Mannequins - Mangrove

Overview

The idea behind the Mangrove VCO is: a sound is not created by pitch only but also by spectra which can be set individually with a numebr of parameters.
An integrated waveshaper allows for ctreating undertones with frequency division. harmonic ranges can be locked and shifted along the undertone scale. A VCA with overdrive adds dynamics and further waveshaping. FM can emphasize formants and vice-versa formants follow the FM frequency ... it's just insane!

Views

Details

Like most oscillators also the Mangrove has a coarse frequency control, a fine tune potentiometer with one octave span and a 1V/octave pitch input (abbreviated here with V/8).
Linear frequency modulation is found as well and the FM INDEX socket is a VCA controlling the modulation depth, unfortunately an often omitted feature. When nothing's patched to this socket we always have full modulation intensity.

Output-wise there's a square output reacting to pitch and FM only and has to be considered a secondary output only for synchronisation tasks or for FM'ing. The main output called Formant reacts in addition to all sound shaping parameters of the Mangrove which we will describe now:
The parameters Formant and Barrel interact with each other. The first one sets the sound character by moving resonance peaks (alias formants) in the frequency spectrum; compare it to different pitches of human voice from tenor over alto to soprane. Barrel however determines harmonic density by waveform selection, fading from sawtooth over triangle to ramp.
In it's fully counterclockwise position the Barrel potentiometer will generate untertones (utone). Now a frequency division occurs and you can use the Formant control, that changed it's function, to move thru the undertone scale (from one octave below over octave & 5th over two octaves below etc.).

AIR is a post-formant-output VCA with overdrive. It's CV input has a bipolar attenuator and the VCA is very fast so you can modulate it with audio.

Unique and one of the most interesting issues about the Mangroves VCO is the switch that selects between two radically different modes: constant wave and constant formant.
Constant Wave complies to the usual approach: Pitch alters frequency and all other controls change the waveform.
Constant Formant divides the tone-creating impulse from the pitch; the harmonic spectrum is being locked. The formant parameter now determines the pitch range or "instrument's size" and the Barrel the timbre. It is hard to describe in words - watch the video to hear the difference.

connectors

Pitch input, Sync input
FM input, FM Index CV input
parameter CV inputs: Air, Barrel, Formant
outputs: Square, Formant

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 10HP wide, 30mm deep
power consumption: 58mA @ +12V and 54mA @ -12V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
MAQman
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €234.45 € 19% VAT incl. €279.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Mannequins - Mangrove

Überblick

Die Idee des Mangrove-VCOs: ein Klang entsteht nicht nur durch Tonhöhe, sondern durch Spektren, die hier unabhängig von der Tonhöhe eingestellt werden.
Integrierter Waveshaper ermöglicht auch Untertöne samt Frequenzteilung. Harmonische Bereiche können eingefroren und in der entlang der Untertonskala verschoben werden. Ein VCA mit Overdrive fügt Dynamik und weiteres Waveshaping hinzu. FM kann Formanten betonen und umgekehrt können Formanten der FM-Frequenz folgen ... das ist ziemlich irre!

Ansichten

Details

Wie bei den meisten Oszillatoren hat auch der Mangrove es einen groben Frequenzregler, einen Fine-Tune-Poti mit einer Oktave Umfang und einen 1V/Oktave-Tonöhen-Eingang (hier mit V/8 bezeichnet).
Lineare Frequenzmodulation finden wir ebenso und die Buchse FM INDEX ist ein VCA, der die Modulationsstärke bestimmt, das ist ein oft vermißtes Feature. Ist nichts in FM Index gepatcht, so haben wir immer volle Modulationsstärke.

Ausgangstechnisch gibt es einen Rechteckausgang, der nur auf Pitch und FM reagiert und eher als Nebenausgang zum Sync'en oder zu FM-Zwecken zu nutzen ist. Der eigentliche Hauptausgang namens Formant reagiert auf alle komplexen klanggestalterischen Parameter des Mangrove, zu denen wir jetzt kommen:
Die Parameter Formant und Barrel interagieren miteinander. Ersterer stellt den Klangcharakter durch Verschieben von Resonanzen (alias Formanten) im Klangspekrtum ein; vergleiche es mit verschiedenen Stimmlagen wie von Kontrabass über Alt zu Sopran. Barrel dagegen stellt durch Wellenformauswahl die Obertondichte ein, überblendend von Sägezahn über Dreieck zu Ramp über.
Barrel generiert aber in Nullstellung (utone) Untertöne. Eine Frequenzteilung geschieht und man kann nun mit dem Format-Regler, der seine Funktion ändert, die Untertonskala durchschalten kann (von einer Oktaven abwärts, über eine Oktave + Quinte, zwei Oktaven etc.).

AIR ist ein dem Formant-Ausgang nachgeschalteter VCA mit Overdrive. Sein CV-Eingang hat einen bipolaren Abschwächer und der VCA ist sehr schnell, sprich er kann mit Audiosignalen moduliert werden.

Einzigartig und mit das interessanteste am Mangroves ist der Kippschalter, der zwischen zwei grundverschiedenen Modi selektiert: constant wave und constant formant.
Constant Wave entspricht der gewöhnlichen Herangehensweise: Pitch ändert die Frequenz, alle anderen Regler die Wellenform.
Constant Formant trennt den ton-generierenden Impuls von der Frequenz; ein harmonisches Spektrum wird eingefroren. Der Formant-Parameter bestimmt nun den Tonumfang oder "die Größe des Instruments" und Barrel die Klangfarbe. Sehr schwierig zu umschreiben - schau dir das Video an, um den Unterschied zu hören.

Anschlüsse

Tonhöhen-Eingang, Sync-Eingang
FM Eingang, FM-Index CV-Eingang
Parameter-CV-Eingänge: Air, Barrel, Formant
Ausgänge: Rechteck, Formant

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 10TE breit, 30mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 58mA auf +12V und 54mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
MAQman
Externe Videos
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 234,45 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 279,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1