Kilpatrick Audio - Phenol

Overview

The semi-modular Phenol unifies the compact size of a desktop synthesizer with a modular synthesizer's flexibility which is enhanced by USB-MIDI, a MIDI digital sequencer, a clock divider and a digital delay.
External audio inputs allow for processing audio signals are included as well as a headphone amplifier. Instead of minijacks the Phenol uses banana sockets which provide for a solid and safe connection and simplify patching by color coding.

Details

First of all: the Phenol is not a pre-patched semi-modular synthesizer! All connections, both audio and control voltages, have to be patched by yourself. This open concept makes it possible to use the synthesizer either as a keyboard controlled instrument or as an experimental, "free-running" unit which does what it wants.
Soundwise the Phenol is to be filed under "rough".
Instead of the usual minijacks the Phenol uses banana sockets - these have no ground wire and thus it is necessary to ground the instrument via the implemented grounding socket or by connecting to external audio gear, e.g. via an ordinary audio cable which has ground.
The synthesizer works with the standard 1V/octave control volgates and positive gates. The only difference to most voltage controlled units is that all CVs are in the range of -5V to +5V, even the envelopes.

There are two identical, sawtooth-based VCOs simultaneously producing sawtooth, pulse and triangle. Their pitch can be controlled coarse and fine. There's a 1V/octave input, CV inputs for FM and PWM as well as a sync input.
Above the waveform outputs you will find sockets carrying external audio signals as the Phenol has two external audio inputs for line levels.

Two is the magic number and some components are dual in the Phenol, for instance two filters: a lowpass with strong resonance for emphasizing certain frequencies as well as a high pass filter with a strong bandpass character. Both sound really nice, have been designed for high resonance settings without self-oscillation and feature a special resonance limiter circuit. Each filter has an input, an output and a scalable FM input.

Directly below the filters we find the VCA section consisting of two identical VCAs which have an exponential curve and thus are primarily intended for processing audio signals.

A little more complex is the modulation department:
The envelopes aren't usual ADSRs but multifuntional circuits featuring three selectable modes: attack-decay envelope. attack-hold-release envelope or oscillator mode. In the latter, mostly used for LFO applications, you can set the oscillator's speed and level instead of time segments.
Besides that we find two more buttons. The first determines the amount of smoothing, the gate delay time or a quantisation you might use for arpeggios. The second button selects the output mode: normal, inverted or absolute value.

The digital LFO is pretty rudimentary - it doesn't feature voltage control and it only generates a sine wave and random/noise. The low resoultion and sample rate provide for a rough sound.

In the bottom center a section with useful tools is located:
The Adder is a two-channel mixer. The level potemtiometer has an amplification factor of 2. There's a positive and an inverted output.
The Divider divides down the frequency of an applied clock and outputs it with the following divisors: 2, 3, 4 and 6. It works with all cyclic pulse streams e.g. the MIDI Clock or a square wave LFO. If a MIDI clock start message is received by Phenol, the divider outputs will be reset and the divider restarts the counting.
The MIDI/CV converter emits at separate sockets the note control voltage, the modulation wheel's value, the note on/off command as a gate signal and finally the MIDI Clock. Besides this it contains a digital miniature sequencer capable of recording MIDI notes.

The Mixer to the bottom right is a digital output mixer section. It offers two channels, each with adjustable level and panorama. A digital, gritty lo-fi delay with adjustable delay time (1-300ms) is integrated, too. The mix potentiometer controls the dry/wet mix and the feedback value at the same time.

connectors

A lot of banana sockets for the individual sections
2.1mm input for external universal 24V DC power supply (included)
grounding banana socket
2x external input, 2x line output (L+R), headphone output
MIDI In, USB-MIDI connector

dimensions

W x L x H (including feet and knobs): 401 x 223 x 63,5mm (15.8"x 8.8" x 2.5" )

Weight
2.697 kg
Article Number
KPphenol
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €755.46 € 19% VAT incl. €899.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Kilpatrick Audio - Phenol

Überblick

Der halbmodulare Phenol vereinigt die kompakte Größe eines Desktop-Synthesizers mit der Flexibilität eines analogen Modularsynthesizers, die durch USB-MIDI, einen MIDI-Digitalsequenzer, Clockdivider und ein Digitaldelay erweitert wird. Externe Eingänge zum Bearbeiten von Audio sind genauso vorhanden wie ein Kopfhörerverstärker.
Anstatt Miniklinken hat der Phenol Bananenbuchsen, die eine solide und sichere Verbindung sicherstellen und deren Farbkodierung das Patchen erleichtert.

Ansichten

Details

Zuallererst: der Phenol ist kein vorgepatchter halbmodularer Synthesizer! Alle Verbindungen, Audio wie Steuerspannungen, müssen von dir selber gesteckt werden. Dieses offene Konzept macht es möglich, den Synth als keyboardgesteuertes Instrument zu nutzen, aber genauso gut als experimentelles, "freilaufendes" Gerät, welches macht was es will.
Klanglich ist der Phenol eher in der rohen Ecke einzuordnen.
Anstatt der mittlerweile üblichen Miniklinken benutzt Phenol Bananenstecker - diese führen keine Masse und so muss über die Ground-Buchse oder durch das Verbinden mit externem, geerdetem Equipment (z.B. über ein Audiokabel) geerdet werden.
Der Synthesizer arbeitet mit den üblichen 1V/Oktave-Steuerspannungen und positiven Gate-Signalen. Der einzige Unterschied zu den meisten CV-gesteuerten Geräten ist, daß alle CVs von -5V bis +5V reichen, sogar die Hüllkurven.

Es gibt zwei identische sägezahnbasierte VCOs, die simultan Sägezahn, Puls und Dreieck generieren. Ihre Stimmung kann grob und fein geregelt werden. Es gibt einen 1V/Oktave-Eingang, CV-Eingänge für FM und PWM sowie Sync.
Neben den Wellenformausgängen findest du auch Bananenbuchsen, die externe Audiosignale führen, denn der Phenol hat zwei externe Audioeingänge für Line-Pegel.

Zwei an der Zahl sind einige Komponenten des Phenol, so auch die Filter: Ein Tiefpass mit starker Resonanz zur Betonung bestimmter Frequenzen sowie ein Hochpassfilter mit einem deutlichen nasalen Bandpass-Charakter. Beide klingen schön, wurden für hohe Resonanzen ohne Selbstoszillation angepasst und weisen deshalb einen eigens entworfenen Resonanzlimiter auf. Jedes Filter hat einen Eingang, einen Ausgang und einen skalierbaren FM-Eingang.

Direkt unter den Filtern finden wir die VCA-Sektion mit zwei identischen VCAs, die eine exponentielle Kennlinie aufweisen und deshalb primär für die Bearbeitung von Audiosignalen gedacht sind.

Komplexer ist die Modulationsabteilung:
Die Hüllkurven sind keine üblichen ADSRs, sondern multifunktionale Schaltungen, die drei umschaltbare Modi aufweisen: Attack-Decay-Hüllkurve, Attack-Hold-Release-Hüllkurve oder Oszillatormodus. Im letzten, hauptsächlich für LFO-Anwendungen gedachten, Modus wird statt der Hüllkurvenzeiten die Geschwindigkeit und der Pegel des Oszillators eingestellt.
Ferner finden wir zwei weitere Taster, die das Verhalten steuern. Der erste stellt den Glättungsgrad, die Gate-Delay-Zeit oder eine Quantisierung ein, die man für Arpeggios nutzen kann. Der zweite Taster bestimmt den Ausgabe-Modus: normal, invertiert oder Absolutwert.

Der digitale LFO ist recht rudimentär - er ist nicht spannungssteuerbar und generiert nur Sinus und Zufall/Rauschen. Die geringe Auflösung und Samplerate sorgen für einen rauhen Sound.

Unten mittig gibt es eine Sektion mit nützlichen Werkzeugen:
Der Adder ist ein Zweikanal-Mixer. Der Pegelregler bietet einen Verstärkungsfaktor von 2. Es gibt einen positiven und einen phaseninverierten Ausgang.
Der Divider teilt die Frequenz einer zugeführten Clock und gibt sie mit den Teilerfaktoren 2, 3 4 und 6 an separaten Buchsen aus. Funktioniert mit allen zyklischen Pulsen, z.B. der MIDI-Clock oder einem Rechteck-LFO. Bei einem MIDI-Start-Befehl werden die Ausgänge zurückgesetzt und der Divider fängt von Null an zu zählen.
Der MIDI/CV-Wandler gibt an individuellen Buchsen die Noten-Steuerspannung, den Wert des Modulationsrads, den Note-On/Off-Befehl als Gate und final die MIDI Clock aus. Ferner enthält er auch einen digitalen Mini-Sequenzer, der MIDI-Noten aufnehmen kann.

Der Mixer rechts unten ist eine digitale Mischer-Sektion. Er bietet zwei Kanäle mit einstellbaren Pegel und Panorama. Ein digitales, schmutziges, Lo-Fi Delay mit einstellbarer Delay-Zeit (1-200 ms) ist auch integriert; der Mix-Regler steuert gleichzeitig den Dry/Wet-Mix und das Feedback.

Anschlüsse

viele Bananenbuchsen für die einzelnen Sektionen
2,1 mm Eingang für externes, universelles 24V DC-Netzteil (im Lieferumfang enthalten)
Bananenbuchse zum Erden
2x externe Eingänge, 2x Line-Ausgänge (L+R), Kopfhörerausgang
MIDI-In, USB-MIDI-Anschluss

Abmessungen

B x L x H (inklusive Füße und Knöpfe): 401 x 223 x 63,5 mm

Gewicht
2.697 kg
artikelnr
KPphenol
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 755,46 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 899,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1