Klavis - Mixwitch

Overview

The Mixwitch is much more than “just” a dual two-channel or four-channel mixer with changeable characteristic (linear / logarithmic) and click-free mute function. Thanks to its digitally controlled, yet completely analog signal path, the module can also be used as a multiple inverter, CV or offset generator, voltage-controlled switch, 4-step sequencer or sub oscillator. – Just to name a few possibilities.

Views

Details

The Mixwitch module features two identically designed mixers. Each section is equipped with two signal inputs plus level potentiometers and an output. A switch allows you to select either linear or logarithmic characteristic. Thus, the module can be used to process both control voltages and audio material. In addition, each mixer offers a click-free mute button. Other switches make it possible to invert individual channels.

With the level potentiometers turned fully clockwise, Mixwitch amplifies incoming signals by a factor of 2. While in logarithmic mode, an attenuator (-6 dB) is activated to prevent the circuits from overloading. The outputs are normalized, meaning you can not only use the module as two separate two-channel mixers, but a single four-channel mixer as well.

As long as inputs remain unpatched, they are connected to a fixed voltage source. Thus, the Mixwitch is usable as a voltage or offset generator in the range from -10 V to +10 V.

At the bottom of the front panel, you’ll find the so-called Switcher, a control section for the mixer channels. It consists of a CV respectively clock input, a button and three LEDs. Six modes of operation are available:

  • Off – The Switcher is deactivated, meaning the mixers operate normally.
  • CV, four channels – The module activates one of the four mixing channels at a time. Which signal path is chosen depends on the strength of the control voltage coming in at the CV / Clock input. (Range: 0 V to +4 V, meaning 1 V per channel.)
  • Clock, four channels – Clock or trigger signals make the module switch from one channel to the next in a sequential loop.
  • Clock, four channels, random – Clock or trigger signals make the module switch from one channel to another randomly.
  • CV, two channels – The module switches between the channels of mixer B. Which signal path is chosen depends on the strength of the control voltage coming in at the CV / Clock input. (Range: 0 V to +2 V, meaning 1 V per channel.) Mixer A is unaffected.
  • Clock, two channels – Clock or trigger signals make the module switch between the two channels of mixer B. Mixer A is unaffected.

Thanks to the several modes of operation listed above, it is not only possible to use the Mixwitch as a configurable switch, but in many other ways as well. For instance, you can employ the module as a sequencer with four steps. As there’s a fixed voltage source plus level controls and inverters present, dialing in CV values can be done easily. If, on the other hand, audio waveforms are fed to the Switcher’s input while being in two-channel or four-channel clock mode, the module will generate sub-oscillator waves one or two octaves below the main signal. Furthermore, the click-free circuit design allows you to combine several VCO waveforms to form more complex results. Have a look at the manual for more areas of application.

connectors

Per mixer
Two signal inputs
Signal output

CV/Clk input for the Switcher

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8 HP wide, 25 mm in depth
Power consumption: 22 mA at +12 V, 26 mA at -12 V and 13 mA at +5 V

Weight
0.15 kg
Article Number
KLmw
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €108.40 € 19% VAT incl. €129.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Klavis - Mixwitch

Überblick

Die Mischhexe ist weit mehr als „nur“ ein dualer Zweikanal- beziehungsweise Vierkanalmixer mit umschaltbarer Kennlinie (linear / logarithmisch) und klickloser Mute-Funktion. So kann das Modul, dank cleverer Zusatzoptionen, zum Beispiel auch als Mehrfachinverter, CV- beziehungsweise Offset-Generator, spannungssteuerbarer Schalter, 4-Schritt-Sequenzer oder Suboszillator eingesetzt werden. Der Signalfluss ist komplett analog, die Bedienebene hingegen digital.

Ansichten

Details

Das Mixwitch-Modul verfügt über zwei identisch aufgebaute Mischsektionen, die mit jeweils zwei pegelbaren Signaleingängen und einem Abgriff ausgestattet sind. Per Schalter kann man zwischen linearer und logarithmischer Kennlinie auswählen. Das Modul lässt sich also gleichsam für Steuerspannungen wie auch Audiomaterial einsetzen. Außerdem hat jeder Mixer einen Mute-Taster zur Stummschaltung dabei. Klicks treten hierbei nicht auf. Weitere Schalter dienen der Invertierung einzelner Kanäle.

Mit den Pegelreglern auf Rechtsanschlag verstärkt Mixwitch eingehende Signale um den Faktor 2. Im logarithmischen Betrieb wird ein Dämpfungsglied (-6 dB) zugeschaltet, das Übersteuerungen vorbeugt. Die Signalausgänge der Mischer sind zueinander normalisiert. Neben dualem Zweikanalbetrieb ist also auch der Einsatz als vierkanaliger Mixer möglich.

Bleiben Eingänge ungenutzt, werden sie mit einer Festspannungsquelle verdrahtet. Somit kann das Modul als Spannungs- beziehungsweise Offset-Generator im Bereich von -10 V bis +10 V verwendet werden.

Unten an der Frontplatte findet sich der sogenannte Switcher, eine Steuersektion für die Mixerkanäle. Sie besteht aus einem CV- beziehungsweise Clock-Eingang, einem Taster und drei LEDs. Sechs Betriebsarten stehen zur Auswahl:

  • Aus – Der Switcher ist deaktiviert. Die Mixer können normal verwendet werden.
  • CV, vier Kanäle – Der Switcher schaltet, in Abhängigkeit einer am CV-/Clock-Eingang anliegenden Steuerspannung, zwischen den vier Mischkanälen um. (Bereich: 0 V bis +4 V, das heißt 1 V je Kanal.)
  • Clock, vier Kanäle – Der Switcher schaltet, bei eingehenden Takt- oder Trigger-Signalen, nacheinander zwischen den vier Mischkanälen um.
  • Clock, vier Kanäle, Random-Modus – Der Switcher schaltet, bei eingehenden Takt- oder Trigger-Signalen, in zufälliger Reihenfolge zwischen den vier Mischkanälen um.
  • CV, zwei Kanäle - Der Switcher schaltet, in Abhängigkeit einer am CV-/Clock-Eingang anliegenden Steuerspannung, zwischen den beiden Kanälen des unteren Mixers um. (Bereich: 0 bis +2 V; das heißt 1 V je Kanal.) Der obere Mischer kann anderweitig verwendet werden.
  • Clock, zwei Kanäle – Der Switcher schaltet, bei eingehenden Taktsignalen, zwischen den beiden Kanälen des unteren Mixers um. Der obere Mischer kann anderweitig verwendet werden.

Dank der verschiedenen Betriebsarten ist es nicht nur möglich, die Mischhexe als konfigurierbaren Schalter zu verwenden, sondern es sind auch noch viele andere Einsatzgebiete denkbar. Ein Beispiel ist die Nutzung als Vier-Schritt-Sequenzer. CV-Werte lassen sich via integrierter Festspannungsquelle plus Pegelreglern und Invertern komfortabel einstellen. Führt man dem Switcher hingegen Audioschwingungen zu, können im zwei- oder vierkanaligen Clock-Modus ein beziehungsweise zwei Oktaven unter dem Hauptsignal liegende Suboszillator-Wellen produziert werden. Die Kombination mehrerer VCO-Schwingungen zu einer komplexeren Wellenform ist, dank klickfreiem Design, ebenfalls machbar. Weitere Anwendungsbeispiele finden sich im Handbuch.

Anschlüsse

Je Mixer:
Zwei Signaleingänge
Signalausgang

CV/Clk-Eingang in der Switcher-Sektion

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 TE breit, 25 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 22 mA auf +12 V, 26 mA auf -12 V und 13 mA auf +5 V

Gewicht
0.15 kg
artikelnr
KLmw
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 108,40 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 129,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1