playing live.

Views

Details

Bass drum and snare circuits of the Alpha Base are fully analog. The latter is a complete MBrane voice, meaning it can also be used to create percussion hits, cow bells, claves, toms and so forth. Six other instrument channels produce sound with the help of sample players plus metallic noise generators. Results are fed into analog filters and VCAs for processing. Two of these drum voices feature VCFs especially designed for sculpting hi hats. They can work as either low or high pass circuits with a slope of -12 dB per octave. The other instances come equipped with multimode filters, which are not only usable as audio processors, but sound sources as well. (Low pass, band pass and high pass modes / -12 dB per octave).

Additionally, there are two completely digital instrument channels. Again, samples are used to generate sound. – It is even possible to record short audio snippets of up to four seconds directly into these channels (WAV / AIFF format, 16 Bit/ 48 kHz). Results can be allocated to other sample based drum voices. For storing data, a SD card slot was implemented. A tuning functions allows users to alter the pitch of audio material. Furthermore, start and end points are adjustable plus there is a loop function.

Last but not least, the Alpha Base features a FM Synth with four operators. Thanks to its six note polyphony, users can not only create wicked percussion sounds, but chords and melodies as well. An external keyboard can be used to play the FM synth directly. All instrument channels possess a comprehensive set of editing functions and modulators. For refining sounds, delay and reverb effects with routing options were implemented.

The Alpha’s sequencer offers eleven tracks. Pattern can have a length of up to 64 steps. Besides notes, it is also possible to record parameter changes. Furthermore, users can swap between presets per step. The last step of a pattern is definable per track. Thanks to this, it is easily possible to create polyrhythmic beats with the Alpha Base. Shuffle and micro step options plus roll and flam functions give beats a nice, groovy touch. A chaining mode allows users to link patterns.

For external control and synchronization, the Alpha Base was equipped with MIDI-DIN and USB connectors. The first mentioned ports can also be used with the DIN-Sync protocol.

connectors

Mix and headphone outputs
Eight individual outputs
MIDI DIN inputs, output and thru port (Also usable with DIN Sync signals)
USB connector
Input for external power supply

dimensions

41 x 24 x 8 centimeters

Weight
3.3 kg
Article Number
JMXAB
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €1,427.73 € 19% VAT incl. €1,699.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Jomox Alpha Base

Überblick

Pure Schlagkraft – Die Alpha Base ist ein hochkarätiger Drum-Computer mit elf Instrumenten, Sampling-Fähigkeiten, Effekten und Sequenzer. Im Detail bietet die Rhythmusmaschine analoge Kick- und Snare-Schaltungen, sechs Hybridstimmen, zwei rein digitale Schlagwerkgeneratoren und einen polyphonen FM-Synthesizer. Alle Instrumente sind umfangreich ausgestattet. – Es ist sogar möglich, Samples mit der Alpha Base aufzunehmen und zu bearbeiten. Echo- und Halleffekte geben Sounds den letzten Schliff. Der Sequenzer erlaubt die Erstellung polyrhythmischer Beats mit einer Länge von bis zu 64 Schritten je Pattern. Neben Noten lassen sich auch Parameterveränderungen und Preset-Wechsel aufzeichnen.
Klanglich glänzt die Alpha Base durch enorm wuchtigen, voluminösen Sound. – Mit der Bass-Drum alleine kann man Häuser einreißen. Dank großem Parameterangebot lassen sich alle Instrumente flexibel editieren. Die Bedienung geht, trotz riesigem Funktionsumfang, gut von der Hand.

Ansichten

Details

Kick- und Snare-Schaltungen der Alpha Base sind komplett analog aufgebaut. Bei der Snare handelt es sich um eine komplette MBrane-Stimme, das heißt es können auch an Kuhglocken, Klanghölzer, Toms und andere Schlaginstrumente erinnernde Sounds geschaffen werden. Sechs weitere Kanäle generieren Audiomaterial mit Hilfe von Sample-Playern und metallischen Rauschgeneratoren. Ergebnisse lassen sich durch analoge Filter und VCAs prozessieren. Zwei dieser Drum-Stimmen besitzen speziell auf die Erzeugung von Hi-Hats zugeschnittene VCFs. Die Schaltungen stellen Hochpass- und Tiefpassmodus mit einer Flankensteilheit von -12 dB pro Oktave bereit. Die anderen Instanzen sind mit variabel nutzbaren Multimode-Filtern ausgestattet. (Hoch-, Band- und Tiefpassmodus / -12 dB pro Oktave) Bei Selbstoszillation lassen sich die VCFs als Klangquellen einsetzen.

Ergänzend gibt es zwei komplett digitale Instrumentenkanäle. Auch hier werden Samples zur Klangerzeugung verwendet. Es ist sogar möglich, kurze Audioschnipsel von bis zu vier Sekunden mit der Alpha Base aufzunehmen. (WAV- / AIFF-Format, 16 Bit / 48 kHz) Resultate können direkt verwendet oder anderen Sample-basierten Stimmen zugewiesen werden. Als Datenspeicher kommt eine SD-Karte zum Einsatz. Eine Tuning-Funktion erlaubt es Nutzern, Samples zu stimmen. Des Weiteren gibt es verschiebbare Start- und Endpunkte sowie eine Loop-Funktion.

Obendrauf hat die Alpha Base einen FM-Synthesizer mit vier Operatoren an Bord. Dank sechsfacher Polyphonie können nicht nur wilde Percussion-Sounds, sondern auch Akkorde und Melodien mit diesem Instrument erstellt werden. Schließt man ein MIDI-Keyboard an, lässt sich der FM-Synthesizer direkt spielen. Alle Instrumentenkanäle verfügen über ein üppiges Parameter- und Modulator-Angebot. Echo- und Hall-Effekte dienen der Veredelung von Klängen.

Der Sequenzer bietet elf Spuren. Pattern können eine Länge von bis zu 64 Schritten haben. Neben Noten lassen sich auch Parameterveränderungen und Preset-Wechsel festhalten. Der letzte Schritt eines Pattern ist pro Track definierbar. – Polyrhythmische Experimente sind mit der Alpha Base also kein Problem. Shuffle und Micro-Step-Optionen plus Roll- und Flam-Funktionen sorgen für das richtige Feeling. Mehrere Pattern können verkettet werden.

Zur externen Steuerung und Synchronisation wurden der Alpha Base MIDI-DIN- und USB-Schnittstellen spendiert. Die erstgenannten Anschlüsse lassen sich auch für DIN-Sync-Signale nutzen.

Anschlüsse

Summen- und Kopfhörerausgänge
Acht Einzelausgänge
MIDI-Trio (Auch DIN-Sync)
USB-Port
Eingang für externes Netzteil

Abmessungen

41 mal 24 mal 8 Zentimeter

Gewicht
3.3 kg
artikelnr
JMXAB
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 1.427,73 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 1.699,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag