Klavis - Twin Waves

Overview

The Twin Waves is a dual oscillator with modern, rather hard and clearly digital sound. Besides shapeable standard waveforms, there are algorithms based on phase distortion, phase displacement, bit crushing, self-synchronization, ring modulation, processed noise, additive synthesis and unison stacks. Additionally, the through-zero circuit features linear frequency modulation and sync modes. A sub oscillator supports the main waveform generators while producing bass sounds. Furthermore, it is possible to use one or both oscillators in a LFO mode. For this application, a second set of algorithms plus some additional functions were implemented.

Views

Details

Even though the oscillators share one set of control elements, editing the Twin Waves is fairly easy, thanks to LEDs and a small display. A total of 20 synthesis algorithms were implemented. Each program is editable in one parameter. Using the module’s CV inputs, modulations are possible as well. Some of the algorithms utilize two or more virtual waveform generators to produce sound. The available synthesis modes can be summarized as follows:

  • Waveform generator plus wave shaper
  • Waveform generator plus bit crusher
  • Phase distortion
  • Four waveform generators with editable phasing
  • Additive synthesis based on seven sine waves
  • Unison stacks with three to five waves
  • Two synchronized waveform generators
  • Two ring modulated waveform generators
  • Noise, processed by a low-pass or high-pass filter respectively a resonator

The pitch of each oscillator is adjustable via coarse and fine tune potentiometers. For playing the audio generators, there are 1v per octave inputs. Besides being used independently, it is possible to control both oscillators via just one input. An offset parameter allows musicians to set intervals. Furthermore, each audio generator comes equipped with an editable quantizer. A synchronization input with hard and soft sync options is available as well. On top of that, the first oscillator features a FM/AM connector, which can not only be used for linear frequency modulations, but is also able to influence either the quantizer, the algorithm selection or the amplitude. The sub oscillator produces square waves. Audio material is generated by the Twin Waves with a resolution of 24 Bit and 96 kHz.

In LFO mode, the oscillators offer a different set of algorithms. Additionally, there are two types of synchronization: The first one restarts the waveform as soon as a trigger arrives. The second works with an external clock signal plus editable divisors respectively multipliers. Frequency modulations are possible using the module’s 1v per octave inputs. The FM/AM connector allows musicians to modulate the LFO’s amplitude.

Algorithms in LFO mode:

  • Saw / triangle
  • Square / pulse
  • Sine (Phase distortion)
  • Brownian S&H
  • Randomly timed S&H
  • Brownian vectors
  • Randomly timed vectors
miscellaneous

VCO range: 10 Hz to 10 kHz
LFO Range: 2 minutes to 2 kHz

connectors

Oscillator 1:
1V per octave input
Parameter CV input
FM/AM input
Audio output
Sub oscillator output

Oscillator 2:
1V per octave input
Parameter CV input
Audio output

Both oscillators share a sync / clock input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8 HP wide, 38 mm in depth
Power consumption: 46 mA at +12 V and 18 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.15 kg
Article Number
KLtw
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €192.44 € 19% VAT incl. €229.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Klavis - Twin Waves

Überblick

Der Twin Waves ist ein Dual-Oszillator mit modernem, vergleichsweise hartem Digitalsound. Neben Standardwellen plus Waveshaper bietet der Through-Zero-Schwingkreis auch Algorithmen auf Basis von Phasenverzerrung, Phasenverschiebung, Bit-Crushing, Selbstsynchronisation, Ringmodulation, prozessiertem Rauschen, additiver Synthese und Unison-Schichtungen. Ergänzend gibt es lineare Frequenzmodulation und Sync-Modi. Ein Sub-Oszillator sorgt für ordentlich Tiefgang. Alternativ zum Audio-Betrieb lassen sich die Schwingkreise des Twin Waves als LFOs verwenden. – Mit eigener Algorithmus-Palette und Zusatzfunktionen.

Ansichten

Details

Die Oszillatoren des Twin Waves teilen sich zwar einen Satz Bedienelemente, dank LEDs und einem kleinen Display verliert man aber nie die Übersicht. Insgesamt 20 Synthesealgorithmen wurden implementiert. Jedes Programm kann in einem Parameter editiert werden. CV-Eingänge erlauben Modulationen. Zum Teil nutzen die Algorithmen drei oder mehr virtuelle Wellengeneratoren, um Sound zu erzeugen. Die Synthesearten des Twin Waves lassen sich grob in folgende Gruppen aufteilen:

  • Wellenformgenerator mit Waveshaper
  • Wellenformgenerator mit Bit-Crusher
  • Phasen-Verzerrung
  • Vier Wellenformgeneratoren mit verschiebbarer Phase
  • Additive Synthese mit sieben Sinuswellen
  • Unison-Schichtungen mit drei oder fünf Schwingungen
  • Wellenformgenerator plus Sync-Schwingkreis
  • Zwei Wellenformgeneratoren plus Ring-Modulator
  • Rauschen mit Hoch- beziehungsweise Tiefpassfilter oder Resonator.

Die Tonhöhen der Oszillatoren werden durch Grob- und Feinstimmungsregler bestimmt. Zum Spiel stehen 1V/Oktav-Buchsen bereit. Neben unabhängigem Betrieb ist es möglich, die Schwingkreise gemeinsam mit nur einem Eingang zu steuern. Hierbei kann auf Wunsch ein Offset festgelegt werden, um beispielsweise Terz- oder Quint-Abstände zu definieren. Darüber hinaus hat jeder Oszillator einen auf verschiedene Skalen einstellbaren Quantizer spendiert bekommen. Per Sync-/Clk-Buchse kann man einen oder beide Audiogeneratoren zu externen Signalen synchronisieren. Hierbei stehen Hard- und Soft-Sync-Modi zur Auswahl. Der erste Schwingkreis bringt obendrauf eine FM/AM-Buchse mit, die nicht nur lineare Frequenzmodulationen, sondern auch Beeinflussungen von Quantizer, Algorithmus-Auswahl oder Pegel erlaubt. Der Suboszillator generiert Rechteckwellen, die eine Oktave unterhalb des ersten Oszillators liegen. Wellenformen werden mit einer Auflösung von 24 Bit / 96 kHz gewandelt und ausgegeben.

Im LFO-Betrieb bietet der Twin Waves eine andere Algorithmus-Palette. Zudem stehen hier zwei Synchronisationsarten bereit: Neustart der Wellenform oder Taktung per Clock-Signal plus wählbarem Teiler beziehungsweise Divisor. Frequenzmodulationen sind mit Hilfe der 1V/Oct-Eingänge machbar. Die FM/AM-Buchse des ersten Schwingkreises dient im LFO-Modus Amplitudenmodulationen.

Die Algorithmen im LFO-Betrieb:

  • Sägezahn / Dreieck
  • Rechteck / Puls
  • Sinus (Phasen-Verzerrung)
  • Brownsche S&H
  • S&H mit zufälligem Timing
  • Brownsche Vektoren
  • Vektoren mit zufälligem Timing
Sonstiges

VCO-Arbeitsbereich: 10 Hz bis 10 KHz
LFO-Arbeitsbereich: 2 Minuten bis 2 kHz

Anschlüsse

Oszillator 1:
1V/Oct-Eingang
Parameter-CV-Eingang
FM/AM-Eingang
Audioausgang
Sub-Oszillator-Ausgang

Oszillator 2:
1V/Oct-Eingang
Parameter-CV-Eingang
Audioausgang

Gemeinsamer Sync-/Clock-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 TE breit, 38 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 46 mA auf +12 V und 18 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.15 kg
artikelnr
KLtw
Status: Jetzt bestellen und der Artikel kann am nächsten Arbeitstag (Montag – Freitag) ab 14:00 Uhr bei uns im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 192,44 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 229,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1