Make Noise - Qpas

Overview

QPAS stands for Quad Peak Animated System. That IS a very accurate description of the new Make Noise module. In words we all are a bit more used to: It is a quad (!) stereo (!!) multimode (HP/BP/LP…SP?) filter. In just 18 HP! QPAS clearly is a Make Noise module, with a novel, very clever and playful approach. The four filters are parallel so it is very easy to obtain formant sounds (aka A-E-I-O-U sounds). But even more so it allows you to steer away from paths already explored. Trust your ears and experiment.

Views

Details

The QPAS has a simplified, but effective interface. You can control the master cutoff (Freq) of all filters. The potentiometer for this sits right in the middle. There are outputs for Lowpass, Highpass and Bandpass. And additionally there is also the unusual Smilepass (SP) output. Also there is a resonance control (Q). Q creates peaks, but never reaches to self-oscillation. However with this parameter adjusted to taste, it is an excellent source for pinged sounds by using short gates or bursts as input. In that case Q acts as a sort of decay parameter. To facilitate this there is a (stereo) VCA BEFORE the filters. Not after the filters like in a “normal” voice. That way the VCA doesn’t interrupt the ringing / decaying of the filters!

Radiate L & R lets the peaks of the single filters move away from each other. With the associated pot being turned clockwise the filters move from unison to further and further apart. In between you will also find said formant or vowel sounds. Left and Right Filter frequencies can be radiated / animated independently.

The two inputs labelled “!!¡¡” are left intentionally vague. Ping or Trigger input would be a rough description. What Make Noise writes about them is that they are both different, both associated with several parameters and that you can connect ANY signal to them: LFOs, audio(rate)-signals and also gates and triggers for pinging.

Since QPAS is not a vactrol design and the filter response is exponential, it will never be sluggish and responds exceptionally well and deep to audio rate modulations.

Features:

  • analog stereo filter with stereo input and output
  • pre-filter Stereo VCA with CV input and gain
  • can also be used in dual-mono, mono-to-stereo and stereo-to-mono
  • offers 4 multimode filter cores that can be distributed in the stereo field
  • Filter outputs for low pass, bandpass, high pass and novel smile pass
  • Cutoff and resonance control for all 4 filters together
  • CV input for left and right cutoff
  • CV input for filter resonance
  • Filter spread for left and right manually and via CV separately adjustable
  • Ping / trigger input for left and right
connectors
Stereo input L and R
Level input (pre-filter VCA)
LowPass, BandPass, HighPass and SmilePass outputs
Cutoff Frequency CV inputs 1 and 2
Resonance (Q) CV input
Radiate inputs L and R
Ping / Trigger inputs L and R
dimensions
3U Eurorack module, 18HP wide, 30mm deep
power consumption: 166mA @ +12V and 190mA @ -12V
Weight
0.153 kg
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €326.89 € 19% VAT incl. €389.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Make Noise - QPAS

Überblick

QPAS steht für Quad Peak Animated System. Wir finden, dass das eine genaue Beschreibung des neuen Make Noise Moduls ist. In etwas anderen Worten: Es handelt sich um ein Quad (!) Stereo (!!) Multimode-Filter (HP/BP/LP! und SP?). In nur 18HP! QPAS ist ziemlich eindeutig ein Make Noise Modul, mit einem neuartigen, sehr cleveren und spielerischen Ansatz. Die vier Filter sind parallel geschaltet, so dass es sehr einfach ist, Formant-Sounds (auch bekannt als A-E-I-O-O-U-Sounds) zu erhalten. Aber es geht noch viel mehr! Mit diesem Modul ist es ein Leichtes spielerisch zu experimentieren und sich von bereits erforschten Wegen zu entfernen.

Details

Der QPAS hat eine vereinfachte, aber effektive Bedienung. Mit einem großen Poti in der Mitte kann die Cutoff Frequenz (Freq) für alle vier Filter eingestellt werden. Alle Filterausgänge sind in Stereo vorhanden. Es gibt Tiefpass-, Hochpass- und Bandpass-Ausgänge. Und noch zusätzlich den ungewöhnlichen Smilepass (SP) Ausgang. Außerdem gibt es einen Poti für die Resonanz (Q). Q erzeugt Spitzen, reicht aber nie bis zur Selbstoszillation. Entsprechend angepasst ist dieser Parameter eine ausgezeichnete Quelle für Ping-Sounds. Q agiert dabei als eine Art Decay Parameter. Deswegen gibt es auch einen (Stereo-)VCA VOR den Filtern. Nicht nach den Filtern wie bei einer "normalen" Stimme. Auf diese Weise unterbricht der VCA nicht das Abklingen der Filter beim Pingen!

Radiate L & R bewegt die Spitzen / Peaks der einzelnen Filter voneinander weg. Das ist für den linken und rechten Kanal unabhängig möglich. Durch Drehen des Radiate (L oder R) Potentiometers im Uhrzeigersinn bewegen sich die Filter immer weiter auseinander. Dazwischen befinden sich auch besagte Formant- oder Vokallaute.

Die beiden Eingänge mit der Bezeichnung "!!¡¡" sind bewusst vage gehalten. Ping oder Trigger Eingang wäre eine grobe Beschreibung. Was Make Noise über sie sagt, ist, dass sie beide unterschiedlich sind, beide mit mehreren Parametern verbunden sind und dass alle Arten von Signalen mit ihnen verbunden werden können: LFOs, Audio(rate)-Signale, sowie Gates und Trigger zum Pingen.

Da QPAS kein Vactrol-Design ist und die Filterkurve exponentiell ist, verhält sich das Modul nie träge und reagiert außergewöhnlich gut und tief auf sehr schnelle Modulationen. 

Funktionen:

  • analoges Stereofilter mit Stereoeingang und -ausgang
  • Vorfilter Stereo-VCA mit CV-Eingang und Verstärkung
  • kann auch in Dual-Mono, Mono-to-Stereo und Stereo-to-Mono verwendet werden.
  • bietet 4 Multimode-Filterkerne, die im Stereofeld verteilt werden können.
  • Filterausgänge für Tiefpass, Bandpass, Hochpass und neuartigen Smile Pass
  • Cutoff- und Resonanzsteuerung für alle 4 Filter zusammen
  • CV-Eingang für linke und rechte Filtereckfrequenz
  • CV-Eingang für Filterresonanz (Q)
  • Filterspreizung für links und rechts manuell und über CV separat einstellbar
  • Ping / Triggereingang für links und rechts
Anschlüsse
Stereo-Eingang L und R
Pegeleingang (Vorfilter VCA)
LowPass, BandPass, HighPass und SmilePass Ausgänge
Cutoff Frequency CV-Eingänge 1 und 2
Resonanz (Q) CV-Eingang
Radiate CV-Eingänge L und R
Ping / Triggereingänge L und R
Abmessungen
3HE Eurorack-Modul, 18TE breit, 30mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 166mA auf +12V und 190mA auf -12V
Gewicht
0.153 kg
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 326,89 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 389,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag