Kilpatrick Audio - K3021 Master VCO

Overview

This excellent analog oscillator is based around a triangle core and has been built around discrete transistors, providing for amazing sound and high stability. What makes the 3021 extra special is the use of complex wave shaper and a triple PWM circuit for a rich and living character. An finally the VCO features voltage controllable crossfading between the waveforms and linear FM.

Views

Details

The K3021's tremendous frequency range spans from 60 seconds per cycle to 15kHz. The frequency setting is done with coarse and fine tuning potentiometers and a switch alternates between VCO or LFO mode.
Voltage control of frequency is made possible via an 1V/octave input and a linear FM input with attenautor. A temperature compensated exponential converter with matched transistors provides for best tracking. A sync input is used for hard oscillator synchronisation.

In the K3021 a triangle is used as the core waveform from which the sine and the sawtooth are derived. Afterwards they are processed by a complex waveshaper generating single, dual and even triple pulse wave modulated waves, sounding sound way more complex and living than a conventional PWM.
The pulse width(s) are set manually with PWM Offset and via the PWM modulation input which can be attenuated. The wave forms are available at two different outputs:

  • BLEND: This parameter blends from a selectable waveform (sine, triangle, sawtooth) to pulse which is done manually with Blend Offset and with a CV at the Blend In socket. The VCAs used for the blend function are high-quality with ultra-low distortion. The wave which has been selected with the Wave potentiometer is displayed with a LEDs.
  • PULSE: At the Pulse Out only the output of the pulse shaper are emitted. The Pulse switch selects between a single, dual or triple PWM which is visualized with LEDs as well.

miscellaneous

The 3021 Master VCO is based on the design of the 3021 Dual VCO but it was completely re-designed to replace discontinued or hard to find parts.

connectors

inputs: 1V/oct (CV IN), FM, PWM CV, Sync, Blend CV
waveform outputs: blend out, pulse out

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18HP wide
current draw: 90mA at +12V and 50mA at -12V

Weight
0.197 kg
Article Number
KP3021
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €231.09 € 19% VAT incl. €275.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 2-3 Tage

Kilpatrick Audio - K3021 Master VCO

Überblick

Dieser exzellente analoge Oszillator basiert auf einem Dreieckskern und wurde um diskrete Transistoren herum aufgebaut, die für beeindruckenden Wohlklang und hohe Stabilität sorgen. Was den 3021 speziell macht ist der Einsatz komplexer Waveshaper und einer dreifachen Pulsbreiten-Schaltung mit deutlich lebendigem Charakter. Und zum Schluss gibt es spannungssteuerbares Crossfading zwischen den Wellenformen und lineare FM.

Ansichten

Details

Der enorme Frequenzbereich des K3021 reicht von 60 Sekunden pro Schwingung bis zu 15 Kilohertz. Die Frequenzeinstellung geschieht mit Potis für grobe und feine Stimmung. Dazu geselt sich ein Schalter, der den VCO in den LFO-Modus begibt.
Spannungssteuerung der Frequenz wird ermöglicht über einen 1 V/Oktave-Eingang und einen linearen FM-Eingang mit Abschwächer. Ein temperaturkompensierter Exponentialkonverter mit "gematchten" Transistoren sorgt für bestes Tracking. Ein Sync-Eingang dient zur harten Oszillatorsynchronisation.

Als Grundwellenform dient beim K3021 ein Dreieck, aus dem Sinus und Sägezehn abgeleitet werden, um dann durch einen komplexen Waveshaper eine bis zu dreifache Pulsweitenmodulation Pulswellen zu generieren, welche erheblich komplexer und lebendiger klingt als herkömmliche PWM.
Die Pulsbreite(n) werden manuell mit PWM Offset eingestellt sowie über den PWM-Modulationseingang der über einen Abschwächer verfügt. Die Wellenformen stehen an zwei verschiedenen Ausgängen bereit:

  • BLEND: Dieser Parameter blendet vom einer selektierbaren Wellenform (Sinus, Dreick oder Sägezahn) zum Puls um, was manuell mit Blend Offset und spannungsgesteuert über die Buchse Blend In geschieht. Die für den Blend-Vorgang verwendeten VCAs sind hochqualtitativ und weisen ultraniedrige Verzerrung auf. Die mittels des Wave-Schalters ausgewählte Wellenform wird mit LEDs angezeigt.
  • PULSE: Am Pulse Out werden nur der Ausgang des Puls-Shapers ausgegeben. Der Pulse-Schalter selektiert zwischen einer ein-, zwei- oder dreifachen Pulsbreitenmodulation, die ebenfalls mit LEDs angezeigt wird.

Sonstiges

Der 3021 Master VCO basiert auf dem Design des 3020 Dual-VCO, wurde jedoch komplett überarbeitet, um manche raren oder abgekündigten Bauteile zu ersetzen.

Anschlüsse

Eingänge: 1V/Oktave (CV IN), FM, PWM-CV, Sync, Blend-CV
Wellenformausgänge: Blend, Pulse

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 18 TE breit
Stromverbrauch: 90 mA auf +12V und 50 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.197 kg
artikelnr
KP3021
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 231,09 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 275,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 2-3 Tage